We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous reserve, accommodating and staff ”
Review of Ravineside Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ravineside Lodge
Level Contributor
222 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fabulous reserve, accommodating and staff ”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

This lovely game reserve was wonderful! We spent two nights at Entabeni and took two game drives. The staff are very helpful and friendly, giving us useful information about the animals and lodge.

The ravine side lodge has a fantastic view of the reserve. The lodge was clean and quiet. Sitting outside on the deck is a delight, reading for a bit and enjoying the view on the animals.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LeidsHertje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, Marketing & PR Executive at Ravineside Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear LeidsHertjie
Thank you for your review. It is always wonderful to read about our team delivering the Legendary service we strive to create.. We thank you for the compliments and have passed them on the Lodge Manager and his Team. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back soon for another memorable visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    29
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
19
39
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

The reserve itself was amazing. Great guides, beautiful land, animals in their wildlife, and nice staff. The main lodge was nice. Good food and of course a bar. The last night staff cooked outside and performed native and traditional son / dance. It was a surprise and truly made the stay memorable.

The sleeping lodges were the only downside. Poorly lit paths, to poorly lit rooms, brown water and small bathrooms. Perhaps just too close to nature for me. The views from the side mountain lodges were breathtaking and you could see every single star. Not knowing what was lurking at you was a bit unsettling, but hey, that's a safari, right!?!?!

I would recommend this place, just know it's not 5star.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Branchlikeatree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, Marketing & PR Executive at Ravineside Lodge, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Branchlikeatree,

Thank you for finding the time to post this review about your stay. We are most excited to heat that your overall stay was a Legendary one and greatly appreciate the recommendation. Thank you too for your feedback – we value constructive comments and have passed them on to the Camp Management. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This was such an experience. The views, game drives, and adventure were just alot of fun. The rangers and staff were a great pleasure to be around. Adding to it the food was exemplary and it was a very comfortable way to be on safari. I went with my wife but this would be a great trip for an entire family. I really cant say enough good things about the staff at Ravineside. I was there for a Marathon in 2013

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, Marketing & PR Executive at Ravineside Lodge, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Good Day Chris B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and we do hope you will be attending the 2014 Marathon? It gives us great pleasure to read that your overall stay was a Legendary one and trust that you will return again for another memorable encounter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed at Ravine-side for 5 nights in Feb 2014 and the entire experience was amazing from the moment we arrived until farewells from all the staff at the gate. The lodge and the surrounds were breath taking - both from the lodge & rooms and from the comfortable safari vehicles. The services we received from all the staff, front of house and back of house was second to none. Everyone went out of their way to ensure we had a truly unforgettable experience. The rangers Jan, Piet & Given always went the extra mile to make sure we got the chance to see as many of the animals as possible. The golf course was world class and very enjoyable to play. Keep up the great work at all of Entabeni and we look forward to returning soon

Room Tip: All rooms are unique - however take something to stop small animals from gaining access during the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgebooth_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleBouic, Marketing & PR Executive at Ravineside Lodge, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Good Day, Georgebooth_5,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Lodge. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay and delighted to learn that your overall stay was indeed Legendary! Thank you for the compliments on our property, team and game viewing – we have passed them on to the Team at Ravineside. We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We had a wonderful time att Entabeni. The most amazing environment, helpful friendly staff, more food than you can possibly eat....
The room was simple but clean, comfy bed, magnificent view. The game drives were an experience for life, cheetahs and lions so close that you could pet them ( but did not of course), elephants, giraffes, crocs, hippos and rhinos, we were in the animal wonderland. Do really recommend a stay, we will always remember ours.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Once56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed at Ravineside för 5 nights. (traveling with Albatros). Very nice huts hanging on the ravineside with a great view. Occasionally the cute dassie family had a nightly fight or two under the hut. The rooms are basic but very cosy. If it's really breezy you feel the wind inside the hut.

Animals roam around the lodge freely so walking around by one self is not allowed. To get up to the mailbuilding you need to catch a ride and the rangers are quick to pick peeps up,

Staff is very friendly and helpful. If you ask for anything they fix it right away.
Food is good, especially breakfast. Everything is fresh.

Game drives are great too! Lots of rhinos, giraffes and lions. (at least for us). Our ranger Shaun had great knowledge of the animals, birds and trees in the area. He also had good skills in singing (the Lekker day in Africa song) and entertaining.

Had a great time and really recommend a stay here. Lifetime expericence!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fightress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Went to the entabeni game reserve in October 2 years ago really fantastic experience 2 game drives per day lovely watching the sunset with a beer!
The food was quite good full British breakfast In the morning and a nice lunch and dinner a few times had a BBQ outside.
The lodge had a swimming pool and the rooms very clean and tidy with an ensuite.
The only downside it was 3/4 hours from the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Entabeni Game Reserve
0.0 mi away
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
#3 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
49 reviews
7.5 mi away
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
#1 of 1 in Entabeni Game Reserve
248 reviews
9.8 mi away
Witwater Safari Lodge & Spa
Witwater Safari Lodge & Spa
#1 of 16 in Mookgophong
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ranger Camp
Ranger Camp
#6 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Matingwe Lodge
Matingwe Lodge
#11 of 36 in Vaalwater
15 reviews
7.9 mi away
Roundstone Mountain Biking & Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravineside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravineside Lodge

Property: Ravineside Lodge
Address: Sterkrivier Rd | Upper Escarpment, Entabeni Game Reserve, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Entabeni Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Entabeni Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ravineside Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravineside Lodge comprises tranquil thatched wooden lodges on stilts with magnificent views. Each lodge has 3 or 4 luxury en-suite bedrooms with an African ethnic theme. A private open-plan lounge and bar area extends to the open sundecks. From here guests may indulge in bird and game watching and experience the beauty of the ravine with the rippling sound of water far down in the valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ravineside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravineside Hotel Entabeni Game Reserve
Ravineside Lodge South Africa/Entabeni Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing