We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dedication to deliver outstanding service”
Review of Jamala Madikwe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jamala Madikwe
Certificate of Excellence
dannenfels
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dedication to deliver outstanding service”
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We spent four nights at the end of our Southern African experience at Jamala. Enjoying the great atmosphere and privacy of the lodge was wonderful. Delicious food and cold drinks in front of elephants, gnus, zebras and antilopes - why do you need a safary tour? Nevertheless also those were satifying as we met lions at the kill, more than hundred elephants, rhinos and all the typical amimals of the region. Only leopards disappeared in the wilderness unseen. -
Any improvement possible? - Lazi, try to avoid using the main road too frequently meeting continuously cars from other lodges - nature is all around.
Thank you for memorable days.
Helmut & Kriemhild

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank helmut d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney S, Owner at Jamala Madikwe, responded to this review, 7 October 2012
Dear Helmut and Kriemhilde, thank you for your kind words and review of Jamala Madikwe. We are extremely glad you enjoyed yourself especially from the deck viewing our waterhole and the privacy it gave you whilst the Elephants , many Gnu's and Zebra's and the large herds of Buffalo's enjoyed the water and mud. The Leopard has now made it's appearance with two new cubs. We look forward to another opportunity to possible show them off to you. Hope you have many great photographs. Many thanks, Rodney, Nico, Laz and the rest of the team at Jamala.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
154
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
137 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Stayed at Jamala Madikwe for a short weekend in march. I was the only guest and I felt very well there.Rodney and Nico were excellent hosts and made me feel very confortable and very well taken care of. The food was outstanding and service perfect! The lodge is beautiful, only 5 cottages with a nice terrace and private pool overlooking a waterhole. The cottages are large, very well appointed and with a large bathroom. Very luxurious indeed! I would say almost too much luxury for the bush, so it gets a little artificial touch! But the busy waterhole, where you can watch elephant at any time of the day plus buffalo and zebra and guraffe from your terrace makes up for that fact. It is the first lodghe I have been to, where there was an electric fence in front, but for obvious safety reasons, there is not much of an option! Game drives are very good, Madikwe is a renatured farmland which is very large and Malaria-free, only 3 hours drive from Johanneburg. Good alternative to Kruger or Sabi sands!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FlorestanStrasbourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney S, Owner at Jamala Madikwe, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for your review of Jamala Madikwe. It is always great to get positive feedback. Thank you for your praise of the outstanding food and Big 5 game at the waterhole viewable from the deck. I seem to remember a Leopard with some Hyaena one evening during dinner which even for us living here, is always a spectacular sighting. In addition to these and regular Elephant, Buffalo and general game sightings, we also have the benefit of being Malaria Free. You also mentioned our proximity to Johannesburg, which made the traveling easier. An added bonus for us. Look forward to another visit. Rod, Nico, Lucky and the rest of the team at Jamala Madikwe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The World
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

An absolutely faultless experience from the moment we arrived to the moment we left.
The rooms are beautifully appointed with everything you could ask for and more, with attention pid to the finest details.
The game drives were great, unhurried, really allowing you to experience the bush.
Food and service were outstanding, and sitting on the deck watching the game come to the wathole in front of you, or waking in the night with lions roaring close by just added the icing on the cake. Cannot recommend the lodge enough!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarwickintheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney S, Owner at Jamala Madikwe, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you for your review and praise. We are motivated more every time we receive a great review and then strive to exceed what we normally do. We certainly are privileged with our location and proximity to our waterhole, making sightings that much more comfortable to watch. On behalf of myself, Nico, Lucky and the rest of the staff, thank you once again and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The views from the deck are astounding! We saw a all the "big five" within a few days, without moving. From the selfish privacy and comfort of the most enchanting, spectacularly appointed suites or as we choose the communal deck and library. Sipping sundowners on sofas while the elephants slurp, gurgle and growl right ahead, is unforgettable. The food -to diet for, and staff discreet and friendly
Many thanks for a rejuvenating break and all the attention to detail.
Rob and Marina

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney S, Owner at Jamala Madikwe, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you both for your wonderful praise. We were very spoilt with the frequent sightings outside. Having all Big 5 out front is the Jamala Madikwe Deck and Couch Experience. Reason enough to come back again. Hope all your photographs are gems and we love the "Food-to-Diet for". Thank you from myself and the entire team here at Jamala Madikwe, much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My husband and I, along with three of our friends have just spent four idyllic nights and breathtaking days at Jamala. Apart from the stylish and luxurious villas and main lodge, the outstanding meals and high teas and the big five all right in front of our dinner table beside the waterhole, I have to say that Rodney must be one of the most special people I have ever met in all my travels. Both he and Nico knock the socks off the traditional 'host'. We were made to feel as though we were the only people on the planet and there was nothing that was too much trouble. Nico's food is the icing on the top of the most extraordinary cake ever! And the rest of the people at Jamala who all contribute to making this such an extraordinary place, you are all amazing! Truly a holiday I shall remember and cherish forever. Thank you for your kindness and hospitality, which truly ranks the highest in our book. There is no doubt that anyone from anywhere in this world, far and wide, could find a more memorable experience.

Room Tip: Every room is a dream come true!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eloise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney S, Owner at Jamala Madikwe, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you so much Eloise for your kind words. Even though we live here, we were also spoilt with the sightings outside at the waterhole particularly the Leopard and certainly learnt some new photographic tips with the guys being so technically minded. Thank you D & R, appreciate your help. We look forward to another visit in the near future. Kind regards, Rod, Nico, Lucky and the team at Jamala Madikwe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We've just had 3 competely perfect days at Jamala with our adult son and daughter and really I'm lost for words. The previous reviews have described the location, the rooms, the food, and the experience in detail so I will just say I agree with everything written, this place is truly stunning. Ridiculously luxurious yet warm and welcoming at the same time, the decor is just gorgeous. Rodney, Nico and, without exception, all of the friendly staff really want you to have the best holiday ever and they do everything they possibly can to make sure you do. We'll never forget the fabulous dinners under the stars, made all the more special by a herd of elephants playing in the waterhole 100 yards from the table, the wonderful game drives, taking a shower outside watched only by 3 curious giraffes: I could go on and on. I can't think of enough superlatives: thank you so much to all at Jamala.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney S, Owner at Jamala Madikwe, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Dear Maggie, It was an absolute pleasure to have you here as our guests to experience a few highlights of what Africa has to offer. We certainly were blessed with exceptional sightings right in front of the lodge and hope this memory will remain with you. Thank you on behalf of myself Rodney, Nico and the entire Jamala Madikwe family and we look forward to welcoming you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

From the warmest welcome ever received in our world travels to the most personalized service (including a photo CD of our experiences), Saun and Rodney and their impeccable staff spent 4 days making sure that we had a truly unforgettable luxury safari. Every need was anticipated. We eagerly anticipated every gourmet meal. Game drives with morning tea and evening "sundowners" were made exciting and interesting and fun by our wonderful guide and driver. And the villa awaiting our return

Room Tip: Villa #1 is closest to the waterhole and Lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney S, Owner at Jamala Madikwe, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
Thank you Chris & Peggy, your review and praise is highly appreciated. It is always that much more special when we have fantastic guests like yourselves that motivates us. It was an absolute pleasure to meet and host you. We look forward to another special occasion. Kind regards Rodney and the entire Jamala Madikwe team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
5.7 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
7.3 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
6.5 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Tau Game Lodge
Tau Game Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
14.8 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
13.9 mi away
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodg...
#10 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamala Madikwe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamala Madikwe

Property: Jamala Madikwe
Address: | Madikwe Game Reserve via Molatedi Gate, Madikwe Game Reserve 2838, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Jamala Madikwe 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jamala Madikwe is an intimate and elegant safari lodge located within the 75 000 HA malaria-free Madikwe Game Reserve in South Africa's North West Province. Each of the five sumptuous and elegantly appointed suites offer private decks and rim-flow swimming pools. Madikwe is home to all of the Big 5 and most of Africa's top game species which includes a spectacular array of general game in addition to a very successful breeding program for the endangered wild dog. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, South African Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Jamala Madikwe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing