We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A camp most certainly made for royalty!”
Review of Kings Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kings Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We visited Kings Camp on our honeymoon for a 3 day safari and had such a wonderful time. The room we had was absolutley stunning (the honeymoon house - look at the pic attached). Every single detail had been thought of (most importantly all the alcohol and treats!). From the rolling bath, to the huge shower, private pool, lounge area, massive bed and overall style it ticked every box (and 3x over!).The game drives were superb and we saw a leopard on nearly every drive.The staff are also very welcoming, experienced and genuine. It was such a beautiful place to stay and we enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. Thank you for making our honeymoon so special - we'd love to return one day.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadySteercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2012

we just got back from staying in Kings Camp for 3 nights at the end of our 2 weeks in South Africa. we have NEVER stayed in a place like this! when you pull up to the lodge the staff is waiting at the door to greet you. cold drinks are waiting for you, there is a briefing about safety (after all, you are in the middle of the largest reserve in South Africa!), then they personally escort you to your room and go over all the amenities and services available. their guides and trackers were so informative and knowledgeable, their jeeps more comfortable than the others we were in - and they provide hot water bottles for cold mornings in the jeep! the staff was helpful, friendly and overall incredible. i agree with the other reviewer - we did not want to leave!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jekPgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We spent a few nights at Kings Camp and were a bit underwhelmed by this property. (We decided to come here after our original lodge we were supposed to stay in the Timbavati got flooded and we were recommended this as a substitute.) Having come from another lodge in the Sabi Sands that had amazing service, warm welcomes and beautiful suites- we walked in to Kings Camp disappointed. We still decided that we were going to go in with a good attitude and enjoy our stay but there was just something lacking here. The welcome was really weak- a smile and a more friendly feel upon check in would have been appreciated. Our suite was ok (honeymoon suite) but we weren't overly impressed by it. The food here was also not really impressive at all! We weren't expecting gourmet but really most of the stuff was not good at all. The best thing we had were the scones and muffins before the game drives in the morning, which is a little sad... There was a Boma Dinner one of the evenings but it didn't come close to the Boma Dinners we had at other places we stayed during our trip.

They do have a nice area with a fireplace near the bar which was a nice spot to have a drink before dinner. The viewing deck we would meet at in the morning before the drives was also nice, but otherwise the property was really more on the average side.

The only great part about our trip to Kings Camp was our drives with Patrick and Albert. I would give them 5 stars any day! Patrick was wonderful, he is so knowledgable and passionate about what he does! We looked forward to our drives and conversations with him!

Before we came here, we stayed at a another place and didn't have to worry about queuing at sightings but there was definitely a little more of that going on at this lodge. The Timbavati was definitely different than the Sabi Sands area in that it felt more wild and rugged. The animals were pretty much the same but there was a different feel to the area. You will see other vehicles and might have to move off of some sightings for other vehicles to come through. Patrick did do a great job though (and while we were with him) on drives we felt like we had good time during our sightings. The ranger you are with can really impact the quality and experience on your drives.

At check out we did finally meet Warren and he seemed very nice and addressed an issue we had from our first night at the lodge, but unfortunately he wasn't there during our stay. The staff seemed a little more "on their toes" with him around and all of a sudden seemed to act a little different. I don't know- maybe when he is around the place has a better feel?

Kings Camp was not a good choice for us after staying at such amazing places from a service and quality perspective before here. I don't think that I would come back to Kings Camp, but if I did, the ONLY reason would be to go on a few drives with Patrick. The lodge itself, the service and the food were average.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travcarib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We spent three weeks in Europe and Africa in June, and Kings Camp was our first safari lodge. After three nights there, we were so spoiled that I didn't want to leave! Everything was so carefully taken care of, from our initial greeting by managers Warren and Lisha, Assistant Manager Tristan, and a crew of folks offering us cold washcloths to freshen up and a cool drink as well. When we went to our room, I could not believe how spacious and beautiful it was. Each room is a separate cottage, with a large bed with mosquito netting (dropped in the evening by our housekeeper, who also left a personalized note each evening). There was a large living area, with sofa and chairs, an armoire, lots of storage space, and service for tea or coffee. Our game drives, with ranger, Morne, and tracker, Selby, were fabulous--comfortable open air vehicles which could go anywhere in search of the wildlife. Morne worked hard to find us all the big game, and lots of birds and smaller game as well. He had so much information about the animals, their habits and habitat, and environmental issues. There were never more than 6 of us in the vehicle. The food was absolutely delicious and abundant--fresh fruit, delicious baked goods, and a varied menu. We ate dinner in a different location every night--the beautiful dining room, an outdoor dining room, with candlelight and gorgeous table settings, and a bush dinner with drums playing, fire going, and again candlelight and gorgeous table settings (different from the other ones!). It is apparent that everyone at this lodge takes pride in providing a most special experience. We cannot thank them enough for making my dream come true, and I hope we will be able to return again and again!

Room Tip: Each room is a separate cottage--I can't imagine one that isn't great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doctorsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We just returned from a trip to South Africa, and the last stop on our vacation was Kings Camp. As you can tell when you read the other reviews, this is a very special place. This is clear from the start when you are greeted by the camp managers Warren and Lishia who have been at the camp for 17 years and are raising their family there. They are invested. But I give high marks as well to our trackers and guides, the dining room staff, the chef, our housekeeper...

We learned a lot on our outings into the bush each day, and had a wonderful time over the three days we spent there. The guide and tracker were not only knowledgeable about the animals we saw but also birds, plants, trees, constellations.

The food was excellent, and it seemed like we were treated to wonderful meals and small treats all day long. It's a good thing that there was a gym to work out in during the middle of the day. I would not hesitate to recommend Kings Camp to all of my friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Honeymoon suite and the room was really beautiful and quiet. It had a patio and de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdshoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

My husband and i stayed for one week in Kings Camp Lodge in our honeymoon in may 2010.
we really hope to came back as soon as possible. The place is magic, the food is incredible, the employees are very polite. The room is the best, very confortable with lots of details. There was a private swing pool in our room totally opened to the savana.
We really recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luduni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We have delayed writing a report on this Lodge for some unknown reason until now. The reason being, “how can we put together words that truly describe this magnificent place”.

We have followed the Camp blogs by Morne and Patrick for 12 months prior to our visit in late April 2012 and have been amazed at there detailed and astonishing reports and photos and just hoped that our experiences would match during our visit....and they did.

In one word to describe this Lodge is “WOW”

We self drove to Kings Camp from spending 2 weeks in Kruger National Park and following the scenic drive were met by the “family” Melissa, Shanna, Tristan and Dane who made us feel right at home the very minute we were handed a refreshing drink. Dane was just as excited as we were as it was his first week at Kings Camp…..lol.

Following our registration we were escorted to our room, No.11 being one of the honeymoon suites. We could not believe how wonderful this room was both in size and style, this was a place you could easily live in forever.

After coming back to earth from seeing our wonderful room, we were invited to lunch prior to the afternoon game drive where we met Clessy, Initia. Lodick, Maggie and Shirley who truly looked after our every need at meal times for the next 4 days. A special mention to Nico who produced an outstanding menu throughout our stay….well done Nico.

Warren and Lisha manage the lodge and were discreetly around to ensure all was well.

The lodge grounds are laid out well with rooms located either side of the main office/reception area. The restaurant, bar, lounge and library are well situated in a common area with an upper deck that overlooks the swimming pool and water hole. The upper deck is also the meeting place for that first coffee fix of the day complimented by warm muffins before heading out on the early morning game drive.

OK, now to the main reason for being here, “the wildlife”.

Our ranger was Morne, with Selby tracking, and both complimented each other perfectly to find us some unbelievable sightings. Morne was extremely passionate and knowledgeable about the wildlife and surrounding environment and explained everything in layman’s terms.

We were a bit sceptical heading to the Timbavati region as we “perceived” as reported by others that the wildlife wasn’t as plentiful as other regions such as Sabi Sands, but soon realised it was not the case as the area has an abundance of wildlife and the amount of sightings we encountered are too many to mention, however it goes without saying we had numerous sightings of our favourite big cats.

Thank you so much for a wonderful and memorable time. Kings camp is now one of the most highlighted places in the world that we have been fortunate enough to visit.

Regards,
Robin & Vicki

Room Tip: Don't worry......its all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thesandmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
20.5 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,810 reviews
17.9 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
450 reviews
8.2 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Kambaku River Sands
Kambaku River Sands
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
209 reviews
19.0 mi away
Royal Malewane
Royal Malewane
#16 of 176 in Kruger National Park
261 reviews
6.6 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#6 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Camp

Address: Unkhulu Gate, Argyle Road, Kruger National Park 1218, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range: £794 - £1,174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kings Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, Kings Camp reflects the charm and romance of a colonial past in a pristine corner of unspoilt Africa. Kings Camp is situated facing an open savanna plain with a waterhole, which is frequented by a wide variety of wildlife, day and night.Eleven generously spacious colonial suites are luxuriously equipped with air-conditioning, Victorian ball-and-claw bath, indoor and outdoor double shower, fully stocked mini-bar and private verandah. Dark tones of wood and thatch offset the natural colours of the bushveld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kings Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Camp Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Kings Camp South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing