We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Scenery”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
Reviewed 31 March 2014

As part of a tour we stayed two nights and went on four game drives. We did not see all of the Big 5 but still had a good time. Food was just ok; service was slightly better. Being without our own transportation made it difficult to get around. Game rangers, however, did their best to shuttle us around whenever and wherever we wanted to go. Checkout was a little chaotic - some had erroneous charges on their bills while others had charges missing. The scenery was especially beautiful at night making our visit worthwhile.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the restaurant if you do not have your own transportation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shakacruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

I got back from legend resort today and I must admit iwas impressed by the property and management .first of all its alarge property with beautiful views and clean and large rooms the wild is at your doorstep zebras and impalas are in the area .although we were not able to see all the big five but we saw 3 .down side is food and the distance between rooms and public areas . You need transporters to go to breakfast , lunch or dinner .the activities for non golfers during the day is bicycle rides and scooter driving .you can also go to the cultural center for archery and paintball. In one word I loved it

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babak0100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Beautiful resort! Views are unforgettable! Rooms are clean and beautiful, transport is efficient. plated food was great, buffet food was ok. friendly and helpful staff - they all have a great service minded attitude! Pity about all the rain as it caused power issues the whole week which made conferecing a challenge. We had two issues of theft / stolen money during our stay and hope that these issues have been delt with. Big thank you to Johann and Emma and others in the events department for your assistance in all the planning and running around and to Julia in the reservations department for putting up with so many changes and questions and the rest of the Legends team for helping make our conference successful despite the various challenges. Thank you to the game rangers for great game drives, special thank you to Bianca and Jacob, we really enjoyed your games drives! thank you to the kitchen staff and waiters for the birthday song they sang on the 2nd of March 2014. It was very much appreciated! I look forward to another visit in the near future!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the mountain close to the Golf Course - Sofala Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morrison740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, Client Liaison at Legend Golf and Safari Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Morrison740,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort. We are encouraged to read that your overall stay was the Legendary experience we strive to create! The inclement weather has unfortunately not played in our favour at all, however it appears this did not dampen your time with us. We can confirm that the issues mentioned are being addressed. We do hope to welcome you back in the not-too-distant future for another Legendary visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Went there on a business weekend away and while the setting was stunning I was sorely disappointed with the utter lack of service and poor attitude which accompanied it. At least the main events (dinner at the boma / other function venue) went well but the finer points relating to service were dismal. The check in went smoothly but we struggled to find the reception which was tucked away in a corner and there was not a soul in sight to ask. Our room was half ready when we arrived (checked in around 16h00) We fetched our own water which was left on the balcony outside the room. I arranged a shuttle to pick me up to take me to the "spa", which arrived 10 minutes late and hooted at me when he arrived to pick me up. When I arrived at the "spa", once again, there was not a soul in sight to welcome me. I made myself a cup of tea and sat at the haphazardly arranged table and chairs on the deck for 30 minutes before someone appeared from the treatment rooms. At no time was I offered anything to drink and no water was made available. When I asked if a shuttle could pick me up I was met with a blank stare and was told to use my cellphone to make the call as they don't have a phone and didn't know who to call. For the price they charge it is daylight robbery. On the same day my husband was informed that he should collect his own balls off the driving range if he wanted to make use of it (this was around 11am). Colleagues requested irons and were given the run around for up to 3 hours before finally going to fetch it themselves at reception. Not a place I would recommend or want to return to.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LACY933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, Client Liaison at Legend Golf and Safari Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear LACY933,

We were dismayed to receive your review regarding your visit to our Resort. We strive to create a Legendary experience for all our guests, and apologise that this was not the case for you. We welcome constructive comments as we believe they can only assist us in bettering our service delivery and can assure you that all your points have been addressed with the onsite Management team and an action plan put in place to ensure this does not happen in future. Should you wish to address this in more detail, please contact us via feedback@legendlodges.co.za.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Amazed by the luxury set up far away from Joburg, aprox. 250kms. This is a completely different world compared to what you see enroute this resort. Rooms are located far away and hence very special in the woods. Zeebras and Impala wander everywhere, manytimes you see infront of your room. A early morning stroll is recommended to view colorful sky. Best place for star watching, you an see single every star up there due to crystal clear sky.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gopikrishnan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

The scenery at this resort is breathtaking - 22,000 ha. We stayed at the Kingfisher Lodge on the upper escarpment which has 8 rooms and the decor was stunning and the view from our room was beautiful. We returned from our game drive to be served breakfast in an intimate environment in front of a roaring fire. The staff were very attentive. Each meal we had was excellent. The ranger was very knowledgeable and we saw elephant, lion, rhino, zebra, crocodile and more... We visited every lodge at this resort with each one being unique and its own pool. We also stayed at the Wildside Camp - 20 tented chalets - very comfortable. The whole experience was magical and unforgettable. It was a true African bush experience for us. From Jhb it was only 2.5 hrs. Well worth a visit from overseas. Also malaria free and it didn't feel overcrowded at all. Next time we want to stay at Hanglip Lodge as the views across the wetlands and plains were to die for. The decor is very tasteful in each lodge. Spectacular golf resort. The imminent club house facilities will be superb. A golfer's paradise. Rates include 2 game drives, dbb, lunch and unlimited tea and coffee. We have been on safari before and nothing compares to this. We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Arrived witrh friends for two nights - the welcome at reception was ok but for the prices beiung charged we should have been shown to our rooms, Instead we were given a map but with poor signage ended up trying our keys at various doors to find the right rooms.
Diner was ok - breakfast in the tent was poor for thr price but we were able to arrange in-room dinning one night which was superb.
The big disappointment was the golf course. The setting is good but the condition of the course was terrible. The greens poor and cover with animal hoof prints filled in with sand. The bunkers had not been raked for ages and were like concrete. The grass on the fairways was like mowed down rough just patchy old tough grass. We have played 7 courses in SA on this trip and this was by far the worst where as the room charges were the highest.No map was provided of the course and the signage between holes was poor. The clubhouse is currently a tent. I would not recommend anybody going here to play golf.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jez07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, Client Liaison at Legend Golf and Safari Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Jez07,

We have received your review and are disheartened to read that your trip was not the Legendary experience you had hoped for, nor the one we strive to create. We apologise for this. Despite our best attempts to keep the bunkers in line with the rest of our course, the high volumes of rain we have been experiencing have wreaked havoc and we are in the process of doing bunker repairs. Bearing in mind that we have 2.5 hectares of bunkers (a normal course has about a 3rd of that) this is also a timeous job. However, we are remaining positive as the rainy season will be over in April. We are also in process with a map of the course which will form part of the Strokesaver we are producing. This will coincide with the opening of our new Clubhouse, which is set to open in SA Winter 2014. Not only will this add an entire new dimension to our property, with 5 venues, a new pro shop and a members lounge, the Clubhouse will be the finishing touch to our world-renowned course.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Entabeni Game Reserve
24 mi away
Euphoria Golf Estate & Hydro
Euphoria Golf Estate & Hydro
#2 of 3 in Modimolle (Nylstroom)
59 reviews
18.9 mi away
The Park Hotel, Mokopane
The Park Hotel, Mokopane
#1 of 5 in Mokopane
31 reviews
0 mi away
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
#3 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sea Star Golf and Safari at Legend
0 mi away
Matingwe Lodge
Matingwe Lodge
#6 of 40 in Vaalwater
24 reviews
17.2 mi away
Witwater Safari Lodge & Spa
Witwater Safari Lodge & Spa
#1 of 18 in Mookgophong
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legend Golf and Safari Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legend Golf and Safari Resort

Address: Sterkrivier Rd to Haakdoring Rd, Entabeni Game Reserve 1685, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Entabeni Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Entabeni Game Reserve
Price Range: £61 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Legend Golf and Safari Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Legend Golf and Safari Resort is situated within the Entabeni Safari Conservancy in the malaria-free Waterberg Region of the Limpopo Province of South Africa, just a 35 minute flight or a two and a half hour drive from Johannesburg. This new resort is setting new standards in exclusivity and tranquility and reflects the rich cultural legacy of this ancient part of Africa. The Legend Golf & Safari Resort consists of an exceptional and unique 18-hole Signature Course, a luxury estate and many other facilities, situated on a Big 5 Game Reserve in the heart of the African bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Legend Golf and Safari Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legend Golf And Safari Hotel Mokopane
Legend Golf And Safari Resort South Africa/Entabeni Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing