We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good safari's. Rooms and food ok.”
Review of Lakeside Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Entabeni Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lakeside Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Room was ok. Could be nicer and cleaner but it was ok. Nice view!
Safari's were absolutely great. Every time we went out, we had a new and stunning experience. Amazing!
The food was ok. Buffet in morning, for lunch and for dinner.
Food was good, nothing more, nothing less.
Staff was friendly but when we arrived a little bit chaotic.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KDkes V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

I have just returned from a week's holiday with a Saga group at Lakeside Lodge. Frankly, this was the holiday of a lifetime. Brilliant reserve with wonderful ethics and outstanding conservation practices, incredibly good guides, marvellous scenery and nice food. We saw fabulous animals very close and were well educated on bird and plant life as well. Our main Saga and safari guide was Aniska, a wonderful young lady with remarkable knowledge, a great work ethic and a huge sense of fun. She was excellently supported by Harry and Finneas, superb guides and really lovely people. The thatch-roofed accommodation was atmospheric if not totally luxurious and nights were especially interesting as the animals roam around outside the lodges and can be quite noisy! Meals were held in a variety of venues, restaurants, stockaded bomas and picnic sites which kept life interesting. Visits to various conservation sites emphasised how responsibly this organisation looks after and develops its flora and fauna. The Saga group was also a main attraction, a nice friendly and interesting collection of folk and there was a lot of laughter throughout the week. But overall the animals and the guides proved the main attraction and it would be very difficult indeed to find a better safari experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank spiderman87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We visited Lakeside Lodge earlier this month as part of a Saga group. An unforgettable experience, we saw a great range of wild life made all the more interesting due to the knowledge of the rangers, JP, Ross, and Phineas. The rangers obviously have a real concern for the animal life in the reserve. The accommodation was simple but clean with everything necessary for a holiday of this nature. We had a wonderful view of the lake and the escarpment from our verandah, it was a restful, quiet relief from the noise of life back home.

There was a good variety of food, which was plentiful, although the puddings were usually the same each day. The fact that the lodge itself is not fenced meant that we were visited by a some of the wildlife, usually antelopes, although three elephants paid a visit one night. The drives through the reserve made us feel a part of the African wildlife as we were able to come very close to most animals, notably lions, elephants and rhinos. Two of the many highlights were watching a six month old baby rhino jumping around like a young lamb, and on one evening getting very close to a lion with its kill.

The holiday was very good value for money and the game drives exceeded our expectations. The lodge staff were friendly and helpful and worked hard to make our holiday a memorable experience both at the lodge and at the picnic sites out in the bush. We would definately visit visit Lakeside Lodge again and recommend it to anyone looking for a safari holiday.

The small downside is the long drive from Johannesburg, almost four hours, rather longer than described in the brochure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I went with a Saga group. It is a very long drive from the airport to the lodge. Most of it was done by coach and then a transfer to the game vehicles as the coach could not drive along those bumpy tracks! My room was 53 and I could not complain about any thing about the room. The Rangers were good. Jan, JP and Ross. He was the Saga rep. The drives are quite long about 3 hours each time. The lions are down in the lower plains while the rinos are in the upper plains. One day during a drive to the lower plains some elephants came to our truck and people could touch them! There is a very steep bumpy gorge to go down to the lower plains. Worse coming back up. The lodge itself was OK and all the staff are friendly. Food in the restruant was fair but every day for afters there was a fruit salad made, mostly with apple and also a sponge pudding! Would I go back. I don't think so. Such a long flight then there is the drive to the lodge and the same on the way back.

Room Tip: We were just given rooms, No choice, though I think most rooms have a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dipsygreencat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

But did we care? No we didn't!
When we went in early September the swimming pool was shut due to a leak, the TV didn't work probably because it was ancient and none of the room safes worked for reasons nobody knew; but you don't go there for any of that and if it starts to get you down just look around you - this place is simply beautiful. Everywhere you look the vistas are glorious!
Our lodge (Number 52) had a certain "end of season" feel to it and it needs redecorating, specially the bathroom, but everything (except the safe) worked fine and the electric blankets were very welcome as the nights were pretty chilly. They also have an odd way of making up the beds with what seems like two single sheets placed across the bed so they move around a bit although that never stopped me sleeping.
The catering is first class whether at the lodge, at dinner in the BOMA's or at one of their picnic sites out in the bush (and they truly are in the bush - we had an ostrich wander through while we were at lunch). The food at all of them is excellent and varied and the drinks never stop flowing which can make getting up for the early morning safaris a little troublesome.
Which brings me to the rangers who are the stars of the show. Ryan and Evan made the game viewing memorable; they found almost everything out there - no leopard - and managed to get us close enough to most of it for some great photos. They are extremely knowledgeable, very caring of the animals, their environment and thankfully their passengers; and you learn many strange things along the way, like you can carry your fire with your when moving camp by putting an ember inside a ball of elephant dung! Although that's probably not much use in South London.
Would I go back? In a heartbeat! Sure it's a bit shabby round the edges but the location is stunning and the people there are lovely - I'd even put up with the less than comfortable drive to get there.

P.S. If you're a golfer Legends Golf Course and it's famous Extreme19th Hole isn't far away. The tee is way up the mountain and can only be reached by helicopter.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We have just returned from a visit to Lakeside Lodge as part of a Saga group. The holiday can be split in to two parts, the accommodation/transfers and the game drives/walks.
The drive to the reserve is longer than it says in the brochure, our transfer from Johannesburg airport took 4hrs 15mins, including a 15 min. break, and the last 75 minutes of this was down a very bumpy and dusty dirt track.
The accommodation location is absolutely stunning, right on the shore of a lake created by damming a river, on the far side of the lake is the Entabeni mountain, this provides a fantastic outlook from the lodges. The rooms are quite basic and are just about acceptable, however they are in need of updating, especially the bathrooms, which are looking very dated, and some suffer from cracked and broken tiles. The mattress on the bed was very comfortable, but the plethora of sheets and blankets did move around during the night. As has been noted in previous reviews the temperatures did drop quite dramatically once the sun went down, and the lack of heating in the bathroom and toilet was quite uncomfortable, also there are quite large gaps around the doors and as we had a couple of very windy days, the draughts were quite unpleasant. The standard of the housekeeping was a bit variable and seemed to depend on which maid serviced the room (replacing tea/coffee supplies and changing towels, or not).
The food was also a bit variable; the breakfasts were very nice, with a good selection of hot and cold food, including freshly cooked eggs, pancakes and omelettes. However the lunches and dinners were a bit ‘samey’, in that there was nearly always a stew of some type, a pasta dish and occasionally fish, there was always a sponge pudding, fresh fruit salad and a mousse type dish as well, we did have 2 picnic lunches and 3 al-fresco meals in the bomas which were amazingly presented.
However the main reason for going on this type of holiday is the wildlife and the game walks and drives and on this front we could not fault the holiday, our rangers/guides were Ross and Aniska, and their knowledge, enthusiasm and concern for the animals was beyond reproach, they also made our time with them a lot of fun. We were very lucky in that we saw a really wide range of animals, the only ones of note that we missed were leopards and hyenas. The highlight of the holiday however was seeing 2 cheetah brothers chasing down and killing an impala, an incredible experience. Other notable moments were close encounters with lions, rhinos (white and black), hippos, elephants, giraffe, zebra, ostrich and several species of antelope. A point to note is that the drives take place either early or late, and the temperature does drop dramatically and warm clothing, preferably including gloves and scarves is recommended in the winter months.
Another great pleasure was sitting on one of the decks or the veranda of our room, and looking over the lake, where we saw giraffe, elephants, fish eagles hippos and wildebeest, there were also vervet monkeys, impala and bushbuck wandering around the lodges, it sometimes felt quite unreal seeing these wild animals at relatively close quarters. As other reviews have noted the doors to the rooms do need to be locked as the monkeys are quite capable of opening doors and ransacking the rooms (as one member of our group discovered!)
Would we go back? Definitely, the negatives were more than outweighed by the fantastic experience we had seeing the beautiful animals and the tremendously spectacular and varied scenery.

Room Tip: All the rooms have excellent views of the lake, those in blocks 6 & 7 are perhaps better for wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Godiva2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We did two visits to Entabeni Lakeside Lodge as a day visitor since we were staying at another property in the area. Overall, it was a very mixed experience. The property is beautiful, and we enjoyed the wildlife. However, on our first visit, the property was extremely disorganized. What was and was not included as a day visitor was not explained at all. In addition, at lunch, it was not explained ahead of time that though lunch was included, drinks were not - ie after they asked if we wanted something to drink and brought out water, we were charged extra! I don't mind paying extra, but I like to know ahead of time. The food for lunch was also awful - ie cold chicken nuggets! We paid for our drinks at lunch, but then the charge was on our final bill and the price added to our final bill was higher than the charge we had at lunch. The front desk person also quoted prices for things in the morning which by the time we settled our bill in the afternoon had changed.to be higher amounts. Overall, this left a very bad taste as if they were being dishonest. We asked to speak to the manager, and he did fix the charges/handle the situation well, but it was frustrating that this was required.

As for the game drives, the first day we went, the morning game drive was cut significantly short due to an event going on. This was rather frustrating that we hadn't been warned ahead of time, but our guide Pete was great. On the second drive of the day, he did a fabulous job and stayed out extra time in order to head to an area where elephants were spotted. He also spent the entire ride back shining his light to try to find a leopard - no luck, but a very strong and appreciated effort. On the morning drive we saw rhinos, antelope, hippos, and one lioness in the distance. On the afternoon drive, we saw rhino, antelope, zebras, hippo, and the herd of elephants. We also enjoyed the boat ride on the lake.

The group we were traveling with was going back another afternoon, so we tagged along. This time the lodge paid for us in advance so we didn't have to deal with the front desk (much better!). However, they had been told that since we would almost fill the game vehicle, one of their guides could come for free. Instead, the guide at Entabeni (Bryan) decided to bring along his girlfriend and tried to tell us that she was a guest. Overall, the drive with him was nowhere near as good as the first drive either. He was much less professional, spent significant amounts of time hopping out of the vehicle and showing off for the girlfriend, and was not as good at finding wildlife. He spent about an hour "tracking a lion" with full fanfare, but one person in our group noticed the lion tracks were actually headed in the direction opposite to where we were going. Needless to say, we didn't find the lion - or much else on this afternoon. Worst of all, on the way back, he drove half the vehicle into a thick branch - hitting three of us in the face. He tried to claim that the branch got kicked up from the tire and didn't even want to stop. A few others made him stop after they realized that two of us were bleeding. I understand that accidents happen, but at least take responsibility and apologize. And really, this shouldn't happen. He had also recently gotten his vehicle stuck, so overall not a great driver. Thankfully everyone was ok, but I think we were all lucky that no one got hit in the eye.

Given our first guide tried so hard and was such a pleasure to deal with (deserved a 5), I decided to rate this a 3, but the second drive, customer service from the original front desk person, and food probably deserve a 1. Basically, if you are going to go - try to get Pete and avoid Bryan as your guide.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 124Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, Client Liaison & Branding Executive at Lakeside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Good Day 124Travel,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is with regret that we read of your very mixed experience at Lakeside Lodge. We thank you for the compliments in your review as well as the constructive comments. We pride ourselves on creating a Legendary experience for all our guests and believe all feedback received can only assist us in bettering our service delivery.
While we are disheartened that your trip was marred by the behaviour of one of our rangers, we can assure you that this is not the norm, nor how we wish to be remembered. Regarding the ranger in question; corrective disciplinary action has been taken as well as a general briefing with the ranger contingent on our property. We do believe this was an isolated incident which will not occur again.
The points about food and our front desk have also been taken up by our General Manager onsite and will be actioned accordingly.
We do trust that this experience will not deter you from visiting our wonderful Lodge in the future as we look forward to the opportunity to create a truly Legendary experience for you. Should you wish to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact us directly on reservations@legendlodges.co.za

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Entabeni Game Reserve
0.5 mi away
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
#3 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
69 reviews
6.9 mi away
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
#1 of 1 in Entabeni Game Reserve
295 reviews
0 mi away
Matingwe Lodge
Matingwe Lodge
#6 of 43 in Vaalwater
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Sea Star Golf and Safari at Legend
0 mi away
Ranger Camp
Ranger Camp
#6 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
22 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ravineside Lodge
Ravineside Lodge
#5 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Lodge

Address: Sterkrivier Rd | Upper Escarpment, Entabeni Game Reserve, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Entabeni Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Entabeni Game Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Lakeside Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Entabeni Game Reserve
Lakeside Lodge South Africa/Entabeni Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing