We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dismal service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Legend Golf and Safari Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“Dismal service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Went there on a business weekend away and while the setting was stunning I was sorely disappointed with the utter lack of service and poor attitude which accompanied it. At least the main events (dinner at the boma / other function venue) went well but the finer points relating to service were dismal. The check in went smoothly but we struggled to find the reception which was tucked away in a corner and there was not a soul in sight to ask. Our room was half ready when we arrived (checked in around 16h00) We fetched our own water which was left on the balcony outside the room. I arranged a shuttle to pick me up to take me to the "spa", which arrived 10 minutes late and hooted at me when he arrived to pick me up. When I arrived at the "spa", once again, there was not a soul in sight to welcome me. I made myself a cup of tea and sat at the haphazardly arranged table and chairs on the deck for 30 minutes before someone appeared from the treatment rooms. At no time was I offered anything to drink and no water was made available. When I asked if a shuttle could pick me up I was met with a blank stare and was told to use my cellphone to make the call as they don't have a phone and didn't know who to call. For the price they charge it is daylight robbery. On the same day my husband was informed that he should collect his own balls off the driving range if he wanted to make use of it (this was around 11am). Colleagues requested irons and were given the run around for up to 3 hours before finally going to fetch it themselves at reception. Not a place I would recommend or want to return to.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LACY933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, Client Liaison at Legend Golf and Safari Resort, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear LACY933,

We were dismayed to receive your review regarding your visit to our Resort. We strive to create a Legendary experience for all our guests, and apologise that this was not the case for you. We welcome constructive comments as we believe they can only assist us in bettering our service delivery and can assure you that all your points have been addressed with the onsite Management team and an action plan put in place to ensure this does not happen in future. Should you wish to address this in more detail, please contact us via feedback@legendlodges.co.za.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    70
    34
    22
    21
See reviews for
35
67
9
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sharjah
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Amazed by the luxury set up far away from Joburg, aprox. 250kms. This is a completely different world compared to what you see enroute this resort. Rooms are located far away and hence very special in the woods. Zeebras and Impala wander everywhere, manytimes you see infront of your room. A early morning stroll is recommended to view colorful sky. Best place for star watching, you an see single every star up there due to crystal clear sky.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gopikrishnan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

The scenery at this resort is breathtaking - 22,000 ha. We stayed at the Kingfisher Lodge on the upper escarpment which has 8 rooms and the decor was stunning and the view from our room was beautiful. We returned from our game drive to be served breakfast in an intimate environment in front of a roaring fire. The staff were very attentive. Each meal we had was excellent. The ranger was very knowledgeable and we saw elephant, lion, rhino, zebra, crocodile and more... We visited every lodge at this resort with each one being unique and its own pool. We also stayed at the Wildside Camp - 20 tented chalets - very comfortable. The whole experience was magical and unforgettable. It was a true African bush experience for us. From Jhb it was only 2.5 hrs. Well worth a visit from overseas. Also malaria free and it didn't feel overcrowded at all. Next time we want to stay at Hanglip Lodge as the views across the wetlands and plains were to die for. The decor is very tasteful in each lodge. Spectacular golf resort. The imminent club house facilities will be superb. A golfer's paradise. Rates include 2 game drives, dbb, lunch and unlimited tea and coffee. We have been on safari before and nothing compares to this. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Arrived witrh friends for two nights - the welcome at reception was ok but for the prices beiung charged we should have been shown to our rooms, Instead we were given a map but with poor signage ended up trying our keys at various doors to find the right rooms.
Diner was ok - breakfast in the tent was poor for thr price but we were able to arrange in-room dinning one night which was superb.
The big disappointment was the golf course. The setting is good but the condition of the course was terrible. The greens poor and cover with animal hoof prints filled in with sand. The bunkers had not been raked for ages and were like concrete. The grass on the fairways was like mowed down rough just patchy old tough grass. We have played 7 courses in SA on this trip and this was by far the worst where as the room charges were the highest.No map was provided of the course and the signage between holes was poor. The clubhouse is currently a tent. I would not recommend anybody going here to play golf.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jez07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, Client Liaison at Legend Golf and Safari Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Jez07,

We have received your review and are disheartened to read that your trip was not the Legendary experience you had hoped for, nor the one we strive to create. We apologise for this. Despite our best attempts to keep the bunkers in line with the rest of our course, the high volumes of rain we have been experiencing have wreaked havoc and we are in the process of doing bunker repairs. Bearing in mind that we have 2.5 hectares of bunkers (a normal course has about a 3rd of that) this is also a timeous job. However, we are remaining positive as the rainy season will be over in April. We are also in process with a map of the course which will form part of the Strokesaver we are producing. This will coincide with the opening of our new Clubhouse, which is set to open in SA Winter 2014. Not only will this add an entire new dimension to our property, with 5 venues, a new pro shop and a members lounge, the Clubhouse will be the finishing touch to our world-renowned course.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely entrance, friendly welcome from gate and reception, directions to room given. Once we found the room it seemed ok but on further inspection the bathroom wasn't that clean. The shower walls were mouldy, the toilet floor was grubby. We didn't have a view. I believe if you're a golfer then Legends is a great place to stay. We attended a function in the evening which was held in a rigid marquee, as was another function place - possibly the clubhouse, not really sure. Food was nothing to get excited about either, we arrived in time for the 'build a burger' buffet - not the best quality burgers. Breakfast wasn't that interesting. We only stayed one night, it was a long drive for one night only but to be honest I don't think I would want to stay longer.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, Client Liaison at Legend Golf and Safari Resort, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Good Day Jackie W,

Thank you for your valuable input. Legend’s main focus is for our guests to have a legendary experience and therefore we have brought the points raised under the attention of our Executive Housekeeper and Group Chef to improve on. We do offer a number of non-golfing activities as well and are disheartened to read that these were not communicated to you. However, we are excited for our new Clubhouse which opens later this year! Not only will it house new restaurants and social areas, but it will also become the central point for all activity offerings and bookings – which we believe will ensure that guests such as yourself are aware and can enjoy the various activities we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Starting with the entrance that is fashioned after the Great Zimbabwe, this resort is a must visit. It's sprawling 18 hole golf course, extensive game ranch and well appointed guest rooms make for an absolutely fantastic holiday destination.

I will certainly be visiting again!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ketso I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
247 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

We visited as a group from work. The resort is made up of a series of very modern bungalows spread across quite a large areas. Some bungalows are split into 2-3 units, others are villas for families. The rooms are very well finished with hi end fittings, though the furniture is a bit sparse. Because the units are so spread out, either you need a car or you use the shuttle services that criss cross the resort. As part of the same complex there are two golf courses, a 22,000 hectare game park and a wildlife care center. The park used to be a tobacco farm. When I visited they had 3 lions, a dozen elephants, rhino,... plus the usual giraffe, Zebra, warthogs etc. They let the mild animals room around the resort, so you can wake up with a Zebra staring in at you (you can also wake up with a baboon jumping up and down on your roof). The golf course has a 19th hole on the top of a mountain that you access by helicopter. It's a par 3 with a 400M drop and a $1M prize for the first person to score a hole in one.
The resort is set in a beautiful location. For any one looking for a game reserve vacation, this is definitely one of the higher end locations.

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a family try and book one of the villas. Otherwise the units nearest the ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Entabeni Game Reserve
19.0 mi away
The Park Hotel, Mokopane
The Park Hotel, Mokopane
#1 of 5 in Mokopane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
#3 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
17.2 mi away
Witwater Safari Lodge & Spa
Witwater Safari Lodge & Spa
#1 of 16 in Mookgophong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Thandeka Lodge and Spa
Thandeka Lodge and Spa
#28 of 64 in Waterberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ranger Camp
Ranger Camp
#6 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterberg Cottages
Waterberg Cottages
#28 of 37 in Vaalwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legend Golf and Safari Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legend Golf and Safari Resort

Property: Legend Golf and Safari Resort
Address: Sterkrivier Rd to Haakdoring Rd, Entabeni Game Reserve 1685, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Entabeni Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Entabeni Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Legend Golf and Safari Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legend Golf and Safari Resort is situated within the Entabeni Safari Conservancy in the malaria-free Waterberg Region of the Limpopo Province of South Africa, just a 35 minute flight or a two and a half hour drive from Johannesburg. This new resort is setting new standards in exclusivity and tranquility and reflects the rich cultural legacy of this ancient part of Africa. The Legend Golf & Safari Resort consists of an exceptional and unique 18-hole Signature Course, a luxury estate and many other facilities, situated on a Big 5 Game Reserve in the heart of the African bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Legend Golf and Safari Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legend Golf And Safari Hotel Mokopane
Legend Golf And Safari Resort South Africa/Entabeni Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing