We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent price/quality”
Review of Umlani Bushcamp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Umlani Bushcamp
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent price/quality”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed in Umlani for 3 nights and it was a really wonderful experience. It's great to hear the nature's sounds at night, to have rangers who are very driven, a real bush experience. Don't hesitate and just go, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schiess, Owner at Umlani Bushcamp, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you I appreciate your review and encouragement to readers to visit Umlani Bushcamp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    29
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
142
166
36
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Amazing staff and loved the game drives. Staff all very friendly and will do anything for you... Such a positive experience and cant wait to return one day... Thank you Elvis and Shaddy Moses for the game drives and David / tembi for hospitality... And Marco for making it all happen....

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanlou9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schiess, Owner at Umlani Bushcamp, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
thank you very much and to you..... for visiting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This review is a bit late as I was lucky to spend a weekend at this wonderful camp In September. As a South African it might seem strange but this was the first time me and 3 others was on a safari or at a bush camp. For our first experience it was wonderful from beginning to end , The camp arranged a shuttle to pick and drop at Airport which was comfortable , the food was excellent with a variety of meals and cooldrinks to choose from , the service by the staff excellent , the huts we slept in were cosy,accommodating and peaceful. The game drives were the highlight undoubtedly and we were lucky to see the Big 5 over the weekend , The game drivers were knowledgable , entertaining and courteous at all times , there was not one complaint we had over the weekend. It was a once in a lifetime experience. Thank you to the staff and owners. Regards Nizaam.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NizaamC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schiess, Owner at Umlani Bushcamp, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your review of Umlani Bushcamp I appreciate you taking the time to reflect and giving me and others your positive feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I researched Umlani as I was deciding between various lodges. The combination of one as the few safari lodges Fair Trade Tourism South Africa certified and the positive reviews about quality of experience settled it.

I have not much to add to other 5 star reviews. This is a place that has the comfort you need, without the unnecessary luxury that does not improve your experience (and augments your impact). Great location, wonderful staff (rangers, housekeeping, managers), tasty and healthy food and of course great wildlife experiences. And the friendly atmosphere means you go away with new friends.

We came at a difficult time. Right after the record floods, which destroyed roads, washed away bridges and made logistics a big hassle. They were the only lodge operational in the Timbavati Reserve for the first few days, showing a real commitment and good improvisation. They operated very smoothly considering the circumstances. And despite the hampered logistics, the rangers went out of their way to show us the icons and the nice surprises (like a monitor lizard in a tree).

Umlani has an unique sense of place and you go away very refreshed and thinking about when you will be able to go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This camp has it all. Beautiful clean romantic huts lit by oil lamps. An open air shower. The food and dining experience was superb. Our chefs, joanna and ruth, provided fantastic authentic meals. The staff were wonderful and very attentive. We had a great tracker, robert, and driver, ginger, so each safari was awesome. They were well educated on the area, the animals, and the plants. David runs that place very well and it shows through his staff and accommodations. The grounds were amazing. We wanted to feel like we were really in a true African safari experience without staying in a tent. This place has the perfect balance. We also stayed one night in the treehouse and that was amazing. A must do. I would not consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tipton5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I visited Umlani the beginning of March 2011. It was not what I expected... it was even better! The rangers were great at finding the animals, moving the vehicle to take optimal pictures, and to eductate us about all the animals (big and small). The food was also amazing and the people were extremely friendly! When I left I said I wanted to bring my family or friends back with me because it was such an amazing experience. I am happy to say, I am returning next month and my dad is coming along for the trip!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

First the disclaimer, this is somewhat primitive. These are open air huts and there is no fence surrounding the camp. If you are squeamish or accustomed to only 5 star hotels, this is not the place for you. There are critters everywhere and the animals have free access to the camp.

Having said that, if you are willing to deal with a few critters, you will be handsomely rewarded! David and his staff are fantastic. They are accommodating, friendly, and genuinely interested in ensuring that all guests have a great time. The food is delicious and always involves local cuisines. The camp is an oasis of relaxation. You can sit on the deck, sipping the free drinks, and watch any number of animals drink from the waterhole. The actual photo safaris are with guides and trackers who are friendly, knowledgeable and willing to talk about the plants and animals encountered. We saw 50+ different kinds of exotic animals. On one trip alone, we saw all of the big 5. The white lion was a special treat.

Probably the highlight of the trip was the night we spent in the treehouse. It is about a mile from camp in the middle of the bush It overlooks a waterhole with a resident hippo and crocodile. We were left alone with flashlights (electric torches), mattresses covered by mosquito netting and a radio in case we needed help. During the night we heard an assortment of sounds but the highlight was when a pride of lions killed an impala on the other side of the waterhole and we were treated with sounds of growling and roaring all night long as they fought over the kill. I can't imagine a more authentic experience.

Room Tip: Rooms 7 and 8 are on the edge of the camp and thus closer to the roaming animals!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddarche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
19.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,655 reviews
11.4 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#2 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
677 reviews
5.2 mi away
Shindzela Tented Camp
Shindzela Tented Camp
#6 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
605 reviews
5.2 mi away
Baobab Ridge
Baobab Ridge
#3 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
175 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kings Camp
Kings Camp
#7 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umlani Bushcamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umlani Bushcamp

Property: Umlani Bushcamp
Address: Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Umlani Bushcamp 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umlani Bushcamp, a rustic yet exclusive lodge, accommodates guests in cozy en-suite reed and thatch rondavels. Early morning and evening game drives are in open four wheel drive vehicles accompanied by experienced rangers and trackers offers exceptional game viewing opportunitys. Umlani makes the whole event personalized and specializes in escorted walks into this unspoiled wilderness. Umlani, meaning Place of Rest, was established in 1990 by Marco and Marie-Louise Schiess, in the central section of the Timbavati Nature Reserve, which is part of the greater Kruger National Park. Umlani is the perfect nature lovers choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Umlani Bushcamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umlani Bushcamp Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Umlani Bushcamp South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing