We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We left as family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We left as family”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

While the motto is “come as a guest, leave as a friend,” it was so much more than that. I was really sad the day we left – sad to leave the people, the reserve and the amazing experience that was soul altering.

Like many, I literally spent weeks trying to find the perfect place. Relying much on the reviews here, I rolled the dice and hit the jack pot. The rooms – outstanding. Comfortable, clean, spacious, authentic. The food – superb. Delicious, plentiful, creative.

The safari – one of the best experiences in my life. How we got so lucky to have Chad as our ranger and Patrick as our tracker, I don’t know. It was my first safari ever. Yes, I was nervous when a lioness (one of the Jacaranda trio) walked 2 meters from our vehicle, and when the leopard walked under the truck. But, I was excited and amazed. What kept me calm was Chad and Patrick. I trusted them implicitly and completely. Chad is a renowned photographer – and very humble about it. The Motswari book is an incredible collection of his superb work. It is with the same passion and precision that he guided us through the bush to see things that I’m sure I’ll never see again. We were also somehow lucky enough to share the truck with South African Andrew Aveley, another renown photographer (google him, his work is also incredible). And while everyone else had seen this many times over, they were as excited as us novices. When our last safari was near, and I had yet to see elephants, Marka was our guide, and did not quit until he found us a family – seeing a mother with her 10 month old baby elephant walk in front of us was just unbelievable.

After every amazing ride, John greeted with a sip of sherry, and then off to dinner. Everyone on staff was excited to hear what we did, what we saw, and shared in our amazement. Liz was always around to make sure things were going well. She even arranged for us to squeeze in a final safari, even though our transfer to the airport was leaving early. At check out, she had a packed lunch for us. Just like Mom would do. David, the general manager, was always around, also checking on us. We met his adorable son. Again, part of the family.

We were also lucky enough to have Lee (the chef at Dash in Cape Town) as our chef. Inventive, flavorful meals that complimented the surroundings. Genius! After dinner was more conversation, laughter, drinks, and friendships forming under the most amazing skies one can imagine. A real experience of a life time that I will never forget. Thank you!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TangoDCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Wow - where do I start with the reply to such an amazing review of Motswari and the team!?

Thank you for taking the time to write all of this, I will of course ensure that everyone sees the review and the details with which you have addressed individuals. It always pleases me greatly when our guests feel part of our family as I think this is a very important part of what makes this lodge so special and sets us apart from others. It is also James' first mention on Tripadvisor so that adds even more pride for Thea and myself!

I hope we can all welcome you back here one day soon for more laughter, food and animals!

Very Best Wishes from the whole Motswari family.

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    655
    27
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
143
405
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Thanks to the excellent guidance we sighted the big five within the first 24 hours, can't want for more than that. Over the 4 days we stayed, the family thoroughly enjoyed the friendly staff, excellent food, comfortable accommodation and the knowledgeable guidance.

Introduced via website from Australia by Sun Safaris, we feel we were very lucky to have chosen Motswari for our once in a lifetime trip.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you very much for the review of Motswari - I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and that you would reccomend us to others!!

I hope to welcome you back to Motswari one day soon!

Best Wishes from us all
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I am writing this to attest to the longstanding quality and reputation of Motswari. I had the opportunity to visit with my family six years ago. We did extensive research at the time from the states but were unsure of the decision until we arrived. I have since had the opportunity to work extensively in East and Southern Africa and to this day, the best sightings and hosting of mind is still Motswari! We saw everything imaginable---even baby white lions--in an unadulterated environment that showcased how animals react with each other--not how they react to humans. Motswari's insight and care for the land is unique and it shows in their game drives and accommodations. I can see from the recent reviews that it has not changed a bit! If I ever get the chance to go back to the region, they will be my first choice!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agsblend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
I think this is a first for us on Tripadvisor, but a review six years after the visit is no less welcome or important so thank you very much for taking the time to write these kind words. We do indeed continue to strive for a natural wildlife experience and that is what keeps us all in the Timbavati year after year... knowing that anything can happen and that everything we see is wild and real!!

I do hope you manage to make it back to Motswari soon to check up our progress and maybe you will bring the White Lion luck back with you... they are being very elusive these days!!

Very Best Wishes from us all
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

You will not do any better than Motswari. Met by Liz on arrival, a truly beautiful and compassionate lady(we were lucky enough to have her accompany us on a game drive-what a great lady). Our room (giraffe) was delightful,huge clean and well equipped. The food( breakfast, lunch and dinner) was plentiful and of the highest quality. All of the staff are outstanding. Dave and Godfrey really make you feel part of the Motswari family. And then the game drives. We were privileged to have Richard as our ranger and Petros as our tracker. These two guys are awesome. Richard's knowledge of everything-wildlife, nature, astronomy and more is second to none. Petros tracking skills brilliant- we tracked for over one kilometre to stand within 10 metered of 5 rhinos. The pit stops for morning tea and sundowner were just brilliant. If you are lucky enough to get these two guys you will have a great time. If you get a chance spend five minutes with Chad, great bloke, first class photographer and a fellow Spurs supporter. Don't waste anytime looking further than Motswari as you wasn't find any better. Loved ever second of our four night stay. Brilliant:)

Room Tip: That are all outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Wow.. you have put a smile on many faces at Motswari with this fantastic review! Thank you so much for taking the time provide this feedback and for all your kind words.

I hope we can welcome you back to Motswari one day soon!

Very Best Regards from the whole Motswari family!

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We arrived at Motswari early afternoon, and after a seamless checkin, wer taken to our rooms (traditional style huts) out in the middle of the bush. Wow. Fantastic. Within a few hours, we had consumed a magnificent lunch and were on our first game drive. Game drives were the best, knowledgeable drivers willing to share all the vast knowledge, always exciting and something different each day. Two drives a day, and by the fourth drive we had been lucky enough to see the Big Five, plus more. Our meals were second to none, and they manage such gourmet meals every day, all home made and delicious, served with flair. We always looked forward to the morning coffee stops and evening sundowners on the drives. We would go bak anytime and stay here. A truly wonderful experience in all aspects.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Difficult to top that heading!! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review - we really appreciate all the feedback, but we love the positive ones more!!

I will make sure this is shared with the whole team and hope to welcome you back to Motswari one day soon!

Best Wishes from us all
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

From the moment my wife and I arrived we were made most welcome.All the staff look after you so well you are made to feel very special. Very special thanks to Harold and Difference our guide and tracker they were the very best. cannot rate this place high enough.

Room Tip: choose a room overlooking the water hole
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank robalveston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Motswari!!

I will make sure that Difference and Herold see your kind words and we all hope to welcome you both back to Motswari one days soon!!

Very Best Wishes from the whole Motswari family.

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herrliberg, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Great safari, excellent food, lovely staff. The day starts at around 5 a.m. and you'll go out on a game drive before breakfast (you'll get a muffin, though:) to avoid the heat. You'll return around 9 a.m. for breakfast and then you can go and sleep some more or just hang out at their great pool until a delicious lunch around 3 p.m. The second game drive starts at 4 p.m.
It is a beautiful place, we saw the big five and so much, much more and had a fantastic, unforgettable time. You won't regret going there! Thanks Thea and Dave!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Livia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thanks so much for the review Livia!! It was great having you both here and look forward to the next time!!

Best Wishes from us all at Motswari

Dave & Thea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
14.7 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
615 reviews
8.2 mi away
Kings Camp
Kings Camp
#7 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
367 reviews
13.7 mi away
Baobab Ridge
Baobab Ridge
#2 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Kambaku River Sands
Kambaku River Sands
#6 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
196 reviews
14.3 mi away
andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge
andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ngala Private Game Reserve
451 reviews
11.4 mi away
Umlani Bushcamp
Umlani Bushcamp
#5 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motswari Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motswari Private Game Reserve

Property: Motswari Private Game Reserve
Address: Kruger National Park 2021, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Motswari Private Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open to the Kruger National Park and playing host to Africa's Big Five is Motswari Private Game Reserve. One of South Africa's jewels nestled within the Timbavati Nature Reserve, this family-owned and operated four-star luxury safari lodge prides itself on its warm atmosphere and luxurious accommodation.The name Motswari means "to conserve and protect" in Tswana and the owners have held the name to be a promise to each of their future friends who arrive to share in the splendour of an African sunset at this vintage bush lodge.The 150 square kilometres that make up the reserve are part of the greater Kruger Park and guests will be treated to wildlife in their natural habitats as part of their unforgettable experience of Southern Africa. Ideally situated and exclusive, Motswari Private Game Reserve holds the best of everything for the traveller to the untamed majesty that is Africa.If you’re looking for a relaxed atmosphere, peaceful communion with nature and a private experience on a traditional African game farm, this holiday location is for you!Morning and evening game drives in open Land Rovers with professional field guides and trackersMid morning bush walks * Safari walks in lieu of morning game drives guided by armed field guidesOvernight bush hiking and camping sleep-out experience for groups of 4 with experienced guides*Hide sleep-outs in the Motswari Game Reserve*Swimming pool*Boma & bush dinners*Pre-lunch safari interest talks*Curio shop at Motswari Game Lodge*Brunch, high tea (late lunch) and dinner*Library and Art Gallery with 24-hour internet facility at Motswari Game Lodge*Fully equipped air-conditioned conference room for 20 delegates at Motswari Game Lodge*An additional vehicle plus guide can be arranged for an extra cost per day and covers 2 game drives per day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Motswari Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motswari Private Game Reserve Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing