We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing room with a view!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garonga Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing room with a view!!”
Reviewed 14 January 2010

The best holiday ever!!! What more can I say other than Excellent!!
After a very delayed flight from a snowy UK, we were greeted by the 'G Team' and the past 2 days were forgotten about from that point on. The place is great, the food and drinks are wonderful and staff will do anything for you.
They arranged the best wedding anyone could want. It was private and romantic and the perfect day. Christmas Day was full of gaming and a Christmas dinner that would have done my mother proud and that is saying something.
Ok, so now about the place. The tents are great, the views are breath taking and well when can I go back. If big time gaming is what you want or you want to see the top 5 in one hour then it may not be the place for you.The trackers and rangers were brilliant, we got atleast 5 metres away from every animal, except those bloody leopards - next time!
This place is amazing and is a must!!! - Thank you to the whole G Team

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelseeker2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    15
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
267
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2010

We couldn't have had a better time. The place is lovely, the food remarkably good and the natural biodiversity of the place is impressive. We saw lions, cheetah, rhinos, elephants. hippos, etc, etc, etc. The best part about the place was the quality of the guides. Jaffeta, who has been with Garonga since it opened, is one of only 20 people in South Africa with his level of qualifications. His encyclopedic knowledge on everything from whether we were looking at a female or a male leopard footprints to how many vertebrae are in a giraff's neck was what made the trip for us. He brought the place to life, whether by tracking lions on foot (I couldn't see tracks but he could) or describing how the various animals co-exist, it was his guiding that made the whole trip one of those truly memorable experiences.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RobertoIncognito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2009

From the moment we arrive (tired after wedding and overnight flight) Garonga was amazing. The welcome was warm and the service outstanding from start to finish. The rooms are very luxurious despite the cold at night. ON our game drives we saw everything we'd hoped for, including a leopard with fresh kill and cubs. The food was great and the drinks flowed. Bernie is an excellent host, and the trackers, guides and other staff are very friendly and helpful.
We can't praise this place highly enough, it was a brilliant 5 days start to our honeymoon.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pingflux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2009

Mary and I had a fabulous time at Garonga, staying for four nights. Nothing seemed too much for the staff. The atmosphere was very relaxed but at the same time you just knew that there was a very efficient process behind the scenes. Food was good and we enjoyed the variety of dinner settings - romantic tables for two one night, lovely large round table for the whole group another etc. Good quality drinks are all inclusive and served generously – we genuinely never felt we wanted for anything.

The "tents" are very nice indeed, even if the frogs were a little noisy - you do have to remember you are in the real bush - this is not Disneyland! In fact when sun falls you do have to be escorted to and from your tent – of course this luxury accommodation is not a tent but a beautifully designed impression of a tent – it does have a real canvas roof, which you realise when the monkeys play on it in the morning – absolutely fantastic – you really do feel part of the bush.

As far as the game drives were concerned, we saw everything we wanted to, apart from the illusive leopard - although the excellent guides tried very, very hard. The game drives were excellent and we especially enjoyed the nice touch with a stop and some drinks and nibbles. Mary particularly loved the hippos and warthogs, whilst I came within touch distance of an elephant.

We both had massages, which we both enjoyed and we felt that they were very good value for money.

Overall then, a fantastic experience and a perfect way to start a holiday in South Africa. Thanks to Bernie and Zele and all the staff who looked after us so well.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMSteve2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2009

We stayed for 5, sometimes very cold, nights in the middle of November. We had looked forward to visiting Garonga since we had booked in March and were delighted to read the continued high TA assessments given by visitor after visitor. But I for one harboured a secret doubt in my mind "could it really be that good?" Well the answer is a resounding YES. From the moment of our arrival until the last lingering farewell we were made to feel very special (despite the cold weather). A few days before travelling I had learned that Bernie, the owner, would not be in camp throughout our visit but in an email he assured us that the new manageress - Zele - would look after us. What an understatement! Zele was truly fantastic and she contributed immensely to our stay. Indeed, all the staff were amazing and the whole G Team played their part in making this a unique experience.

As various others have written the location, the accommodation, the ambience, the food, the wines (thanks Zele for the constant supply of house white!), and the service are all second to none. What was more surprising was that the game viewing was so good and special thanks to Japhet and Brian for their uncanny ability to search out the animals. I shall never forget our first drive when we found a lioness and her four cubs, or our last when we watched in amazement for 45 minutes whilst a cheetah ate a female impala whilst warily seeing off a predatory jackal. In between we saw elephant, rhino, and hippo as well as numerous giraffe, zebra, wildebeest, kudu, impala, baboons, grey duiker etc etc. My wife will never forget being parked between two bull elephants who took an interest in our jeep (and her in particular) at the same time; thanks again Japhet for the escape!

In conclusion, Garonga is a very special place indeed.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davethewasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2009

The second part of our Honeymoon, the first being a stay at Table Bay Hotel, Cape Town, (Check my other reviews).
The first time we'd ever been on safari and Garonga was recommended as part of a package from southafricandreamholidays.com.
We arrived by charter plane and were met by our tracker Elvis, who would remain our guides for the duration of the stay.
Arriving at the camp we were greeted by the Owner, Bernie who had cool face towels ready for us and freshly squeezed Lemonade - very welcome! We were then shown to our 'tent' which is more of a walled structure with a tented roof, absolutely fantastic. A Huge four poster bed, open air shower if we wanted it to cool down and en suite. The view from the front of the tent looked out onto a dry riverbed where we could relax and watch the animals coming down to drink at the waterhole - brilliant.
There are 2 game drives a day, 1 starting at 6am after a cup of tea, then 1 at 4pm. Your guide stays with you for the duration of the stay so he keeps track of what animals you have / haven't seen. You also have another tracker who looks out for tracks etc and keeps track on what you've seen too.
The guys were brilliant, we saw everything from a pride of Lions to elephants right up to the jeep. They were so knowledgable, being able to see the smallest animal in a tree and stopping so we could take photos.
I could type for hours and hours as to how good it was but I'll try to sum it up briefly.
The food was amazing, absolutely amazing.
The rooms were huge with a priceless view.
The other options available during the day (after the drive had finished) were fantastic, from a picnic in a tree to a massage and a bush bath!
The staff were possibly the friendliest people I've ever met.
We saw animals that we could only dream of seeing due to the knowledge and expertise of the trackers.
I cannot recommend Garonga enough, take a look at their website http://www.garonga.com

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lukebroadbent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2009

We were lucky enough to stay at Garonga and Little Garango due to an upgrade due to travel agent error. The team at Garango were fantastic, the tented room had a wonderful view over the watering hole. The food was great and the lady (apologies I forget her name but she had just started as manager) was so helpful and pleasant. A great stay. After 2 nights we moved to Little Garonga and had the Hambelden suite. The room was amazing and we fell privleged to have to stayed in a such a lovely place. The main waiter Affrick was a like a gentle giant, a wonderful man who you felt just enjoyed doing his job. Everything was done with joy and he made it a perfect stay. CJ, Julius and Oboe were absolutely brilliant with the safari and we saw everything. Stalking Rhino will live long in the memory but the best bit was when CJ's or Julius's Bar opened at sunset in the bush. We thank the staff for a wonderful experience and wish you all the best. It made a wonderful honeymoon and I salute you for you great hospality. Finally the massages were wonderful and we left very relaxed. Graham and Julie.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrahamandJulieessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Makalali Private Game Reserve
13.4 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
257 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hippo Pools Resort
Hippo Pools Resort
#3 of 3 in Hoedspruit
42 reviews
12.7 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#2 of 20 in Balule Nature Reserve
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Makalali Private Game Lodge
Makalali Private Game Lodge
#14 of 103 in Hoedspruit
321 reviews
10.0 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#1 of 20 in Balule Nature Reserve
1,044 reviews
9.7 mi away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#7 of 103 in Hoedspruit
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garonga Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garonga Safari Camp

Property: Garonga Safari Camp
Address: Selati Portion 12, KT 143, Phalaborwa, 1390, Makalali Private Game Reserve 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Makalali Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Makalali Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Garonga Safari Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, South African Hotels, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Garonga Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garonga Safari Camp Hotel Makalali Private Game Reserve
Garonga Safari Camp South Africa/Makalali Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing