We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING!!!”
Review of Umlani Bushcamp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Umlani Bushcamp
Certificate of Excellence
bedfont
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Firstly, apologies for the delayed review (we visited back in July 2013) but this review needed a decent amount of time to write, to do Umlani justice! This was our first safari experience and it was unforgettable! And if you cant be bothered to read the whole of my long review....just take my word for it and book!!! :P

I'll start with the camp itself...as you've probably guessed there is no electricity...at all! (even the refrigerators in the kitchens are solar powered!! - talk about green! :D ) This doesn't mean that the camp isn't comfortable though. With oil and solar lamps, hot outdoor shower and fully functional bathroom with lots of running water your little individual hut has everything you'll need. The beds are comfy with mosquito nets and lots of storage for luggage. The whole camp is small, rustic, charming and full of proper South African character. It blends in with the natural environment perfectly...because after all WE are the visitors in the bush!
If your looking for luxury with all the mod-cons this isnt for you....but if you want to immerse yourself into the safari experience through great game, people and atmosphere then Umlani is it.

The game drives are amazing!!! We visited in winter time when it was very cold in the morning and evenings but there were blankets provided in all the game vehicles for when the wind got abit chilly. (I would recommend lots of warm layers if your visiting in winter - but upside is there are no bugs!) We saw looooooads! All the big 5 plus tonnes more!
The drivers and trackers are really passionate and knowledgeable about the bush and wildlife - and have incredible senses to spot some of the animals. Elvis is brilliant! He is funny, engaging, and makes every game drive something to remember! Thank you Elvis for finding all the cute baby ones for me! :)
All of the viewings are really private and the drivers communicate with all the other camps' trackers so that you will never miss a viewing and they will never be too crowded.
I cant put into words how exciting it is to see such beautiful animals in their natural habitat!!
We booked a private walk with Elvis one afternoon which was another great experience - giving us a chance to see everything at ground level as opposed to in the jeeps. Elvis was fantastic - getting us to touch, taste and smell different plants, showing us tracks and even seeing wildlife....soo exciting!
We also stayed for a night in the tree house - which is a once in a lifetime!! Not for the faint-hearted as you get dropped at the treehouse at night (good 5mins drive from any camp) and left with a torch, a radio and a bucket. Haha! It was the most incredible experience to lay under the stars (which are unbelievable) and listen to lions calling, hippos splashing in the water hole etc. Just give it a go! - if you decide you dont like it you just radio back to camp and someone will pick you up. We woke up the next morning very cold and wet due to mist and fog and we got picked up so we could change into something dry for our morning drive. Elvis was there in minutes.
Even sitting and reading a book in the bar area whilst watching the waterhole can turn into an exciting viewing. With wildlife frequently visiting you could almost not bother getting in the jeeps!

Your stay would be all-inclusive - inc food, drinks, game drives, private walks, treehouse. You need not worry about getting your wallet out whilst at Umlani! Open bar is accessible at all times of day. The food is delicious - all fresh and local produce - Ruth and her team do an amazing job. Dinner and lunch are buffet style with hot breakfast to order.

Umlani felt like a home from home almost immediately! David, our host, was lovely - greeting us after every game drive; sharing stories and facts over dinner and drinks. We also had the absolute joy of spending alot of our stay with the owner, Marco's, family. Margaret & co were so welcoming and friendly it was a delight to join them on nearly all of our game drives and they were even kind enough to invite me and my boyfriend to join them for pre-dinner drinks. Lovely family that just reflect the entire ethos for the camp! We hope you are all well and hope to be back soon!

Emily & George x

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leolion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schiess, Owner at Umlani Bushcamp, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank so much for your informative review . We are glad you felt at home immediately and it was lovely to meet you guys and we hope to see you again sometime in the future back at Umlani.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    386
    29
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
140
163
36
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fredewricton
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This was our first visit to a game reserve, and Umlani did not disappoint. It is a small camp, but this adds to the attraction. The accommodation should be described as rustic, but to us this was an added bonus. We have Holiday Inns at home. Management, service, game viewing, food and wine left nothing to be desired. I would not hesitate a second to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schiess, Owner at Umlani Bushcamp, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you for your review of Umlani Bushcamp , I am glad to hear that Umlani left nothing to be desired . The Team look forward to your welcoming you back sometime in the future.
best regards Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Umlani! What can I say. The most exciting, exhilarating, calming, peaceful, fantastic place to stay for the best African experience. We stayed in Hut No 3. My daughters, 7 and 5, thought it was brilliant. Comfortable and very exciting staying in a hut with no electricity and an outside shower. It is amazing just how good you feel when you don't have all of the electrical and technological distractions of the modern world. The staff were brilliant and very accommodating. We travelled with family, there were 11 of us - 7 adults and 4 young children. The entire camp and staff were fantastic. David, the manager, or Gavin, his second, were always there to greet us after every drive. Our ranger and tracker were Shaddy and Robert, and we couldn't have wanted better people. They educated us constantly and were superb with the kids who listened intently whenever either of them had anything to say. Before lunch and dinner the drums would play and this just added to the whole African experience of our stay. If I could have stayed longer I would have and both my girls said that they would definitely come back, even at their young age. Because of the age of the children, they were not allowed to go on a bush walk but David very kindly took us - myself, my brother and his wife and our 4 children - on a mini-bush walk around the camp which my girls still talk about now. No matter what I write in this review it will still not be enough to say how wonderful Umlani is. The only way to find out is to go and do it and I would strongly recommend that anyone does. My thanks and love go to all of the staff at Umlani for such an amazing experience and for putting up with me, my parents, my brothers and their wives and our 4 children.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schiess, Owner at Umlani Bushcamp, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Wow... your review was such a treat and motivation for us to keep on doing what we doing , thank you.
We the team highly appreciate you recommending others to visit and your mention how wonderful Umlani is . Thanks again .....truely touched Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2013

It was a very personal trip for our party. How do you get 7 adults and 4 children under 8 into the wild safely. If you want the real taste and touch of nature this is the only place to stay. We stayed for three nights and were all blown away by a truly magical experience!! You really feel in the home of the animals, apart from the high Elephant wire anything below 2.5 meters can and did walk straight into camp. Our host David was excellent, as was his team. The detail from raking the sand around the camp, to see what had come through in the night to the sound of the drums calling for food were perfect. Our driver Shadrick and spotter Robert were brilliant! Bare in mind they had two seven and two five year olds on board they did not disappoint. Apart from the 5 different Leopards we saw, we also came across Caracal, Honey Badger, Rhino, herds of Elephant and Buffalo, 2 Black Mambas and an abundance of general game. Oh and I’ll never forget the dung beetle!! I could go on and on. The impact was and still is amazing.

Room Tip: Dress up warm for drives and stay for a week!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qwerty49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schiess, Owner at Umlani Bushcamp, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you for your review , the Umlani team are happy to hear that we had a amazing impact .Also glad you had good game viewing .We welcome children as we believe that the children who visit Umlani are touched by the experience and go on to become custodians of nature and the environment through their early impressions of wilderness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed 20th Oct 2013. As expected, no electricity, but well equipped with oil lamps. Good plumbing though. Highly professional operation and charming staff. Excellent game drives, off road with driver and tracker. Lots of big 5 animals, but no lions while we were there. Camp open so game wander in.
Good food and free bar.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schiess, Owner at Umlani Bushcamp, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for your review and your mention that we are highly professional operation the team enjoyed hearing that you thought they are charming. best regards Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Three days of amazing experience in the Greater Kruger National Park staying at a bush camp Umlani!Stayed in little huts (comfortable) with no electricity to add to the charm of the bush and open shower. Six incredible game drives.Oh my gosh! The animals we did see! So much to tell but what I can say this time spent here at Umlani was one of my high lights in South Africa. The staff were wonderful and made our stay very comfortable. You hardly saw them! But they produce very good meals and kept our rooms very clean. The pattern for the three days were Knock knock at 5am for pancakes and brekkie. Out for a game drive. Back for brekkie. A walking safari one morning and the next time spent in the treehouse by the waterhole. Lunch.
In the afternoon another game drive follow by a sunset drink.. Once arrive back in camp a sumptuous South African meal waits us hungry people.
Our driver Ginger is so cool and knows his job inside and out and is a very good tracker. Words cannot put the experience down in actually seeing all the animals. You must go and live this experience yourself.
I saw elephants, giraffes, zebras and THE BIG FIVE many, many times....the list was long. A must do on your list to South Africa is to visit and stay in this camp and be looked after by all the beautiful people who operate this camp in the national park.

Room Tip: A jumper for the afternoon game drives as can be a bit cold sometimes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 696HelenS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schiess, Owner at Umlani Bushcamp, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you a really nice review , a am happy to hear that Umlani was one of your high lights on your South Africa trip. The team and I appreciates you recommending other travelers to experience it for them selves. all the best Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

If you want to experience the real African Bush book your stay at Umlani Bushcamp. The staff are very friendly, the food excellent and the wildlife experience out of this world!!!!! We saw the “Big5” in one drive! If you have stayed at Umlani Bushcamp once......you will return!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarinaKruger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schiess, Owner at Umlani Bushcamp, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit .
best regards Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
19.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
11.4 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Shindzela Tented Camp
Shindzela Tented Camp
#5 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
7.9 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kings Camp
Kings Camp
#7 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umlani Bushcamp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umlani Bushcamp

Property: Umlani Bushcamp
Address: Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, Kruger National Park 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Umlani Bushcamp 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umlani Bushcamp, a rustic yet exclusive lodge, accommodates guests in cozy en-suite reed and thatch rondavels. Early morning and evening game drives are in open four wheel drive vehicles accompanied by experienced rangers and trackers offers exceptional game viewing opportunitys. Umlani makes the whole event personalized and specializes in escorted walks into this unspoiled wilderness. Umlani, meaning Place of Rest, was established in 1990 by Marco and Marie-Louise Schiess, in the central section of the Timbavati Nature Reserve, which is part of the greater Kruger National Park. Umlani is the perfect nature lovers choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Umlani Bushcamp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umlani Bushcamp Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Umlani Bushcamp South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing