We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Dream!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“What a Dream!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Motswari was one of the best experiences I’ve ever had. From the moment my husband and I arrived, we knew we had made the right choice in lodges (from all the overwhelming choices). The property is beautiful with a main lodge where drinks are available and “tea” (lunch) is served. It has a great view of a river and the pool. There’s also an open breakfast lodge and computer lodge for sitting/reading/surfing.
Our room was Lion and we loved it! Beautiful combination of antiques, comfortable furniture and African influences. The bathroom had a nice shower and a large tub. Both offered views of the bush where we often saw Impala. The bed was so comfortable and lovely.
We were given a very friendly welcome by Dave, the General Manager, and he would check in to see how things were going during our stay. All the staff were so welcoming and attentive but not intrusive. Always someone around to assist with what you wanted.
The food was fabulous!! Breakfast, tea (lunch) and dinner were all delicious and well prepared and presented. We ate several nights in the Boma which was so amazing. A large fire surrounded by lovely tables, great food and wine. One night was set up outside on the lawn with lots of candles and it was enchanting.
Our game drives were incredible and we saw the big 5. Our ranger did a fantastic job of locating the animals we wanted to see and getting us the best sitings possible. We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our drives!
I highly recommend Motswari for your stay. Everything about our 4 night stay was perfect!! Just make sure you book enough nights as you will not want to leave!

Room Tip: We had Lion and it was private and awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tunitravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We are delighted your experience at Motswari was a dream come true and sincerely hope it is one you will repeat again and again.

The dinner out on the lawn was special and we too have good memories of the evening spent with yourselves and the other American family.

The team will be delighted to read your review and we hope to see you soon.

Best wishes
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    635
    27
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
138
397
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Having had a fabulous 3 days at Motswari last year we decided to book for 6 nights this time. We were a little apprehensive that a second visit would not match our first amazing experience but there was no need to have had any concerns.

From our welcome on arrival until our departure nothing was too much trouble. All the staff are very friendly and go out of their way to ensure you enjoy your stay. The food is incredible and self restraint is required to ensure that you don't return several pounds heavier! I would like to say a special thank you for accommodating my dislike of cheese. The kitchen staff kindly prepared "cheese free" versions of dishes for me which were delicious.

Our room was giraffe and we often found little monkeys peeping in the windows at us much to my daughter's delight! The room was kept spotlessly clean throughout our stay. The beds were extremely comfortable and the bathroom was luxurious.

The drives were amazing. Our guide Chad and tracker Eric ensured that we saw the " big five" as well as lots of other animals. Seeing the leopard with its kill in the tree surrounded by hyena was memorable and a testament to the tenacity and skill of Chad and Eric. Another highlight was hearing the lionesses roaring and following one until she met with her sisters then watching as they tried to outwit impala. We will never forget that deep deep roar and the responses that followed. We also were privileged to have the opportunity to walk into the rhinos, an unforgettable experience. Throughout the drives Chad gave excellent information on what we were seeing ensuring that we have returned with a much greater understanding of the environment. Eric was also keen to share his experiences and expertise and contributed greatly to our enjoyment.

The evening meal sat under the stars in the boma with fires blazing in braziers to keep us warm finished each day in a magical way. Sharing a table with other visitors with whom you also share a vehicle develops a sense of camaraderie and shared experience.

The whole experience was truly amazing and we are already planning our return next year!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a fantastic and extensive review of your second visit to Motswari. We were delighted to welcome you and your family back and are really pleased that your stay was so enjoyable and that your knowledge was enhanced.

We are glad the monkeys kept you entertained along with the warthogs who visited most lunch times!

I will make sure that Chad, Eric and the whole team your kind words and really hope to see you back here next year.

With very best wishes to you all from the Motswari Team.

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We have just returned from a trip to South Africa which included a 4-night stay at the Motswari Safari Lodge. We didn't know what to expect as we are 'city folk' in our early sixties. How do you fill a day with no TV or radio? They did have WiFi so we could communicate with our children, but other than that, the only sounds we heard were from the animals going about their business. Well, by the second day we had adjusted and found all the stress that we brought with us melt away. The days became one of rest and relaxation combined with excitement of jumping in the Land Rovers and hunting for animals.
The day began at roughly 5;15 AM with a quick coffee/tea before heading out on the morning drive. We were assigned to Harold and Indifference (our guide and tracker) who not only found all the Big 5 but also many more animals. Their knowledge of the eco system was vast and greatly enlightening. They made each drive unique and thrilling.
The lodge itself was lovely with all facilities having the African flavour we wanted to see and feel. The rooms had comfortable beds with ultra modern bathrooms.
The meals were also worthy of praise. High tea (lunch) was served by a team of excellent staff that 'Sang' the food in each day. It had a wide selection to choose from, even for those with dietary concerns such as requiring 'gluten-free' meals.
After the evening drives we dined in the soothing ambience of the Boma. The tables were set with all the finery of a luxury restaurant and the food was wonderful.
Our days ended with going to bed every night feeling totally satisfied.
The whole experience is something we will always remember.
PS - For those wondering if May is a good month to travel, we would say YES- NO BUGS (i.e. mosquitoes to speak of) and the weather is dry and warm.

Room Tip: The accommodatons were individual units and each one was unique. If you plan to stay in your room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
This review is absolutely fantastic and we thank you for taking the time to write such a positive and extensive review of your experiences at Motswari. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found it easy to forget about the gadgets of everyday life and adjusted quickly to the quietness and relaxation that this environment offers.

I will make sure the whole team see your kind words and hope that one day you will be enticed back to a restful but exciting holiday.

Best wishes from the Motswari Team.

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and had a wonderful time during our stay. We were allocated the Elephant bungalow and had impala and various other animals running around close to us which was lovely. The room itself was beautifully decorated and the attention to detail was fantastic, from the power sockets enclosed in an unobtrusive leather box on the desk to the latest edition of the magazines provided for our enjoyment.

We had the pleasure of driving with Shadrack and Petro who were absolutely brilliant and amazed us constantly with their tracking skills. The highlight of our trip was when we walked down to the riverbed and managed to get within 10 meters of 6 jostling rhinos, something that I will remember for the rest of my life and I will most certainly be back to visit next year!

Room Tip: Ask for elephant, is a bit further away from the dining room but the views are wonderful and there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this fantastic review - I am delighted that Shadrack and Petro were able to provide such fantastic memories!!

I will make sure they and the whole team see your kind words.

Very Best wishes from us all and we hope to see you back here one day soon!

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful place! We have memories for a lifetime, seeing all the Big 5 except a leopard (missed by a day). We had great guides (Richard and Tiyani). No fences, the animals roam free into and out of Kruger. The room was great and very comfortable. The food and wine were outstanding. Highly recommended!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you so much for the fantastic review - I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us!!

I hope to welcome you back on day soon.

Best Regards from the whole Motswari family.

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I spent three nights her with my mother and sister and we all loved it. The staff bend over backwards for you. We had Marka and Eric as our ranger and tracker and those guys were awesome. The knowledge they have about the animals and the park was incredible. We learned so much from them. The food was also good. I will be back for sure!

Room Tip: The Roan room as a spectacular view and you can even pick up wireless internet from that room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Nate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Motswari - I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us!

I will make sure that Marka and Eric see your kind words and we all hope to welcome you back one day soon!


Very Best Regards from the whole Motswari family.

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Motswari absolutely blew my mind. This was the most incredible experience I have ever had. There is not a bad thing I can say about motswari. The staff are incredible, absolutely second to none. They are so friendly and helpful, nothing is too much for them, they completely fulfill their moto at motswari "arrive as a guest, leave as a friend" after 6 nights there I truely felt like part of the family, I just about cried when it was time to leave.

Food-insane!!!!!!! Best chefs ever and so much heart and tradition put into every meal, we didn't have a bad meal there!

This place is just absolutely unreal, we had the best guides, Shadrack and Tiyani. We saw more animals than we had even dreamed or hoped of seeing. They took every opportunity to make our dreams come true.

I cannot recommend motswari enough to people looking at doing a safari. I love love love this place and will be returning in the near future x

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty_Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
What an amazing review!! Thank you so much for these kind words - I am delighted and will make sure that Shadrack, Tiyani and the whole team see this as soon as possible.

I hope to see you back at Motswari one day soon!!

Very Best Regards from us all

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
14.7 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
577 reviews
11.9 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
208 reviews
8.2 mi away
Kings Camp
Kings Camp
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
#8 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
183 reviews
9.1 mi away
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
#2 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
416 reviews
3.2 mi away
Simbavati River Lodge
Simbavati River Lodge
#9 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motswari Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motswari Private Game Reserve

Property: Motswari Private Game Reserve
Address: Kruger National Park 2021, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Motswari Private Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open to the Kruger National Park and playing host to Africa's Big Five is Motswari Private Game Reserve. One of South Africa's jewels nestled within the Timbavati Nature Reserve, this family-owned and operated four-star luxury safari lodge prides itself on its warm atmosphere and luxurious accommodation.The name Motswari means "to conserve and protect" in Tswana and the owners have held the name to be a promise to each of their future friends who arrive to share in the splendour of an African sunset at this vintage bush lodge.The 150 square kilometres that make up the reserve are part of the greater Kruger Park and guests will be treated to wildlife in their natural habitats as part of their unforgettable experience of Southern Africa. Ideally situated and exclusive, Motswari Private Game Reserve holds the best of everything for the traveller to the untamed majesty that is Africa.If you’re looking for a relaxed atmosphere, peaceful communion with nature and a private experience on a traditional African game farm, this holiday location is for you!Morning and evening game drives in open Land Rovers with professional field guides and trackersMid morning bush walks * Safari walks in lieu of morning game drives guided by armed field guidesOvernight bush hiking and camping sleep-out experience for groups of 4 with experienced guides*Hide sleep-outs in the Motswari Game Reserve*Swimming pool*Boma & bush dinners*Pre-lunch safari interest talks*Curio shop at Motswari Game Lodge*Brunch, high tea (late lunch) and dinner*Library and Art Gallery with 24-hour internet facility at Motswari Game Lodge*Fully equipped air-conditioned conference room for 20 delegates at Motswari Game Lodge*An additional vehicle plus guide can be arranged for an extra cost per day and covers 2 game drives per day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motswari Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motswari Private Game Reserve Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing