We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Nearby Hotels
SUN1 Pretoria(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$47
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fortis Hotel Capital(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Morning Star Express Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Manhattan Hotel(Pretoria)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Arcadia Hotel(Pretoria)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (755)
Filter reviews
755 results
Traveller rating
713
31
8
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
713
31
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsknock on the doorhomemade lemonadewild dogssafari experiencethe riverbush walkholiday of a lifetimeevery member of staffwonderful experienceour honeymoonoff roadfood was amazingherd of elephantsafternoon drivewhole experienceevery mealamazing things
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
366 - 371 of 755 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

From the moment you arrive at Motswari you are welcomed into the "family" by Liz and Mpumi and you will be looked after as a friend for your stay. Thank you Liz, thank you Mpumi and thank you Lee! Lee is the talented chef who organises the meals which are fabulous, far beyond what anyone has a right to expect in the African bush. I have a special diet but nothing was too much trouble for Lee who tackled the challenge with verve and flair - a treasure. I've named a few staff but everyone is welcoming and goes out if their way to make sure you are cared for. We had a family crisis while at Motswari and Liz went way beyond the call of duty to ensure we were cared for, another treasure. NOW, what you go for - game viewing. The guides and trackers are outstanding, and go to great lengths to endure that you see the animals that you have come to see. We saw the big five and much more. The skill of the guides and trackers was awe inspiring. We hope to be able to return one day.

Room Tip: All are good.
Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank heachri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you so much for the review... I have already read it to Mpumi, but will make sure that Liz, Leigh and the whole team see your kind words!

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time at Motswari and I hope to welcome you back one day soon!!

Very Best Wishes from us all
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The motto "Arrive as a guest, leave as a friend" is so appropriate for Motswari. Dave is fantastic as a host!! The rooms are fabulous and room service was a highlight to us. Since this was my honeymoon, we had a lovely surprise waiting for us when we came back from our first game drive, our room was romantically decorated and had a lovely romantic message as well. The staff went out of their way to have vegetarian foods available to us, the food was always delicious and lovely.

Coming to the game drives themselves, we were lucky enough to see a huge variety of animals like Lions, Leopard, Giraffe, Rhinos, Elephants, Buffalo, Hippo up close. Our guide Richard and tracker Petros were fantastic as a team. Richard always coupled the animal sightings with useful information about them and Petros was amazing with his tracking skills. All the game drives were uniquely planned out and were very interesting.

I will be back again, this time as a friend :)

- Vishwanatha
India

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr_Zenith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you so much for the review Vishwanatha - it was a pleasure having you both here and to be part of your honeymoon!

We look forward to welcoming you back as a friend!

Very Best Regards from the whole Motswari family.
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

After a journey of almost 24hours we were welcomed by Thea (not sure about the spelling) Patrick and Petros and given the option of resting or getting out on the next drive half an hour later - glad we decided to go on the drive, Chad and Petros treated us to some great sightings right from the start. Coming back to the lodge we were greeted with a warming drink and shown to our room to freshen up before dinner, where we were joined by our guide Chad and fed top quality lovely dinner, made all the more special by what Leigh and her team achieve in the remote location.
This proved to be the norm, with highly enjoyable drives - early o'clock and late afternoons - including all of the big 5 thanks to Chad and Patrick's dedication to deliver and some truly magical experiences of leopard families. Chad even took us on an afternoon walk - his knowledge of the bush is encyclopedical.
Have no doubt, if you choose Motswari you will have an experienced to treasure, both in terms of the game and the high standards at the lodge. Beware though, the food is excellent and plentiful so your waistline is at risk.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Your spelling of Thea is spot on... I will make sure that she and the rest of the team see your kind words!

Thank you very much for the review and if your waistline can take it, we would love to see you back at Motswari one day soon!

Very Best Regards from us all
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We have been on safari before but this was the best, the accommodation was great, the food was delicious thanks to Lee, and Chad is the best guide we have ever had. Very personal service and all all round fabulous experience, despite the very cold morning drives! Highlights include seeing Leopard 3 times including at night up a tree, walking up close to a herd of rhino, watching the stars at night and the warthog family that came to visit us at the pool.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank RachelBurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Motswari - I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.... we love being called the best!!

I will make sure the whole team see your kind words and I hope to welcome you back to Motswari one day soon.

Very Best Regards from us all
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The best vacation ever...fantastic lodge ..great people..cozy and homey .. great food excellent guidance..we felt like family from the manager David and his beautiful wife and newly born baby and assistant manager Godfrey to Harold and Difference the rangers to even the cleaner that cleans our room and makes sure we have everything...what more do you want from life?? Good wine good food .. amazing sights and wonderful people.. we always come back to Motswari and will never ever change it ... simply the best.
Dahlia and Paul Austin (Egyptian/Italian/British nationality ) and one more thing..I still can't believe how Harold and Difference traced the Leopard for us !! Amazing work !!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dahlia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

It was great to meet you Dahlia and good to see Paul again... I think you are the first guests to visit us twice in a three day period!

I'm delighted that you enjoyed the experience and hope to see you for an extended stay next time to catch up properly!

Very Best Wishes from us all at Motswari
Dave, Thea, James and the whole team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews