We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exciting, luxurious, stunning.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tau Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tau Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Exciting, luxurious, stunning.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Tau lodge on the madikwe game reserve in south Africa was brilliant , a long weekend well spent,good food, accommodation and atmosphere and Murray our guide was first class so enthusiastic and knowledgeable the whole party had a really great weekend. Sceanery stunning, animals natural and wild!

Room Tip: All rooms are good next to animal watering hole
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    60
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
114
148
28
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

One of our best holidays ever!! Guide Ignatius (Iggy) was the very best. Knowledgable, helpful, engaging, amazing. Food good - service great - WiFi to check what was happening at home. Weather in May was absolutely perfect and loved having a canopy on our vehicle. Cabin overlooking multitude of animals heading for a drink at our own waterhole!!!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 to 5 or 6 best views of waterhole
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

While on a game drive from Tau Lodge in Madikwe Reserve we watched a male leopard drinking at a waterhole and then observing a herd of impala for about 30 minutes. MAGIC! The entrie weekend was excellent including the food and accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ingrid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenside, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

You can be at Tau Lodge in less then an hour (including border crossing) from Gaborone. This makes Tau a superb location for a quick get away from Gaborone; but most guests (when we visited) had come up from Johannesburg--so it should not merely be considered a compromise for convenience. Madikwe seems a well run reserve and Tau takes hospitality seriously; we were treated well. The buffet meal offer those items you would only get in Africa--ostrich and cape gooseberries for example. Our guide, Kelly, was accommodating and knowledgeable--and a terrific dinner companion for her designated group. I wish I had the time to stay longer (if only to sit on our room's deck overlooking the watering hole) and look forward to a return.

Room Tip: All rooms face the watering hole and have a deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
248 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Only about 10 km from the Botswana/RSA border, we would highly recommend. We took some visiting family to see a bit of Africa. The food was wonderful (especially the kudu kabobs) and our guide was knowledgable and friendly. Saw plenty of game (elephants, giraffe, lions, zebras and many more. Even if just setting in your chalet, you will see plenty. They even took my daughter and I on a short drive as she was too young to go on the game drives. The chalets are immaculate and cozy. We stayed in one of the family chalets. Overall, have no complaints and would return again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

What makes Tau special is the waterhole right in front of your room..You don't have to go on the drives to see so many animals.The service is good and the food excellent.Long weekends seem to get very busy..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gerassimos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is our third visit to Tau and is our number one place to choose to go on holiday. Saving our pennies for the next visit. Everything about the lodge is amazing. I have not met one single person who works there who does not go out of their way to be helpful and it is totally sincere. The setting is stunning, the fact that you can view tons of game from your terrace is spectacular. The actual game drives are out of this world. Every ranger tailors the drive to suit the needs of the traveller and our ranger Kelly went way above and beyond what could be deemed normal to make sure we had the best opportunity to see a leopard. It's not just the big five that are exciting, we also managed to catch sight of a very shy porcupine, as well as rhino, elephant, lion, buffalo, giraffe and many more. The hotel has the knack of providing exactly what you need from the lovely roaring wood burning fire in the reception area to Amarula coffee on the game drives in the morning and we very much enjoyed stretching our legs in the bush with a glorious sundowner G&T at dusk. The food was first class and our boys are notoriously fussy eaters, the hotel were only too happy to oblige with food to suit their taste too. Particular thanks though to our ranger Kelly who really did go out of her way to educate and entertain. She made learning about the animals an absolute joy. One aspect of Tau that I really think needs to be experienced to understand but which really makes it for us, is that you feel as if you are family when you stay here. You are never really aware of most of the other guests aside from when you go to dinner in the dining room. It's not a one hat fits all approach, where people are crammed into the game vehicles to maximise profitability, quite the reverse. It is an intimate experience which will provide you with memories to last a lifetime. It is so beautifully quiet in the Madikwe reserve too since individual drivers are not allowed, so at times when you stop to look at an animal in their natural habitat, you can be forgiven for feeling as if you have gone back in time. In summary all I can say is that I do not think you will ever be disappointed visiting Tau, it is a truly magical place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
4.5 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
8.7 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
11.5 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#12 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
11.1 mi away
Thakadu River Camp
Thakadu River Camp
#15 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
9.2 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tau Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tau Game Lodge

Property: Tau Game Lodge
Address: Madikwe Game Reserve 2581, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tau Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tau Game Lodge is a 5 star Game lodge Situated in “Big 5”- Malaria Free Madikwe Reserve. Accessible by scheduled flights, or a 4 hour drive from Johannesburg. Each of the chalets ensures privacy with its own viewing deck, the main lodge offers a Curio shop, Swimming pool as well as a lounge, bar, and dining area, all partially outdoors.The convention centre offers state-of- the-Art meeting facilities. At The Spa Oasis, guests are offered rejuvenating spa treatments, surrounded by the beauty of the African Bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tau Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tau Game Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing