We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely leopard siting!”
Review of Tau Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tau Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

While on a game drive from Tau Lodge in Madikwe Reserve we watched a male leopard drinking at a waterhole and then observing a herd of impala for about 30 minutes. MAGIC! The entrie weekend was excellent including the food and accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ingrid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

You can be at Tau Lodge in less then an hour (including border crossing) from Gaborone. This makes Tau a superb location for a quick get away from Gaborone; but most guests (when we visited) had come up from Johannesburg--so it should not merely be considered a compromise for convenience. Madikwe seems a well run reserve and Tau takes hospitality seriously; we were treated well. The buffet meal offer those items you would only get in Africa--ostrich and cape gooseberries for example. Our guide, Kelly, was accommodating and knowledgeable--and a terrific dinner companion for her designated group. I wish I had the time to stay longer (if only to sit on our room's deck overlooking the watering hole) and look forward to a return.

Room Tip: All rooms face the watering hole and have a deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Only about 10 km from the Botswana/RSA border, we would highly recommend. We took some visiting family to see a bit of Africa. The food was wonderful (especially the kudu kabobs) and our guide was knowledgable and friendly. Saw plenty of game (elephants, giraffe, lions, zebras and many more. Even if just setting in your chalet, you will see plenty. They even took my daughter and I on a short drive as she was too young to go on the game drives. The chalets are immaculate and cozy. We stayed in one of the family chalets. Overall, have no complaints and would return again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

What makes Tau special is the waterhole right in front of your room..You don't have to go on the drives to see so many animals.The service is good and the food excellent.Long weekends seem to get very busy..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gerassimos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is our third visit to Tau and is our number one place to choose to go on holiday. Saving our pennies for the next visit. Everything about the lodge is amazing. I have not met one single person who works there who does not go out of their way to be helpful and it is totally sincere. The setting is stunning, the fact that you can view tons of game from your terrace is spectacular. The actual game drives are out of this world. Every ranger tailors the drive to suit the needs of the traveller and our ranger Kelly went way above and beyond what could be deemed normal to make sure we had the best opportunity to see a leopard. It's not just the big five that are exciting, we also managed to catch sight of a very shy porcupine, as well as rhino, elephant, lion, buffalo, giraffe and many more. The hotel has the knack of providing exactly what you need from the lovely roaring wood burning fire in the reception area to Amarula coffee on the game drives in the morning and we very much enjoyed stretching our legs in the bush with a glorious sundowner G&T at dusk. The food was first class and our boys are notoriously fussy eaters, the hotel were only too happy to oblige with food to suit their taste too. Particular thanks though to our ranger Kelly who really did go out of her way to educate and entertain. She made learning about the animals an absolute joy. One aspect of Tau that I really think needs to be experienced to understand but which really makes it for us, is that you feel as if you are family when you stay here. You are never really aware of most of the other guests aside from when you go to dinner in the dining room. It's not a one hat fits all approach, where people are crammed into the game vehicles to maximise profitability, quite the reverse. It is an intimate experience which will provide you with memories to last a lifetime. It is so beautifully quiet in the Madikwe reserve too since individual drivers are not allowed, so at times when you stop to look at an animal in their natural habitat, you can be forgiven for feeling as if you have gone back in time. In summary all I can say is that I do not think you will ever be disappointed visiting Tau, it is a truly magical place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We had a very good stay at Tau. The lodge has watering holes around the edge of the property which means that game drives are not 100% necessary as the animals come to you! We have visited many lodges across SA - and what made this lodge stand out was the spa. Tau's head therapist is superb and very knowledgable - so much so that we visited the spa every day during our trip (the prices are v.reasonable) I highly recommend visiting the lodge if you want to see good game/eat good food and enjoy some pampering!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROSE32014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

There's not much that can be said for Tau lodge, besides "What a great weekend away!"...

Our room looked over the waterhole, which teamed with wildlife the WHOLE weekend. From herds of 50+ elephant, waterbuck, zebra, giraffe, rhino - to a scuffle of 100+ buffalo in the middle of the night and lion calls in the darkness.
At one stage, I counted 7 different types of game at the water, in the afternoon.

Game rangers are all great - Doey was exceptional. Paying attention to little details, teaching the guests about birds, crickets, trees, in addition to a little off-road adventure to see the reunion of the cheetah coalition.

Perfectly poached eggs for breakfast, light salads for lunch and dinner under the stars - what a great experience.

Thank you to everyone who made our weekend so special!

Room Tip: As for rooms 3-9 - they are slightly further from the main dining area - but have great game experie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawnh77920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
4.4 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#5 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
366 reviews
11.5 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
627 reviews
4.6 mi away
Motswiri Private Safari Lodge
Motswiri Private Safari Lodge
#16 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge
Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge
#10 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
293 reviews
8.7 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
503 reviews
17.3 mi away
Thakadu River Camp
Thakadu River Camp
#12 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tau Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tau Game Lodge

Address: Madikwe Game Reserve 2581, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: £367 - £498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tau Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tau Game Lodge is a 5 star Game lodge Situated in “Big 5”- Malaria Free Madikwe Reserve. Accessible by scheduled flights, or a 4 hour drive from Johannesburg. Each of the chalets ensures privacy with its own viewing deck, the main lodge offers a Curio shop, Swimming pool as well as a lounge, bar, and dining area, all partially outdoors.The convention centre offers state-of- the-Art meeting facilities. At The Spa Oasis, guests are offered rejuvenating spa treatments, surrounded by the beauty of the African Bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Tau Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tau Game Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing