We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best of three”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This was our last lodge of 3 we stayed at and also the best,The people were great we stayed 4 nights and it was like staying with family. We had tent 11 which was outstanding, far enough from the main lodge but not to far it was very peaceful you do have to watch out for the Vervet Monkeys in the morning so they don't take your coffie.If we can get back to South Africa we will book again. We had Scotch and Patrick and had a great time if you get there tell them penquin said hi

Room Tip: Rooms are all tents and for the most part the same very nice and well apointed
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJD180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
There are newer reviews for Tanda Tula Safari Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

With so much offer in the beautiful Timbavati Game Reserve, Tanda Tula stands out for the staff that makes the place unique. They make sure that you feel at home, and will look and often guess, all your requirements! Attention to the detail is present at all times being in camp or out there on game drives. A must to visit and return!

Room Tip: All rooms/tents are very well located, no need for previous requests unless there are guests which s...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TandaTula, Owner at Tanda Tula Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Irene

Thank you so much for taking the time out to write your review. We love hearing from our guests about their stay with us. We strive to create a sense of family in camp and a feeling of 'coming home', and we are pleased to hear you experienced this. Hopefully we will welcome you in camp again soon.

Best wishes,
Don and Nina Scott
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

What an amazing place. A fabulous experience, the accommodation, the food, the safari. I would go again in a heartbeat. When we saw the tent, we were absolutely taken aback. It was magnificent and everyone was incredibly friendly. We had Scotch as a guide and Patrick as a tracker and we could not have been more pleased. We saw everything we wanted to and even had a moonlight ride to find the lions that we heard roaring at cocktail hour. I can't wait to return, it was worth every penny. I will never forget this place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feefee2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TandaTula, Owner at Tanda Tula Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for such wonderful feedback. It was an absolute pleasure to have you in camp.

You may have seen the blog post we did on the sighting you experienced (the lions in the moonlight), and if not you are welcome to visit our blog on our website. It is special experiences such as that which remind us who live in the reserve how lucky we are. We do our best to share them with our guests as well!

Kind regards,
Don and Nina Scott
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This trip was a dream come true! From the moment you arrive the attention to detail and the passion for the land and animals is astounding. We were blessed to have Scotch as a guide and he was amazing finding every animal and wildlife imaginable.

The lodge was luxurious and the tent exceeded every expectation.

The food was fantastic and the bonds made with the staff and owners made you feel like you were staying in your own home.

Fantastic and will be at the top for trips of a lifetime.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank nocomment26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TandaTula, Owner at Tanda Tula Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback! We strive to offer all our guests a genuine and memorable African safari experience, and feedback such as yours lets us know we are on the right track. Chef Ryan is a wizard in the kitchen and keeps everyone's taste buds excited (including ours!).

Hopefully we will see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Don and Nina Scott
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

In March my husband and I had to abandon our SA safari holiday due to my elderly mum's sudden hospitalisation, and instead of experiencing the delights of Tanda Tula, we were on a flight home to New Zealand. The good folk at Tanda Tula have generously offered us some return on our prepaid holiday with them. Thank you Tanda Tula- and, we hope to try again one day!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Din14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TandaTula, Owner at Tanda Tula Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Denise

Thank you for the kind words. We know what it is like to have a family emergency on holiday, and we are more than glad to have helped out in some way. We truly hope that you can make it to Tanda Tula in the future, as we would love to meet you and Ted in person.

Best regards
Don and Nina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I have just read the various previous reviews about Tanda Tula, there is no exaggeration and it's brought back some wonderful memories of our stay. Tanda Tula is a glorious haven of unassuming luxury (5 star without the glitz) and its staff are just so professional, knowledgeable and friendly. We had an absolutely wonderful 4 day honeymoon stay and would love to return one day. Full marks in every respect. A perfect start to our honeymoon. Thank you to the Tanda Tula Family!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at this fantastic lodge late Feb early March and immediately loved. The staff were brilliant without exception and we saw some fantastic wildlife with the brilliant 'scotch'
The rooms were amazing and very comfortable, and I loved the outdoor shower. Food was good and I just can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All rooms are equal, I would be happy in any of them
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d5frenchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
20.5 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
404 reviews
17.4 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
442 reviews
9.1 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
274 reviews
4.7 mi away
Kambaku River Sands
Kambaku River Sands
#5 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
200 reviews
5.7 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanda Tula Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanda Tula Safari Camp

Address: Timbavati Private Nature Reserve | Limpopo, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range: £407 - £2,508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tanda Tula Safari Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanda Tula Safari Camp in the heart of the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve bordering the Kruger National Park, offers a five-star personal wilderness experience in ultimate luxury. Here, in your own private piece of Africa, you will come face to face with nature as it always was, with not a fence in sight to inhibit your freedom. Set on the banks of the Nharalumi riverbed, Tanda Tula is shaded by stately trees and overlooks a water hole that attracts a wide variety of game from dawn to dusk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, South African Hotels, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Tanda Tula Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanda Tula Safari Camp Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Tanda Tula Safari Camp South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing