We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
Review of Ravineside Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ravineside Lodge
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 3 November 2010

We were made to feel special from the minute we arrived until the moment we left. Nothing was too much trouble.

Nick Becker, our ranger, was passionate, friendly, helpful, informative. All the staff were excellent.

The food tastes far better than it looks. The rooms are adequate, and there were gaps between the floorboards showing light down the ravine!

There are a number of different starred properties in the Game Reserve, so there is something for everyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SUSCO2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    28
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
18
38
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Borgomanero, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We are not beginner in doing drive games in South Africa, and we can say that Ravineside Lodge is a very beautiful place with magnificent scenery.
We spent three nights there.
The games were very interesting and we saw a lot of wildlife including two cheetahs (but no leopard in sight and not so many birds). For us the games were a little too short (about 3.5 hours x game).
Our ranger was very knowledgeable and we were able to take all the photos we want to take.
The jeep was large enough to allow me to shot all my photos using my tripod, (and this is a very great thing in order to get good shots).
The Lodge was very nice, the room was comfortable and with an amazing view.
The food was really good and no problem at all with the staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marimonf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Our four night stay courtesy of Virgin Holidays was a fantastic experience and wonderful value. The only extras we had to pay for were drinks from the bar which were also very reasonable. The scenery is breathtaking and you are taken to difference parts of the reserve on each game run. The ride from the upper escarpment to the lower escarpment is particularly exciting and more like a ride on a roller coaster - not for the sqeamish. Our ranger although very young was extremely competent and did everything he could to make our stay memorable. In fact all the staff were first rate and we certainly didn't experience any hasseling for tips as a previous reviewer reported. The animals are superb and there's a wonderful selection of birdlife to be enjoyed.

Driving from Jo'burg Airport was very easy and although the last 30 km was on dirt roads they were in good shape as long as you kept an eye out for the odd pothole.

We drove out to a couple of other places outside of the reserve, eg. Nysvley Nature Reserve and the Doorndraai Dam Nature Reserve which are particularly good for birdwatching and felt very safe and everyone we met was helpful and friendly.

I highly recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tweetiepie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2010

We went in November 2009 for four nights with Virgin Holidays. Its about a three hour drive from JBurg on great roads for most of the journey. The scenery is spectacular as the reserve is on two levels, on top and below a massive escarpment and even with two three hour drives a day I doubt we covered the same ground on more than one occasion. The food and accomodation were excellent and the staff were very efficient and friendly. The Ranger we had for the four days was superb and made the whole experience something never to forget. The lodges are perched on the side of a ravine and are very comfortable, great place to sit in the sun and look over the plain on the other side. Beer, wine etc. were the only thing we had to pay for and were very reasonable considering you are a captive audience. There was more than enough to see for four days as the reserve is vast and the variety of animals fantastic. We had a couple of twitchers on our outings for two of the days which added to the experience as the variety of bird life is amazing. I could not recommend Ravenside highly enough and for value for money hard to beat in my opinion. One piece of advice, having flown to SA before when we went up to Kruger, it makes the trip less tiring if you stay beside JBurg airport for a night to catch up on your sleep/allow for late flight arrival and then pick up a hire car early the next morning from the airport. We stayed in the Emperors Palace which is only 5 mins from airport, and enjoyed the spa facitities which was a fanastic way to recover from an overnight flight, and it makes sure you get up to Entabeni in time for lunch and your first game drive in the late afternoon.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AberdeenAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, Kent
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

I visited Ravineside with my OH, a friend and her partner for 2 nights. We travelled from Pretoria and the journey took about 2 1/2 hrs. The location within the Entabeni Private Game Reserve is spectacular. Our room had amazing and was perched on stilts.

We booked at the last minute using MTBeds and got a good deal including all room and two game drives per day.

The drives are ultimately who we were there and they were fantastic. Each drive was for about 3 hrs and the ranger did everything he could to ensure we saw the big 5. The close proximity to the animals was amazing and the reserve is a beautiful location. The beer stop during the evening drive is a nice touch.

The rooms were good but not perfect. There were a couple of repairs that could have been done but since it is an outdoor location I did not expect or look for perfection. We did notice that the pool was not particularly clean which was a shame.

The food was all lovely and the service was great. The wine and beer costs were reasonable.

Entabeni is a really convenient, malaria free reserve that is fantastic for those pressed for time.

I would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwyn4940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2008

This place was fantastic. A good 3 hours drive north of Jo'burg airport and no where near Kruger as had been previously advertised on the virgin website - but a truly amazing place all the same.

We stayed in the Ravineside lodges, overlooking the huge ravine - the otherside of which is usually where the giraffes roam (still in view from your room).

The accommodation is great (albeit very cold at night in the south african winter - although the heated blankets keep you warm in bed!). Lovely rooms, set in traditional African decor. Not massive, but big enough for what you need.

The restaurants were fantastic (you rotate each night eating at different parts of the reserve and in one case outdoors by the fire). Food is lovely, varied and plentiful. Your game ranger eats with you too which is fun - although, they probably get bored of all the questions!

The game drives, 2 a day and included in the price, are brilliant. The team of trackers 9 time out of 10 help you find what you are looking for so we got to see giraffes, elephants, lions, zebras etc which were fantastic. They even stop after an hour or so, so you can get out, stretch your legs and have a hot chocolate/beer/whatever you want.

I can't recommend this place highly enough - it was a total joy to stay there and one of the best experiences I've ever had. If this is only a 3 and a half star (virgin rating), the others must be something out of this world because I couldn't have asked for more from this resort. You'll love it.

A little tip, if you go in their winter (english summertime) be prepared for it to get VERY very cold. You must take some big big jumpers and coats, because before sun rise and after sun set it is freezing. The party before us brought every single fleece jacket and jumper from the small gift shop, so we had to resort to wearing 6 or 7 t-shirts every time we went out! Be prepared to wrap up!! (Nb - it's still baking hot in the day - sunbathing in shorts weather!)

Helpful?
5 Thank Russ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jhb, south africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2006

For oversease visitors in particular, please be assured that this is not indicative of what South Africa has to offer - it is over priced and over valued - and can hardly be termed a bush lodge when compared to other, less pricey venues. The management staff do not go close to making it an experience to remember. A suggestion is to research a few other nearby lodges to compare, before you make a choice of accomodation - the Waterberg setting is magnificent... and offers much, it is sad that visitors will rate their stay based on this.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Tips/Secrets — stay away
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank daddiesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Entabeni Game Reserve
0.0 mi away
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
#3 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
7.5 mi away
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
Legend Golf and Safari Resort
#1 of 1 in Entabeni Game Reserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
9.8 mi away
Witwater Safari Lodge & Spa
Witwater Safari Lodge & Spa
#1 of 16 in Mookgophong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ranger Camp
Ranger Camp
#6 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
20.2 mi away
Jembisa Bush Home
Jembisa Bush Home
#3 of 36 in Vaalwater
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
7.9 mi away
Roundstone Mountain Biking & Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravineside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravineside Lodge

Property: Ravineside Lodge
Address: Sterkrivier Rd | Upper Escarpment, Entabeni Game Reserve, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Entabeni Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Entabeni Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ravineside Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravineside Lodge comprises tranquil thatched wooden lodges on stilts with magnificent views. Each lodge has 3 or 4 luxury en-suite bedrooms with an African ethnic theme. A private open-plan lounge and bar area extends to the open sundecks. From here guests may indulge in bird and game watching and experience the beauty of the ravine with the rippling sound of water far down in the valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Ravineside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravineside Hotel Entabeni Game Reserve
Ravineside Lodge South Africa/Entabeni Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing