We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would love to come back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Legend Safari Lodge & Spa
Reviewed 28 July 2009

We stayed for 4 days, 3 days as the only guests and did we get a good service.

The individual lodge is very spacious with a big bedroom and sitting area and a huge bathroom, all (even the toilet) with windows facing the (dried) out river.

We had the Landcruiser to ourselves for 3 days and were taken on 2 fantastic safaris every day. We saw 4 of the 5 big, missing the leopard.

The major problem we had during our stay was Max and his staff making too much good food. We were stuffed! One of the breakfasts was prepared and served in the bush (full breakfast) with the staff performing local dances as a dessert. The last dinner was prepared and services at their tent camp.

We were given royal treatment and enjoyed every minute of it.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K_K_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2009

We took our first trip to South Africa for our anniversary and wanted to see all of the wonderful animals. Fortunately, we spent our first two nights at Jackalberry Lodge in Thornybush Preserve and saw the Big Five and more. When we transferred to Royal Legend, we were stunned by the difference. Although the room was larger, the phones didn't work and apparently had been out ( in some of the rooms) for weeks. Our safe was also missing. The literature given to us at check-in stated that we had to call the office to be escorted from our room at night, so without a phone, we felt trapped. Our room was a good distance from the main office, so we also didn't want to use the safe there. At Jackalberry, everything was perfectly maintained. Not here.
We went on our first game drive that evening and our jeep got a flat tire. Then, it kept stalling and we were all concerned that we wouldn't get back to the lodge.
Our ranger had no communication with other rangers (which they did at Jackalberry) and seemed to drive around aimlessly looking for game. On the four drives at this lodge,
we spent many hours looking at nothing but impala. On our thrid game drive, we were jammed into a jeep with new guests and had to listen to the same stories all over again.
In summary- if you want to see the Big Five, avoid this lodge and perhaps Timbavati.
The management of this lodge does not compare to some of the other safari lodges and if you are making a once-in-a-lifetime trip, do yourself a favor and make sure that there are favorable ranger reports so that you see all of the wonderful animals. Jackalberry Lodge at Thornybush is in a totally different class and If we go back to South Africa, we will go back to Jackberry Lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dhs13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

This hotel gave you the sense of being in the wilderness but with extreme luxury. the rooms were wonderful and the staff extremely helpful. the open area of the hotel allowed animals to roam freely ( which at night was disconcerting but the staff handles it perfectly). We traveled with two adults and two teenage children. It would have been better if they had two bedroom cabins but they made a point to ensure our family felt safe. it was very clean and the food great. the guides really went out of there way and it seemed that they were as excited to look for the game as much as we were. A wonderful stay.

we also stayed at the Kampa main lodge and would recommend this lodge ove the other one ( which was good but did not have the same feel or friendleness)

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jonToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2008

I can't say enough great things about the Royal legand and the staff I encountered during my stay. The huts were beautiful, clean and large. I visited with my aunt but it would make a romantic getaway for a couple. There were a few ants but ample ant spray and you are in the african bush, after all. The lodge staff was friendly attentive and guenuine. Winnie, Queen and Cindy head up the front and will accommadate your every need with a warm smile and friendly word. If you need a good laugh Herman is your man or a friendly ear Anike is as sweet as they come. The food prepared by Max and Loudrick was amazing. They serve a lot of traditonal cuisine which I loved. They also had a varied menu and were able to accomodate many palates, vegatarians included.

Our Guide David and tracker Kenneth were 5 star all the way!! They had superhuman vision and were able to spot the most distant movement in the bush.They were funny, friendly and made every drive exciting. We saw all the big 5 except the leopard. A few highlights were being surrounded by a heard of 600-1000 water buffalo, watching a pride of lions converge on an impalla and a meet up with a family of stampeeding White Rhino! They really went to great lengths to allow us to see as many animals as possible and were very knowledgeable about the bush vegitation and wildlife making it extremly educational as well.

The open lodge made animal viewing possible from the lodge or your own hut which meant having a camera in hand at all times a must!

The only suggestion I would make is to maybe add a treadmill or a few other pieces of cardio equimpent to the fitness facility. The lodge is not fenced in so there is not opportunity for exercise outside and although I enjoyed the R&R it would have been nice to burn off some of the fabulous meals.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nolene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2008

I have stayed at many game lodges in East Africa but the accomidations here blew them all away. I loved the smaller feel of this lodge which would be perfect for a romantic or family getaway. They even have a small spa!! Please note even though your food is included in the package drinks are not and they don't tell you that. So you will pay for every glass of wine or special juice you order even though they are not expensive. See my pics it was truly a fabulous experience at teh Royal Legend.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank girlygirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2008

We loved this lodge! The staff were friendly and fun. We were exposed to various animals, up close and personal! The food was excellent as was the service. The lodge itself was very romantic and comfortable. Our guide and "the tracker" were so helpful and informative. The "tracker" could spot animals from far away and had an even sharper eagle eye at night.

We met so many other guests at the lodge and all were so kind and friendly. We were treated to an outdoor dinner one night where the staff performed their tribal dance and served wonderful african dishes.

This is the place to go if you want comfort, adventure and all of the niceties of home but in the bush of Africa!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TriptoAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2008

We and some others in the lodge were upgraded here from the Jackalberry Lodge because it was overbooked (seems to happen a lot). We met some others who had stayed part of the time at the Jackalberry and part of the time at the Royal Legend. They said the rooms at the Royal Legend were much nicer but that they saw a lot more animals at the Jackalberry because Thornybush, where Jackalberry is located, is a fenced in reserve.

As the other reviews have stated, the rooms here are amazing. The beds are huge and very comfortable. The rooms and especially the bathrooms are VERY large. We saw a couple of ants in the bathtub, but you're in the middle of the bush, so what do you expect? Our friends had more ants in their bathroom, though.

The food was very good and had a lot of variety. We were treated to the outdoor dinner in the boma on our last night, with the staff performing some traditional songs and dances after the meal.

The safari drives were also very good, and we had a chance to see 4 of the Big Five (no leopards). The tracker and ranger did their best to make sure you were able to see as many animals as possible.

The watering hole and outdoor pool next to the dining area was also a great place to view wildlife. There we saw vervet monkeys, elephants, warthogs, giraffes, zebras, and impala, all from the safety and comfort of the dining area deck. We also saw monkeys and waterbok from our room.

I would caution people not to leave any food out in their rooms, though. We had heard stories of baboons and monkeys going into rooms when people left their doors or windows ajar so we made sure ours were always closed. However, one night we heard a paper bag rustling in our room at night and in the morning saw that something had taken a bit out of a piece of (wrapped) candy we had on our counter.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank atlanta14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Timbavati Private Nature Reserve hotels
0 mi away
Motswari Private Game Reserve
Motswari Private Game Reserve
#4 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
720 reviews
0 mi away
Umlani Bushcamp
Umlani Bushcamp
#5 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
458 reviews
0 mi away
Simbavati River Lodge
Simbavati River Lodge
#8 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Kings Camp
Kings Camp
#3 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
377 reviews
0 mi away
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
Tanda Tula Safari Camp
#2 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
450 reviews
0 mi away
Kambaku River Sands
Kambaku River Sands
#1 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Legend Safari Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Legend Safari Lodge & Spa

Address: Argyle Road Past HDS Airport, Kruger National Park 6191, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Price Range: £487 - £885 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Legend Safari Lodge & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Legend Safari Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Legend Safari Hotel Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
Royal Legend Safari Lodge And Spa
Royal Legend Safari Lodge & Spa South Africa/Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing