We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Safari Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Safari Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed for 5 nights here and everything was brilliant!From the food to the game drives and from the staff to the accommodation,all was faultless.We have been travelling on African safaris for many years in different countries and would not hesitate to recommend this lodge without any reservation.A special thanks to Liz,Alfie,Lea and Shadrack-Barry and Sue Cozens,Manchester,UK.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarryandSueCozens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Motswari - I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and will make sure that the whole team see your kind words.

I hope to see you back here one day soon!

Very Best Wishes from us all
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    636
    27
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
139
397
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nuenen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

What a perfect Safari Lodge. Everything was just perfect. We stayed for 5 nights and had the most amazing safari experience ever. Harold the guide and Difference the tracker were outstanding. We had superb wildlife sightings, everything (and more) we hoped for. We're very keen on photography and Harold completely understood how to position the car, for the perfect picture.

The rooms were very nice. The meals are fantastic and all the people involved in Motswari do their best to please you. What a difference compared to some other lodges we have visited.

We definitely come back again. What an experience!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JeroenandNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
What a fantastic review heading to open up early on a Sunday morning! Thank you so much for reviewing Motswari and I will make sure that Herold, Difference and the whole Motswari team see your kind words.

Very Best Wishes from the whole Motswari family.

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed in Motswari for three nights and we have one regret: our stay was too short.
The rooms are as comfortable as it gets, the staff professional, and more importantly very warm and welcoming. The food was simply divine, and the surroundings magnificent.
The traditional rondavels and the thatched commons areas blend superbly into the landscape. The magic of the ambiance is almost palpable.
Motswari is simply one of those places you experience fully rather than just visit. We will undoubtedly be back.

Nicole & Hervé

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hdelab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Motswari!

I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and I hope to welcome you back one day soon!!

Very Best Regards from us all
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

From the moment you arrive at Motswari you are welcomed into the "family" by Liz and Mpumi and you will be looked after as a friend for your stay. Thank you Liz, thank you Mpumi and thank you Lee! Lee is the talented chef who organises the meals which are fabulous, far beyond what anyone has a right to expect in the African bush. I have a special diet but nothing was too much trouble for Lee who tackled the challenge with verve and flair - a treasure. I've named a few staff but everyone is welcoming and goes out if their way to make sure you are cared for. We had a family crisis while at Motswari and Liz went way beyond the call of duty to ensure we were cared for, another treasure. NOW, what you go for - game viewing. The guides and trackers are outstanding, and go to great lengths to endure that you see the animals that you have come to see. We saw the big five and much more. The skill of the guides and trackers was awe inspiring. We hope to be able to return one day.

Room Tip: All are good.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank heachri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you so much for the review... I have already read it to Mpumi, but will make sure that Liz, Leigh and the whole team see your kind words!

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time at Motswari and I hope to welcome you back one day soon!!

Very Best Wishes from us all
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The motto "Arrive as a guest, leave as a friend" is so appropriate for Motswari. Dave is fantastic as a host!! The rooms are fabulous and room service was a highlight to us. Since this was my honeymoon, we had a lovely surprise waiting for us when we came back from our first game drive, our room was romantically decorated and had a lovely romantic message as well. The staff went out of their way to have vegetarian foods available to us, the food was always delicious and lovely.

Coming to the game drives themselves, we were lucky enough to see a huge variety of animals like Lions, Leopard, Giraffe, Rhinos, Elephants, Buffalo, Hippo up close. Our guide Richard and tracker Petros were fantastic as a team. Richard always coupled the animal sightings with useful information about them and Petros was amazing with his tracking skills. All the game drives were uniquely planned out and were very interesting.

I will be back again, this time as a friend :)

- Vishwanatha
India

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Zenith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you so much for the review Vishwanatha - it was a pleasure having you both here and to be part of your honeymoon!

We look forward to welcoming you back as a friend!

Very Best Regards from the whole Motswari family.
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

After a journey of almost 24hours we were welcomed by Thea (not sure about the spelling) Patrick and Petros and given the option of resting or getting out on the next drive half an hour later - glad we decided to go on the drive, Chad and Petros treated us to some great sightings right from the start. Coming back to the lodge we were greeted with a warming drink and shown to our room to freshen up before dinner, where we were joined by our guide Chad and fed top quality lovely dinner, made all the more special by what Leigh and her team achieve in the remote location.
This proved to be the norm, with highly enjoyable drives - early o'clock and late afternoons - including all of the big 5 thanks to Chad and Patrick's dedication to deliver and some truly magical experiences of leopard families. Chad even took us on an afternoon walk - his knowledge of the bush is encyclopedical.
Have no doubt, if you choose Motswari you will have an experienced to treasure, both in terms of the game and the high standards at the lodge. Beware though, the food is excellent and plentiful so your waistline is at risk.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeeR0bbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Your spelling of Thea is spot on... I will make sure that she and the rest of the team see your kind words!

Thank you very much for the review and if your waistline can take it, we would love to see you back at Motswari one day soon!

Very Best Regards from us all
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We have been on safari before but this was the best, the accommodation was great, the food was delicious thanks to Lee, and Chad is the best guide we have ever had. Very personal service and all all round fabulous experience, despite the very cold morning drives! Highlights include seeing Leopard 3 times including at night up a tree, walking up close to a herd of rhino, watching the stars at night and the warthog family that came to visit us at the pool.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RachelBurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVID K, General Manager at Motswari Private Game Reserve, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Motswari - I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.... we love being called the best!!

I will make sure the whole team see your kind words and I hope to welcome you back to Motswari one day soon.

Very Best Regards from us all
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
14.7 mi away
Kambaku Safari Lodge
Kambaku Safari Lodge
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
11.9 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 15 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
8.2 mi away
Kings Camp
Kings Camp
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
Simbavati Hilltop Lodge
#8 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
11.4 mi away
Umlani Bushcamp
Umlani Bushcamp
#5 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
3.2 mi away
Simbavati River Lodge
Simbavati River Lodge
#9 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motswari Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motswari Private Game Reserve

Property: Motswari Private Game Reserve
Address: Kruger National Park 2021, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Motswari Private Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open to the Kruger National Park and playing host to Africa's Big Five is Motswari Private Game Reserve. One of South Africa's jewels nestled within the Timbavati Nature Reserve, this family-owned and operated four-star luxury safari lodge prides itself on its warm atmosphere and luxurious accommodation.The name Motswari means "to conserve and protect" in Tswana and the owners have held the name to be a promise to each of their future friends who arrive to share in the splendour of an African sunset at this vintage bush lodge.The 150 square kilometres that make up the reserve are part of the greater Kruger Park and guests will be treated to wildlife in their natural habitats as part of their unforgettable experience of Southern Africa. Ideally situated and exclusive, Motswari Private Game Reserve holds the best of everything for the traveller to the untamed majesty that is Africa.If you’re looking for a relaxed atmosphere, peaceful communion with nature and a private experience on a traditional African game farm, this holiday location is for you!Morning and evening game drives in open Land Rovers with professional field guides and trackersMid morning bush walks * Safari walks in lieu of morning game drives guided by armed field guidesOvernight bush hiking and camping sleep-out experience for groups of 4 with experienced guides*Hide sleep-outs in the Motswari Game Reserve*Swimming pool*Boma & bush dinners*Pre-lunch safari interest talks*Curio shop at Motswari Game Lodge*Brunch, high tea (late lunch) and dinner*Library and Art Gallery with 24-hour internet facility at Motswari Game Lodge*Fully equipped air-conditioned conference room for 20 delegates at Motswari Game Lodge*An additional vehicle plus guide can be arranged for an extra cost per day and covers 2 game drives per day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Motswari Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motswari Private Game Reserve Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing