We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking experience!”
Review of Tau Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tau Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Westwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Breathtaking experience!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My first time in Africa I had the pleasure of visiting the Tau Game Lodge on the recommendation of a local business acquaintance. I had very high expectations, and Tau surpassed them all! They are a relatively small lodge, with exceptional customer service, fantastic food, and a gorgeous environment. The rooms are extremely comfortable, the guides are very knowledgeable and friendly, and the game we saw on the reserve was amazing. You get what you pay for--worth every penny.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    68
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
125
156
29
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Tau Game Lodge is a truly special place to visit while in South Africa. Most amazing game views of the Big 5. Spectacular food no matter what time of the day. Wonderful and very informative Game Rangers that are passionate about what they do and always willing to go the extra mile for the true 5 star experience!! Congrats Murray and Thank You.

A definite place to visit for everyone!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sasha992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brummen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Recently we stayed three nights at Tau, where we had a marvellous time. What a stunning location! This lodge is looking out on a large waterhole and from our chalet we enjoyed the views of lots of animals approaching the waterhole.
Our room was comfortable except the hard mattresses of the beds; but that is a matter of taste. The food and drinks were okay. Once we saw that one of the waiters was shooing away the nice vervet monkeys from the outdoor terrace with a catapult. This was really shocking and didn't go down very well with us as we knew that one of the monkeys had a cute baby.
The game-drives with our ranger Doey Davids were great. She did her very best.
Another romantic place, not far from this lodge, is the Tlou Dam; watching lions here while the sun is slowly setting in the background is an unforgettable experience.
We would love to return to Tau!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ineke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2013

What an absolutely incredible place, from food, location, staff an the added bonus of seeing some incredible animals. The moment we arrived was breathtaking with views an location. To be greeted by such friendly people an be given the most amazing lemonade I had ever ever tasted. Was I dreaming..... No.... Would I ever want to leave? Probably not.... We then ordered the meal we wanted, choosing from a varied menu which appeared to cater for all needs. Food came, an WOW.... Presentation 1st class, an then the taste Amazing! After lunch heading out on drive with our two guides Kelly an Megan, such knowledgeable an friendly ladies. They couldn't have made our trip anymore perfect, they even provided us with a cider amongst other things deep in heart of reserve. In one afternoon seeing 4 out of the 5 pretty amazing, and that is purely down to both Kelly an Megan an they genuine love of there job. Thanks so much ladies, without a doubt I will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gem110885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We recently stayed at Tau in early October for 3 nights and had such an amazing time. I loved everything about the Lodge! From the moment you step through the door, you are treated unbelievably well. The service is unparalleled, food is delicious, and accommodations are lovely. The rooms and the lodge are situated right on a large watering hole to see all the animals while relaxing in your room or eating/drinking in the lodge. The beds are comfy and the outside shower is an added bonus. They offer two game drives a day and we were able to see so many animals. Doey, our guide, was phenomenal! She taught us something new on every drive, was so personable and friendly and has an amazing eye and ear for finding all types of things from birds to elephants to tortoises. We were able to see 4 of the big 5 almost daily along with so many other animals. The food was excellent- make sure to have the eland for dinner one night. Our last night at the lodge they held a bush dinner outside with grilled meats, salad, sides and glorious desserts. What a wonderful end to our experience at Tau. I cant say enough great things about the lodge. I would recommend it to everyone going to South Africa for a safari experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emearns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We have recently stayed at Tau Lodge for 3 nights. Everything was excellent and first class. The food was fantastic especially the chocolate mousse! The accommodation is great and we loved the outdoor shower. The communal lounges are lovely to relax in and have some very good photos to look at. Our ranger Murray was great and we saw the big five whilst there. The best was saved for the last night when we saw a leopard. Thanks to Murray's driving abilities we were able to follow him deep into the bush and got some great photos. We would thoroughly recommend the lodge and we are booked in again next February which we are looking forward to.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank storm76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013

great guide, delicious food, perfect stay!
We enjoyed the stay a lot. We arrived late but we could still attend the evening safari, which was great. Unfortunately we just booked to nights but we definitely plan to come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
4.5 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
8.7 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
11.5 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#13 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
17.3 mi away
Thakadu River Camp
Thakadu River Camp
#15 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
9.0 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tau Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tau Game Lodge

Property: Tau Game Lodge
Address: Madikwe Game Reserve 2581, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tau Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tau Game Lodge is a 5 star Game lodge Situated in “Big 5”- Malaria Free Madikwe Reserve. Accessible by scheduled flights, or a 4 hour drive from Johannesburg. Each of the chalets ensures privacy with its own viewing deck, the main lodge offers a Curio shop, Swimming pool as well as a lounge, bar, and dining area, all partially outdoors.The convention centre offers state-of- the-Art meeting facilities. At The Spa Oasis, guests are offered rejuvenating spa treatments, surrounded by the beauty of the African Bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Tau Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tau Game Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing