We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply superb!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

This was our first trip to Shamwari and our first safari, and everything far surpassed our expectations. We stayed at Eagles Crag, which is in a superbly laid out setting within what nature designed, offers peace and tranquillity, but still with a family of monkeys right at the front door! Food was great, service was great and the people were great. The individual lodges are luxury itself, and there's absolutely nothing lacking.

But of course we were there for the game drives, and were simply blown away. From the very first drive when our ranger Jan used his skills to seek out a leopard, and having sat patiently for about 10 minutes it calmly walked out of the undergrowth towards us! As one of our party said 'magical, simply magical'. I could fill 10 reviews with the all the fantastic experiences we had on the game drives, and all the fabulous spread of animals, birds and flora we came across, and having someone like Jan at the helm meant that we were never left in ignorance about anything, and there was always a new surprise around the corner.

A truly memorable experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philmitchell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    942
    72
    21
    8
    2
See reviews for
215
643
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

This was our 2nd trip to Long Lee Manor and just as good as the first. The service is outstanding and all the staff seem committed to making sure your time here is the best. We were fortunate to get Phillip as our ranger again this time. He is both very knowledgeable and entertaining. We had 4 game drives, seeing the lions 3 times (including the alpha male once), cheetahs, a buffalo stampede, a hippo grazing, rhinos, elephants, giraffes, zebras, etc etc - everything except the leopard which we were fortunate to see on our last visit. One of our "gang" was very interested in birds and we thought Phillip was particularly knowledgeable here and should be requested (in advance) if you are a "birdie". The food was very plentiful and excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzieNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Awesome experience, fabulous staff, accommodations and fantastic hospitality , Our safari guide Nadine was so wonderful, she answered all our questions. She was so knowledgeable and gave us a first class service.

Room Tip: No bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Fabulous food, and beautiful restaurant experience, fantastic hospitality and luxurious safari drives. Hugely memorable with fab animal sightings - if anything our room, whilst impeccably fitted out, lacked a bit of African personality - but having been on safari alot, maybe that's just me. Fantastic for first time safari's where luxury is unlimited.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank DiscerningLadyCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We've just enjoyed 3 days at Bayethe Lodge, the tented accommodation was fun and very comfortable and the lodge has great views. Richard our ranger was a charming mine of information and experience, we were able to spend time enjoying the wildlife and birds at leisure , not just rushing around ticking off species. Shamwari is a huge area so you can see all the animals in spectacular countryside without lots of other vehicles close by. Lots of memories to take home, mature male lions playing, bull elephants greeting each other with obvious affection, majestic eland and oryx and watching a hippo cavorting as a puff adder swam past an eagle flew over and we drank a gin and tonic, that's about as good as it gets, thank you very much.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Just returned from a visit of three days at Long Lee Manor. Managed to see the Big Five and more during our game drives. The suite was excellent. The service of all the staff was
enthusiastic. The food was very good as well and plentiful.
Our guide, Julius, was knowledgeable and professional and an excellent driver, despite the
sometimes tricky conditions on muddy tracks.
This is a holiday we shall remember for many years to come.
We also enjoyed a visit to the "Born Free" foundation to see the big cats rescued from what would otherwise be a very unhappy existance.

Room Tip: We had the suite on the lower level, with the grass roof, so we had an uninterrupted view of the pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babyboomer1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

The whole experience at Long lee Manor was great, coudn't imagine any better. We spent three days with our 19 and 14 year old boys. All the staff was so helpful and kind, our ranger, Abel, was the best!!!! We got to see all big five and more, was really amazing. The food is great also and everyone is there to ensure you a great experience.

Room Tip: We had the only two rooms in the main house and they were AWESOME, try to get those!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shamwari Game Reserve
14.0 mi away
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
Kichaka Luxury Game Lodge
#1 of 4 in Grahamstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
28.6 mi away
Pumba Private Game Reserve
Pumba Private Game Reserve
#1 of 26 in Grahamstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
River Bend Lodge
River Bend Lodge
#3 of 12 in Addo Elephant National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
10.6 mi away
Lalibela Game Reserve
Lalibela Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Driekoppen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hlosi Game Lodge
Hlosi Game Lodge
#4 of 7 in Amakhala Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges

Property: Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges
Address: N2 between Port Elizabeth & Grahamstown, Shamwari Game Reserve 6000, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Shamwari Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Shamwari Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A mere 75 km from Port Elizabeth towards Grahamstown, Eastern Cape, South Africa. Shamwari is the crown jewel of private game reserves situated in the malaria free Eastern Cape, the birth place of Nelson Mandela. This privately owned 25 000 hectares of prime natural terrain has received numerous international awards. Shamwari is an exploration of nature with close encounters of free roaming wildlife and the coveted big five with a choice of unique lodges, an exclusive private villa and the adventurous Explorer Camp. Luxury accommodation is offered in 7 different game lodges on Shamwari Game Reserve, all of which are 5 Star graded. Choose a game lodge that perfectly compliments your ideal African experience. EAGLES CRAG LODGE - Exclusivity, privacy and serenity for the most discerning of travelersBAYETHE TENTED LODGE - The ultimate in luxury tented accommodationSARILI LODGE - A colonial and bush experience. Perfect for families or small partiesLONG LEE MANOR - Refined elegance from a bygone era. RIVERDENE FAMILY LODGE - Colonial Africa in an elegantly restored CHILD FRIENDLY frontier home. VILLA LOBENGULA - Villa Lobengula is a beautiful and tranquil space tucked away in the depths of the valley bushveld. Booked on an exclusive use basis only. EXPLORER CAMP - Camping & walking experience among the Big 5 on the magnificent Shamwari Game Reserve ON SAFARI - Game drives can last up to 3 hours each and are conducted twice a day in open vehicles / Guided walks / Star gazing RELAX - Various treatments can be enjoyed at our Relaxation Retreats which are situated at Eagles Crag, Lobengula Lodge, Bayethe Lodge and Long Lee Manor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Holiday Gems so you can book your Shamwari Game Reserve Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamwari Game Reserve Hotel Shamwari Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing