We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you forgive mine bad English "Umlani is a heaven in earth"”
Review of Umlani Bushcamp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Umlani Bushcamp
Certificate of Excellence
Ferrara
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“you forgive mine bad English "Umlani is a heaven in earth"”
Reviewed 3 April 2011

The hospitality is extraordinary, it is as to have lived there always. The guides are phenomenal and the show of the nature is unbelievable! I wish everybody the appasionatis of nature to be able to pass from there at least once in the life. For me and my friends is been an unbelievable and unforgettable experience. I repeat Umlani is a heaven in earth.
In May of this year I will return in that marvelous place!
And' enough to convince you that I am liked so much?
.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheope81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umlani, Owner at Umlani Bushcamp, responded to this review, 7 April 2011
Thank you! It will be great to welcome you back to Umlani soon. Marco and Marie Schies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    29
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
142
168
36
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Missouri USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2011

At the end of any vacation everyone chooses one highlight, Umlani Bushcamp won. All our senses were on overload during our safari drives, meals and overnight accommadations. Elvis, our ranger & Derrick the tracker made every safari drive memorable. Thanks for our African high at Umlani Bushcamp! Byron & Kay Taylor, Farmington, Missouri

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mozarkrovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umlani, Owner at Umlani Bushcamp, responded to this review, 7 April 2011
Thank you Byron and Kay for your review. We are so pleased that you had a memorable time at Umlani and hope that you visit us again some day soon!! Marco and Marie Schiess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

We spent three nights of our honeymoon in Umlani Bushcamp.
The camp was as promised- isolated, rustic, private and simple. Our honeymoon hut was on the edge of the camp, and faced away from the other units. The bedroom area was simple and furnished in a basic way (open hanging area, solid bed base and side table structure). The open-air shower was a little daunting at first (particularly at night), but became a highlight after a tiring and dusty day. The hot water and water pressure were surprisingly good for such a rustic location!
At night the wildlife came to the fore, and we heard warthogs, hyena, mongooses and some other unknown species pass very close by- a truly unique experience.
The small numbers of guests, friendly and chatty staff, and communal eating made for an intimacy which was unexpected and welcome.
Game drives were definitely the focus and highlight of the stay. The first day manager Kyle substituted as game ranger/ driver and was excellent at informing us of genuinly interesting facts about fauna and flora we were seeing. He also did his best to satisfy guests´ animal sighting requests. Unfortunately our subsequent game ranger was not as able; there seemed to be frequent disagreements with the tracker on where to go and which route to take, and guests were not always informed of where we were going and what we were off to see (whilst being driven at times fast and aggressively). A few untimely wisecracks and terse responses to questions didn´t help much either. Meanwhile tracker Hendrick was approachable, friendly and informative and an excellent “bush barman”.
Wholesome meals were simple but enjoyable (in the company of abundant insect life on one evening!), and refreshments abundant. The management also made a special effort to pamper us as honeymooners by offering a bottle of excellent sparkling wine and a private dinner in the open riverside daytime hut.
All in all a great experience and location, which we were sorry to leave. Kyle, Louise and their staff helped give us memories we will never forget.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeopardLx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schiess, Owner at Umlani Bushcamp, responded to this review, 25 March 2011
Thank you for your review we appreciate it and hope to see you again some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mildura, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

My wife and I stay at Umlani for 4 days in early December--the place is fantastic! Kyle and Louise and their staff cannot do enough for you and the guides , Hendrix, Ginger and Elvis are wonderful when they take you out each morning and night for the game drives. They have a wealth of local knowledge and we saw absolutely everything you could imagine in wild life and fauna. The camp facilities are very nice, comfortable and in keeping with the bush environment. An absolutely great place and people.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobandCherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schiess, Owner at Umlani Bushcamp, responded to this review, 25 March 2011
Thank you for your review of Umlani Bushcamp we appreciat it ,hope to have you stay again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We stayed at this bushcamp for 3 days earlier this year and were very sad when we had to leave again. This is a great experience!! It is in the middle of the park, with all the luxury you need, but still a very back-to-basic experience. The little houses are just great, and it is amazing not to have electricity. Every one here is very, very friendly, and they really take good care of their guests. Don't hesitate to book a stay!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABBG_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schiess, Owner at Umlani Bushcamp, responded to this review, 25 March 2011
Thank you for your review of Umlani Bushcamp we appreciate it hope to see you back again one day soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Myself and my partner Tony stayed at Umlani and had the most fantastic time. The staff were all excellent our guide Ginger and tracker Hendricks took us out every day and we saw so many animals I just cant list them all. The accommodation and food were top notch and many thanks to the staff (and their friends) that shared their knowledge and stories with us and looked after us so well Thanks especially to Christie, Thembi, Ginger and Hendricks.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhondacanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schiess, Owner at Umlani Bushcamp, responded to this review, 25 March 2011
Thank you for your great review of Umlani Bushcamp we appreciate it very much hope to have you come stay again some day. regards Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Umlani do have the possiblity of being a great place for enjoying wildlife including birds, reptiles etc as well as the south african landscape. However, I was really disappointed as the game drives did go to close to the big 5 and did disturb the animals. When moving away from the car the ranger followed the animals time after time. One incident made me really uncomfortable and angry. We were up close (3-4m) to a pack of 4 lions in a dried up riverbed. In the car there where four other people which I didn’t know . As the lions had a big kill the night before they where still tired, laying down and resting/sleeping. Then the other 4 people started to whistle and imitate roaring (not so loud but still) in order to get some reaction. They also stood up a little in the truck taking ”funny” pictures. None of this is allowed or ok. But the ranger didn’t act at all. Before we moved in I told him, we are disturbing the lions if going closer. And we did disturb the lions and did add an extra and unnecessary risk. Later the same game drive the car broke down in the bush and we got picked up by another truck (after using my cell phone as Umlani did not answer our calls via radio). Before the very same game drive the ranger had almost sarcastically said don’t bring your cell phones you will only lose them and we have to spend time looking for them. If the car had broken down half an hour earlier with we had been sitting with the noisy people in the riverbed by the lions. This incident took place Friday night. After that I didnt join any more game drive as I felt the approach was very wrong and not to my liking. On Saturday morning my opinion was confirmed as the game drive had been in a crowd of elephants being able to touch the elephants. To me this is disturbing and interruppting the animals in their environment in order just to satisfy tourists seeking thrills and pictures! Tourists that dont understand or care about wildlife or nature as a whole.


To summarize, I felt that Umlani showed a more touristy and “been there, done that, bought the t-shirt” approach than I would expect. Umlani and its surroundings is so much more then only the fast ticking the box- approach for the big five. You have lots of birds and other wildlife. I thought Umlani would be guiding us in the bush on the animal’s conditions.


I do hope that this touristy macho attitude in the game drives is not what you want to be (or should be). I also want to pin-point that the staff in the camp (kitchen, cleaning, preparing the rooms) did a great job in helping us guests. My main critique is towards the game drives and the attitude shown there.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Johan_swe_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umlani, Owner at Umlani Bushcamp, responded to this review, 18 June 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback. You brought this matter to our attention after your visit and we are in the process of addressing the issues raised. As promised we will get back to you as to how we address the issues.

We appreciate guest feedback as it is an essential part of keeping standards at a high level.

Thank you
Marco Schiess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
19.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,687 reviews
18.8 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
393 reviews
11.4 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Shindzela Tented Camp
Shindzela Tented Camp
#6 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
428 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
609 reviews
5.2 mi away
Baobab Ridge
Baobab Ridge
#2 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umlani Bushcamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umlani Bushcamp

Property: Umlani Bushcamp
Address: Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Umlani Bushcamp 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umlani Bushcamp, a rustic yet exclusive lodge, accommodates guests in cozy en-suite reed and thatch rondavels. Early morning and evening game drives are in open four wheel drive vehicles accompanied by experienced rangers and trackers offers exceptional game viewing opportunitys. Umlani makes the whole event personalized and specializes in escorted walks into this unspoiled wilderness. Umlani, meaning Place of Rest, was established in 1990 by Marco and Marie-Louise Schiess, in the central section of the Timbavati Nature Reserve, which is part of the greater Kruger National Park. Umlani is the perfect nature lovers choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Umlani Bushcamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umlani Bushcamp Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Umlani Bushcamp South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing