We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We arrived at Motswari early afternoon, and after a seamless checkin, wer taken to our rooms (traditional style huts) out in the middle of the bush. Wow. Fantastic. Within a few hours, we had consumed a magnificent lunch and were on our first game drive. Game drives were the best, knowledgeable drivers willing to share all the vast knowledge, always exciting and something different each day. Two drives a day, and by the fourth drive we had been lucky enough to see the Big Five, plus more. Our meals were second to none, and they manage such gourmet meals every day, all home made and delicious, served with flair. We always looked forward to the morning coffee stops and evening sundowners on the drives. We would go bak anytime and stay here. A truly wonderful experience in all aspects.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Difficult to top that heading!! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review - we really appreciate all the feedback, but we love the positive ones more!!

I will make sure this is shared with the whole team and hope to welcome you back to Motswari one day soon!

Best Wishes from us all
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    27
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
139
397
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

From the moment my wife and I arrived we were made most welcome.All the staff look after you so well you are made to feel very special. Very special thanks to Harold and Difference our guide and tracker they were the very best. cannot rate this place high enough.

Room Tip: choose a room overlooking the water hole
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank robalveston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Motswari!!

I will make sure that Difference and Herold see your kind words and we all hope to welcome you both back to Motswari one days soon!!

Very Best Wishes from the whole Motswari family.

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Great safari, excellent food, lovely staff. The day starts at around 5 a.m. and you'll go out on a game drive before breakfast (you'll get a muffin, though:) to avoid the heat. You'll return around 9 a.m. for breakfast and then you can go and sleep some more or just hang out at their great pool until a delicious lunch around 3 p.m. The second game drive starts at 4 p.m.
It is a beautiful place, we saw the big five and so much, much more and had a fantastic, unforgettable time. You won't regret going there! Thanks Thea and Dave!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Livia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thanks so much for the review Livia!! It was great having you both here and look forward to the next time!!

Best Wishes from us all at Motswari

Dave & Thea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at Motswari for the first part of our honeymoon in June and had a truly brilliant time.
This was our first safari experience and it exceeded our expectations. Our guide Shadwick and tracker Goodman were amazing and found us so many animals to see each game drive. Every day we saw lions, leopards and elephants and we had seen the big 5 within our first day. The wildlife was fantastic and we had no idea we would see the variety and amount of animals that we did.
The lodge is beautiful and calm, our room was stunning and we regularly saw animals from there (including the resident crocodile) and the food was delicious. The hospitality of everyone who worked at Motswari was fantastic.
We had a wonderful experience at Motswari and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlotteTymms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review - I am so glad you enjoyed your time at Motswari and am hoping that the rest of your honeymoon was unforgettable!

I hope to see you back at Motswari soon!

Very Best Wishes from us all
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Room was great - comfortable, big, well maintained. Meals - it was too much and too good - good variety and options for vegetarian, and you end up overeating because all three meals are so good. Game drives - the open top vehicles and the proximity to animals is excellent. Staff make you feel welcome and the tour guides educate you and do their best to show you all the wildlife. I ended up staying an extra night because it was very relaxing. I did both the extra activities (overnight bush walk and Bird's Nest which I will review separately), and although the extra activities were fun, staying at the lodge was the highlight and more memorable for me and my wife. Overall, Motswari is an excellent, memorable, relaxing experience. ( I saw all the big 5)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigbadasl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you so much for the positive review of Motswari and I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and your experience in the Timbavati!!

I will make sure the whole team see your kind words and we hope to welcome you back to Motswari one day soon.

Very Best Regards from us all
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Guyana
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

The Motswari Private Game Reserve was an incredible place for our first safari experience. The lodge was beautifully decorated and the calm secluded location was very relaxing. The food was a cultural experience within itself with items such as impala and warthog on the menu. The staff were enjoyable. Family style dinners and assigned safari groups allow you to meet other families, yet the forced interactions can be awkward. 2-3 nights is more than enough time at Motswari.

Room Tip: Not all drinks are included in the price. Only a selection of beers and few wines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review - I am very glad that you enjoyed your time with us and that you had a memorable first time safarii experience.

I have noted your feedback regarding the interactions and will ensure that reception are clear that private tables are always avaialble should people prefer. I do try to keep things as social as possible as I believe this to be one of the special aspects of Motswari - the way people interact and the atmosphere this creates in the evening.

I hope to see you back at Motswari in the not too distant future!

Warm regards from the whole Motswari family.

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We drove up from Johannesburg to Motswari and stayed 4 nights at the lodge early June. Everything exceeded our expectations from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. All staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The food was amazing and the guides (Herald and Difference) were fabulous - they make every effort to show us all of the Big 5. The accommodation was also very nice, comfortable and extremely clean. Most of the staff have been with Motswari for a very long time, one individual even 25 years. Due to this, the staff are amazing, take ownership and pride in what they do, and always do everything with a smile. Cannot express our gratitude to all at Motswari for this experience. We will definitely be going back to South Africa in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the watering hole as there may be an opportunity to see animals close by. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Going2marseille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review - I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and will make sure that Herold and Difference see this fantastic review.

I hope to welcome you back on day soon!

Very Best Regards from the whole Motswari family.

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
14.7 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
11.9 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
8.2 mi away
Kings Camp
Kings Camp
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
#8 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
11.4 mi away
Umlani Bushcamp
Umlani Bushcamp
#5 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
3.2 mi away
Simbavati River Lodge
Simbavati River Lodge
#9 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motswari Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motswari Private Game Reserve

Property: Motswari Private Game Reserve
Address: Kruger National Park 2021, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Motswari Private Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open to the Kruger National Park and playing host to Africa's Big Five is Motswari Private Game Reserve. One of South Africa's jewels nestled within the Timbavati Nature Reserve, this family-owned and operated four-star luxury safari lodge prides itself on its warm atmosphere and luxurious accommodation.The name Motswari means "to conserve and protect" in Tswana and the owners have held the name to be a promise to each of their future friends who arrive to share in the splendour of an African sunset at this vintage bush lodge.The 150 square kilometres that make up the reserve are part of the greater Kruger Park and guests will be treated to wildlife in their natural habitats as part of their unforgettable experience of Southern Africa. Ideally situated and exclusive, Motswari Private Game Reserve holds the best of everything for the traveller to the untamed majesty that is Africa.If you’re looking for a relaxed atmosphere, peaceful communion with nature and a private experience on a traditional African game farm, this holiday location is for you!Morning and evening game drives in open Land Rovers with professional field guides and trackersMid morning bush walks * Safari walks in lieu of morning game drives guided by armed field guidesOvernight bush hiking and camping sleep-out experience for groups of 4 with experienced guides*Hide sleep-outs in the Motswari Game Reserve*Swimming pool*Boma & bush dinners*Pre-lunch safari interest talks*Curio shop at Motswari Game Lodge*Brunch, high tea (late lunch) and dinner*Library and Art Gallery with 24-hour internet facility at Motswari Game Lodge*Fully equipped air-conditioned conference room for 20 delegates at Motswari Game Lodge*An additional vehicle plus guide can be arranged for an extra cost per day and covers 2 game drives per day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motswari Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motswari Private Game Reserve Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing