We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location and sightings” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakeside Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Entabeni Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lakeside Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and sightings”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We just returned from Entabeni a month ago. We stayed at the Lakeside. We were very pleased with the game drives as we got a chance to see the diverse reserve's offering. Our rangers were very enthusiastic and knowledgeable but our driver was a bit too enthusiastic when we got stuck in the mud near a rhino family of 3. We watched as he drove, and knew where we were heading would get us stuck. Our passengers and male passengers from another jeep pushed us out as another jeep kept an eye on the rhino family.

The food at the lodge was good and it was plentiful. We found the staff to be very nice and helpful as well. The lounge area is a bit small, but you can sit outside, just watch out for the the monkeys'
Who are good at stealing your food.

Our first room was large with a fireplace and during a heavy rainfall we had quite a leak so we moved to another room. This room was a bit smaller but both rooms were in need of refurbishing. We saw plaster that had fallen apart showing the inside of the roof in the bathroom. A couple of main lighting fixtures did not work, so that is no fun when you are stuck in a room during rain in which there is very little ventilation. Leaving the door or windows open is an invitation to the monkeys, who had destroyed the rubber sealing around the mini refrigerator. Perhaps due to bamboo and thatched roof, all the rooms had a distinct unpleasant odor. The carpets were well worn, so I do question this resort being a "4 star". We definitely did not expect luxury, and expected to "rough it" a bit, but the units need to be better maintained. We enjoyed our visit to the reserve otherwise.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the lake, and you can sometimes hear the hippos. Just watch out if it rains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Treann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, Client Liaison at Lakeside Lodge, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Good Day Treann,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Lodge. We thank you for your input, as we value constructive comments from our guests. We believe they can only assist us in bettering our service and can assure you that all the points raised have been brought under the attention of the Camp Manager and his team. Although we will ensure all the details that interfered with your stay are being rectified soonest, our annual maintenance will also be done in the next few months to improve the lodge in general.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    57
    17
    9
    7
See reviews for
49
99
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hout Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
244 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

This reserve has numerous lodges within it's borders . Lakeside is on the upper escarpment and reached by traveling along a dirt road . The lodge is billed as 4 star . The rooms are comfortable with great views over the lake and you may hear the hippos at nighttime . The public areas are also pleasant but overall you get a feeling that everything needs a refurb . The staff and the rangers make up for it with there enthusiasm and service and go out of there way to help . Food is average but there is lots of it . The rangers are excellent but when we where here it was very busy and in the space of four days we never saw any cats at all and when there where sitings they where full and we could not enter them . Overall this property is worth a visit but be very clear of what it is . It is not a luxury lodge like you may expect in Kruger Park and it can get very busy here .

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank JohnFinchPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

This was fantastic! The rangers Aniska and Finn were very knowledgeable and went out of their way to make the whole trip magical.There wasn't a day when we weren't amazed at what we saw. The trip down to the ravine was magical and hair raising, especially as on the way back, after tracking elephants, there they were within spitting distance. Stories from the bush were very funny too. One highlight was a picnic in the bush, on chairs and tables with silver service. The staff had dragged it all there! Another was swimming in a water hole, next to a water fall. The lodge staff were great and so was the food, but remember to take all you need as regards sun cream and medication as the shop is small and very limited, often even without change.Stamps are none existent so wait to post the cards on your way back home as post anyway only goes once a week, if that. Woken every morning by hippos in the lake yawning and monkeys on the roof at 5.30. Room 53 has a great view of them. Don't leave your door open or they will ransack your room and watch for them around the pool. A great holiday thanks to brilliant Rangers, staff and travelling companions.

Room Tip: Room 53 has a great view of the lake and the roof doesn't leak during storms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sueflint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Our stay at the Lakeside Lodge was wonderful! The game guide was incredible, we saw more animals on the game drives than at any other game lodge. The game guide was knowledgeable and accommodating and made sure we had a fantastic game viewing experience. The scenery is beautiful and well worth the three hour drive it took to get there from Johannesburg. The room was comfortable but the food was average. The staff however, were incredible, friendly and efficient and they really made our stay worthwhile.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a veranda, overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lee-Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

We had a wonderful time. We arrived from Jo'burg at 5 PM and they delayed the last safari long enough for us to get changed and on the truck e Our first trip out we saw SO many different animals rhinos, giraffe, zebra, ostrich, several different kinds of antelope and rhino!

I think we managed to see 4 of the big five at this venue (Unfortunately they don't have water buffalo) and many other animals that even the guides had not seen before (civet cat!) or rarely seen ( aardvark ) and we were able to get very close to the animals in the trucks. some of the best photos from this vacation were taken at this park.

The guides are very well informed and knowledgable about the wildlife and fauna, and the staff very helpful ( we had broken our charger and they had a solution) ; food was okay not great and not bad.


Definitely would recommend for families

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank canadian_at_large742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Room was ok. Could be nicer and cleaner but it was ok. Nice view!
Safari's were absolutely great. Every time we went out, we had a new and stunning experience. Amazing!
The food was ok. Buffet in morning, for lunch and for dinner.
Food was good, nothing more, nothing less.
Staff was friendly but when we arrived a little bit chaotic.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KDkes V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

I have just returned from a week's holiday with a Saga group at Lakeside Lodge. Frankly, this was the holiday of a lifetime. Brilliant reserve with wonderful ethics and outstanding conservation practices, incredibly good guides, marvellous scenery and nice food. We saw fabulous animals very close and were well educated on bird and plant life as well. Our main Saga and safari guide was Aniska, a wonderful young lady with remarkable knowledge, a great work ethic and a huge sense of fun. She was excellently supported by Harry and Finneas, superb guides and really lovely people. The thatch-roofed accommodation was atmospheric if not totally luxurious and nights were especially interesting as the animals roam around outside the lodges and can be quite noisy! Meals were held in a variety of venues, restaurants, stockaded bomas and picnic sites which kept life interesting. Visits to various conservation sites emphasised how responsibly this organisation looks after and develops its flora and fauna. The Saga group was also a main attraction, a nice friendly and interesting collection of folk and there was a lot of laughter throughout the week. But overall the animals and the guides proved the main attraction and it would be very difficult indeed to find a better safari experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank spiderman87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Entabeni Game Reserve
0.0 mi away
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
#3 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
6.9 mi away
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
#1 of 1 in Entabeni Game Reserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
10.6 mi away
Witwater Safari Lodge & Spa
Witwater Safari Lodge & Spa
#1 of 16 in Mookgophong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ranger Camp
Ranger Camp
#6 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thandeka Lodge and Spa
Thandeka Lodge and Spa
#28 of 64 in Waterberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
14.7 mi away
Olievenfontein Private Game Reserve
Olievenfontein Private Game Rese...
#1 of 1 in Behoudeniskloof
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Lodge

Property: Lakeside Lodge
Address: Sterkrivier Rd | Upper Escarpment, Entabeni Game Reserve, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Entabeni Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Entabeni Game Reserve
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Entabeni Game Reserve
Lakeside Lodge South Africa/Entabeni Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing