We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Accomodation, Food, game drives, staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Accomodation, Food, game drives, staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Room was great - comfortable, big, well maintained. Meals - it was too much and too good - good variety and options for vegetarian, and you end up overeating because all three meals are so good. Game drives - the open top vehicles and the proximity to animals is excellent. Staff make you feel welcome and the tour guides educate you and do their best to show you all the wildlife. I ended up staying an extra night because it was very relaxing. I did both the extra activities (overnight bush walk and Bird's Nest which I will review separately), and although the extra activities were fun, staying at the lodge was the highlight and more memorable for me and my wife. Overall, Motswari is an excellent, memorable, relaxing experience. ( I saw all the big 5)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigbadasl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you so much for the positive review of Motswari and I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and your experience in the Timbavati!!

I will make sure the whole team see your kind words and we hope to welcome you back to Motswari one day soon.

Very Best Regards from us all
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    27
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
139
397
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, Guyana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

The Motswari Private Game Reserve was an incredible place for our first safari experience. The lodge was beautifully decorated and the calm secluded location was very relaxing. The food was a cultural experience within itself with items such as impala and warthog on the menu. The staff were enjoyable. Family style dinners and assigned safari groups allow you to meet other families, yet the forced interactions can be awkward. 2-3 nights is more than enough time at Motswari.

Room Tip: Not all drinks are included in the price. Only a selection of beers and few wines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review - I am very glad that you enjoyed your time with us and that you had a memorable first time safarii experience.

I have noted your feedback regarding the interactions and will ensure that reception are clear that private tables are always avaialble should people prefer. I do try to keep things as social as possible as I believe this to be one of the special aspects of Motswari - the way people interact and the atmosphere this creates in the evening.

I hope to see you back at Motswari in the not too distant future!

Warm regards from the whole Motswari family.

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We drove up from Johannesburg to Motswari and stayed 4 nights at the lodge early June. Everything exceeded our expectations from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. All staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The food was amazing and the guides (Herald and Difference) were fabulous - they make every effort to show us all of the Big 5. The accommodation was also very nice, comfortable and extremely clean. Most of the staff have been with Motswari for a very long time, one individual even 25 years. Due to this, the staff are amazing, take ownership and pride in what they do, and always do everything with a smile. Cannot express our gratitude to all at Motswari for this experience. We will definitely be going back to South Africa in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the watering hole as there may be an opportunity to see animals close by. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Going2marseille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review - I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and will make sure that Herold and Difference see this fantastic review.

I hope to welcome you back on day soon!

Very Best Regards from the whole Motswari family.

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

The only thing we regret is that we only booked Motswari for 2 nights. From the moment we arrived, we said that we need to come back again.
That was even before we had experienced the rest of the lodge and went on a game drive.
We got the "Rhino" room and it was so beautiful as the rest of the lodge. We can recommend Motswari to anyone looking for an awesome Safari experience, you won't regret!
Then the food.. WOW, we were in the middle of the bush (seriously, super cool!) and the staff kitchen could serve us such wonderful meals and some of the best food we've ever eaten.

We got Josh and Tiyani as our guide and tracker. They were super nice, had great knowledge about the surroundings and they did everything they could to help us see the "big 5" (along with a lot of other animals) and they made it! Maybe with a bit of luck, but without there knowledge we wouldn't found those Lions that they tracked on our last game drive or the Leopard that we were searching after for 2 hours. We thought that we would miss to see the Leopard, but when we were on the way back to the lodge they turned around and we got to see it after all.

Since we arrived back home to Sweden, Motswari is the thing we talked about and we can't say enough good things about it, we could keep writing for hours.
We just like to give a BIG thanks to everyone in the wonderful staff, you all made our first Safari better than we ever could imagine.
Without any doubt we will be back and bring our family and friends as well!

So if you like to go on safari just go to Motswari, you don't need to search for anything more, they have it all!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Nothing better than reading reviews like that on a Monday morning!

Thank you so much for your kind words - I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and that you would reccomend Motswari to others!! I will make sure that Josh, Tiyani and the rest of the team see your review.

I hope to welcome you back to the Timbavati one day soon.

Very Best Regards from the whole Motswari family.

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Amazing service, fabulous accommodations and food, and wow we loved the game drives!

Highly recommend for anyone looking for a luxurious stay paired with the (optional) exciting tours through the savanna looking for animals (their trackers are incredibly talented and make you feel very safe).

Thank you Motswari team we will be back next year :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Motswari - we really do appreciate the feedback!!

I will make sure that the whole team see your kind words and I hope we can welcome you back to Motswari one day soon!!

Very Best Regards from the whole team

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Last month I visited Motswari for the 5th time, and as always, enjoyed every second. The accommodation was luxurious, the staff were friendly and accommodating, and the food was simply delicious. I loved spending time at the lodge as much as I appreciated the game drives. No question that I'll return... in fact, I can't wait for my next visit to this outstanding game reserve.

Room Tip: All the bungalows are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank drMiaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you so much for the review Mia - it was great to finally meet you!

I am very glad to hear that you will return yet again and hope you will spend another night in Giraffe's Nest!

Very Best Regards from us all
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Had the chance to spend three nights with the staff and rangers at this wonderful game reserve.
The rooms were very clean and set close to the river bank. the meals were very good and the breakfasts were to die for.
Marka and Patrick our guide and tracker were very experience and left no stone unturned finding the wonderful game they had on offer.
Might not suit some but to see a Mozambique Spitting Cobra take down a Plated Lizard will be remembered for a long time.
All rooms were in close proximity to the main area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horse6633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Motswari - I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and will certainly make sure that Marka and Patrick see your kind words.

I hope to see you back at Motswari one day soon!

Very Best Regards from the whole Motswari family.

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
14.7 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
11.9 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
8.2 mi away
Kings Camp
Kings Camp
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
#8 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
11.4 mi away
Umlani Bushcamp
Umlani Bushcamp
#5 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
3.2 mi away
Simbavati River Lodge
Simbavati River Lodge
#9 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motswari Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motswari Private Game Reserve

Property: Motswari Private Game Reserve
Address: Kruger National Park 2021, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Motswari Private Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open to the Kruger National Park and playing host to Africa's Big Five is Motswari Private Game Reserve. One of South Africa's jewels nestled within the Timbavati Nature Reserve, this family-owned and operated four-star luxury safari lodge prides itself on its warm atmosphere and luxurious accommodation.The name Motswari means "to conserve and protect" in Tswana and the owners have held the name to be a promise to each of their future friends who arrive to share in the splendour of an African sunset at this vintage bush lodge.The 150 square kilometres that make up the reserve are part of the greater Kruger Park and guests will be treated to wildlife in their natural habitats as part of their unforgettable experience of Southern Africa. Ideally situated and exclusive, Motswari Private Game Reserve holds the best of everything for the traveller to the untamed majesty that is Africa.If you’re looking for a relaxed atmosphere, peaceful communion with nature and a private experience on a traditional African game farm, this holiday location is for you!Morning and evening game drives in open Land Rovers with professional field guides and trackersMid morning bush walks * Safari walks in lieu of morning game drives guided by armed field guidesOvernight bush hiking and camping sleep-out experience for groups of 4 with experienced guides*Hide sleep-outs in the Motswari Game Reserve*Swimming pool*Boma & bush dinners*Pre-lunch safari interest talks*Curio shop at Motswari Game Lodge*Brunch, high tea (late lunch) and dinner*Library and Art Gallery with 24-hour internet facility at Motswari Game Lodge*Fully equipped air-conditioned conference room for 20 delegates at Motswari Game Lodge*An additional vehicle plus guide can be arranged for an extra cost per day and covers 2 game drives per day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motswari Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motswari Private Game Reserve Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing