We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best safari!!”
Review of Kings Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kings Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best safari!!”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We loved every minute at King's Camp. The staff were wonderful and did everything they could to make us feel so welcome and special. The food was great every meal and it was varied across our 4 days there. The safari gave a chance to spend time looking at all of the big 5 and so many more animals! The rooms were wonderful with such cute touches like sherry decanters, bath salts, fully stocked bar fridge and a lovely outlook complete with elephants drinking, impala passing by, squirrels and bushbucks. The staff greeted us at the door on arrival and after each game drive and made our stay so memorable. Thank you so much King's Camp Staff for such a life long memory of your wonderful place. We were so sad to leave!

Room Tip: I think they'd all be great, but we were down the back in a beautifully quiet spot where we coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    24
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
87
188
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, MD
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We just completed an amazing 3 day visit to Kings Camp. My first safari trip a year ago was at Londolozi lodge in the Sabi Sands. Kings Camp is every bit as luxurious and far exceeded my expectations - for service, ambiance, and the opportunity to see all of the Big 5 and more. The rooms are enormous at Kings Camp - much larger than our lovely room in Varty Camp at Londolozi - and immaculately clean. The outdoor shower is one of the most fantastic experiences I have ever had! We were there in the winter time so our night time game drives got very cold. On our first night, a marvelous hot bubble bath was waiting when we got back to the room. (My only complaint was that this was only done on the first night.) The staff at Kings Camp, from Patience who greeted us when we arrived to Benjamin who walked us to our rooms at night, were all warm and friendly. Our ranger Jade and tracker Albert were a wonderful team and I loved how they shared sightings with the guides from other camps so that everyone had a chance to see the leopard and lions. Even though we occasionally saw cars from other camps, we mostly felt like we were the only people in the reserve. We saw all of the Big 5 on our first two game drives and lots of other animals and birds, I spent hours and hours researching different safari lodges when planning this trip - so many that my head was exploding! Kings Camp was the perfect decision and I would absolutely come back again! I loved that Kings Camp had working wifi (for the most part) which meant that we could check in when we wanted to. There is a really nice gym - which you need because the food is plentiful and absolutely wonderful! Everything is included except some specialty wines and laundry, which means you don't have to think about anything - including whether or not you will have a surprise bill at the end of the trip. This makes an enormous difference in terms of being able to relax. Kings Camp is a short 40 minute drive from Hoedspruit airport, which you can reach via SA Express. On the ride from the airport, we saw elephants and giraffes. On the way back to the airport, we saw zebra, kudu, and impala so even the short transfer was a treat. I can recommend everything about Kings Camp without reservation - this was truly an amazing experience and I can't wait to come back! Thank your Warren, Lisha, and the entire Kings Camp family!

Room Tip: All the suites are spectacular! We were in 8 and 9 and they were both wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I can't speak highly enough about this property and the staff at this luxury lodge. This was the first stay of our Honeymoon and what a way to kick it off! Kings Camp took extra special care of us and made us feel very special. We can't thank them enough for delivering such an amazing experience and one that we will never forget.

Our Driver and tracker (Cynet and Sam) were both excellent! You could tell that they truly appreciated the wildlife as if they were seeing the animals for the first time themselves. Cynet is extremely knowledgeable and very patient and informative when answering questions on all topics. When you are spending 6-7 hours on safari drives a day you want to obviously be in good company. It was an absolute pleasure to spend our time with Cynet and Sam, what a great team!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grassi3081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Hills, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We spent 4 amazing nights and days at Kings Camp celebrating a birthday and graduation. The accommodations and service were excellent. Had a great time on the drives with Jade and Albert, they showed us some amazing sights, and had some great conversations. The staff provided 5 star service all the way, from the welcome drinks, the bubble baths after a game drive,a little bubbly for the 40th birthday, and much more, too much too mention it all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meggersky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We recently completed a two-week trip to South Africa and Victoria Falls; Kings Camp was the absolute highlight of the vacation.

From the moment of our arrival, when we were warmly greeted by the entire Kings Camp staff, we knew that our stay was going to be really special. Every element of this operation is aimed at giving guests the experience of a lifetime. The setting--replete with beautiful birds and freely roaming (mostly smaller) animals--is idyllic. The accommodations are luxurious and romantic.

Best of all, our game drives were simply spectacular. Our expert guide, Jade, and tracker, Albert, spared no effort to introduce us to the multitude of animals inhabiting the Timbavati Reserve. Our sightings ranged from super-sized elephants and rhinos; to magnificent lions, leopards and buffalo; to zebras, giraffes, monkeys, baboons, hyenas (a delightful surprise--Thanks, Jade), wild dogs, warthogs and beautiful kudus; to birds of every description; and down to the smallest creatures who share this ecosystem. On these game drives, Jade's and Albert's professionalism, knowledge and enthusiasm were always evident. What a pleasure to meet these guys!

Thank you to Warren. Lisha and the entire Kings Camp staff for giving us the safari of our dreams!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emanuel_S_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Kings Camp far exceeded our expectations. From the moment we arrived by small plane at the local runway and were met by Lodge staff who drove us to the Camp - we were impressed. Hayley & Patience greeted us warmly and had a drink & welcome pack waiting for our arrival. Each couple was personally escorted through the grounds to their bungalow with an informative chat on the way. The rooms & general Camp housekeeping, spa, meals, game drives etc. were explained to us by Patience and we were left to settle in.

Suffice to say that the accommodation is beautiful. Large room with a sitting area in the colonial theme. The attention to detail was great. The photos on the website are accurate - in fact, they do not capture the ambiance of the room. Top quality linen, abundance of bath towels & toiletries. Fully stocked mini bar, water carafes and sherry, plus tea, coffee & biscuits.

We traveled as a group of 10, 4 couples and a single, plus a 7 year old. We stayed for five nights and the meals did not disappoint. Full buffet breakfasts with options for the usual egg & bacon options, plenty of choices for the health conscious, vegetarian and gluten intolerant. The chef & his staff were able to produce such a variety of delicious, high quality meals both in the dining room, and out at a river-side campfire style breakfast & dinner. The wait staff were extremely pleasant, friendly and helpful - there was a few requests "lost in translation" between diner/waiter/kitchen however, it was a minor issue and more than likely a mismatch of our Australian request and the African interpretation.

Safari. That's what we went to Kings Camp for ... and WOW ! did they deliver ! Our ranger/guide was Jade and tracker was Albert. There are two safari/game drives every day - early morning before breakfast, and afternoon before dinner. Jade was like an African Bush Encyclopaedia. Clearly very passionate about the bush, animals of every shape & size and even the plant life of the area. We were so very fortunate to encounter amazing sightings - Jade and Albert went the extra mile to try to ensure we saw the Big 5 plus a myriad of other creatures. They worked so well as a team, and we certainly felt that our experience would have paled without their expertise, knowledge & experience. From the ants & caterpillars crossing the dirt road, to the psychology of two young male leopards circling a hyena with her prized carcass - we were captivated by the commentary provided by Jade and did not miss one game drive. Jade even took us on two guided walks along the river bed and surrounds near the camp explaining up close the tracks of lions, hyena, baboons & impala. Yes, the safari experience was SPECTACULAR !

The spa was lovely and the massage, an added treat. We were blessed with magical weather and even used the pool a few times. The gym was small, in need of some attention but had enough equipment & weights to enable a decent workout if you felt you needed it.

WiFi connectivity was sporadic and best at the bar & library area - but really, most people are out on safari to "get away from it all" - if you really needed to be in contact with the outside world it is possible.

Certainly Warren & Leisha have a wonderful atmosphere and a top notch facility. The staff all seem genuinely happy which makes for a pleasant stay and was a nice change from Johannesburg.

Our Kings Camp holiday will long be remembered - it ticked all the boxes and more. If I had to sum it up in one word - AWESOME.

Room Tip: all the rooms are the same, very quiet and spread out through the grounds. air conditioning if requ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally-Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCampManagement, Manager at Kings Camp, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Your review is greatly appreciated, thank you. It was out pleasure to have you visit us and we cant thank you enough for the kind compliments. We hope you can visit us again someday, Take care, Warm regards, Warren, Lisha and the Kings Camp family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were there from 5/25 to 5/27. The lodge is gorgeous and the staff is outstanding. Mosquito netting around the bed, quality linens with a pillow top mattress pad, outdoor shower for 2, and a hot bubble bath awaiting you when you get back from the afternoon drive. Jade and Albert were out guide and tracker. They were doing more than just a job, they loved what they were doing. They shared an amazing amount of knowledge of the animals, birds, chameleons and caterpillars! We had 2 safari drives daily and every effort was made for us to see everything possible. We saw the big 5 but also zebras, warthogs, wild dogs, kudus, etc. It was amazing and lots of fun. The lodge provided blankets and hot water bottles. For the sundown drinks, orders were taken the night before to ensure you got what you wanted. Unfortunately, I had fractured my pelvis right before getting to King's camp but still wanted to do the drives. The staff were so helpful and willing to do anything to make me more comfortable. What an experience. Highly recommended. Warren and Lisha are great managers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eviezev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingsCampManagement, Manager at Kings Camp, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you so much for posting your review on your stay with us. It was wonderful to meet you. Wishing you a speedy recovery and look forward to having you visit again someday. Warm regards Warren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
17.9 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
434 reviews
20.5 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,690 reviews
8.2 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#2 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
609 reviews
5.2 mi away
Kambaku River Sands
Kambaku River Sands
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
190 reviews
5.7 mi away
Baobab Ridge
Baobab Ridge
#2 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Camp

Property: Kings Camp
Address: Unkhulu Gate, Argyle Road, Kruger National Park 1218, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kings Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve, Kings Camp reflects the charm and romance of a colonial past in a pristine corner of unspoilt Africa. Kings Camp is situated facing an open savanna plain with a waterhole, which is frequented by a wide variety of wildlife, day and night.Eleven generously spacious colonial suites are luxuriously equipped with air-conditioning, Victorian ball-and-claw bath, indoor and outdoor double shower, fully stocked mini-bar and private verandah. Dark tones of wood and thatch offset the natural colours of the bushveld. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Kings Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Camp Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Kings Camp South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing