We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven on Earth!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jamala Madikwe

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Jamala Madikwe
Certificate of Excellence
São Paulo
Level Contributor
86 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

A life changing experience!!! What a magical place! Jamala is perfect in every single detail. We spent 3 nights in July, my husband, two daughters and I, that we will never forget.
Let's start with the rooms: big, spacious, beatifully decorated villas where every detail was carefully considered. Private pools, astonishing bathroom and best of all a breathtaking view from anywhere you stand.
The service is just perfect, Phumy and Precious are always there for you, thank you so much girls!
The food is also great. Every day a new tasteful dish prepared to perfection by the Chef. The breakfast is like a dream with National Geographic live "on the screen"!!!
The safari itself is a once in a life time experience! We will never go to a zoo again! Seeing the animals free in the nature and so close to us was simply incredible.
Thanks Rodney, JR and evevyone that made this dream come true. Hope we can come back one day!
Definetly recommed! It is pricy but worth every cent!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saopaulo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney S, Owner at Jamala Madikwe, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you you so much for your lovely review. We so thoroughly enjoyed your company and enthusiasm for the wild life particularly the morning breakfast show at our private waterhole. For us living here, we are privileged to see these sightings most days. It is always great pleasure to share this and our little AFrican home with guests who have not experienced it before. Thank you too for your kind praise for the staff who always grow so much more when they hear you have had a great time. Thank you once again and we certainly look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Rodney and all the staff at Jamala Madikwe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
147
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Jamala lodge is one of the best lodge we have ever stayed at in the country. It combines great animal sight seeing with a beautiful deck overseeing a large waterhole, a luxurious and nicely decorated accommodation, very friendly and professional staff as well as an excellent and creative kitchen. The place is pricy but definitely worth it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico V, Manager at Jamala Madikwe, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Hi CaroleG
Thank you so much for this wonderfull review. Your enthusiasm for our beautiful Jamala Madikwe is such a motivation and greatly appreciated.

The 'Sofa Safari' from the front deck is really amazing and we see such great sightings from the deck, we are blessed to be located in this special spot. We are delighted that you enjoyed the villa's, our staff and the great food. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

If you are looking for a life changing experience then you have found the right place. Thank you so much to Rodney, Nico and the team. The entire experience was mind blowing. Its not often that one finds yourself completely relax, pampered and spoilt for choice with all the amazing food not to mention the amazing game viewing. Truly one of a kind, and i highly recommend Jamala to all.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The Residence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico V, General Manager at Jamala Madikwe, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear The Residence
I can say this with total sincerity, coming from an amazing property The Residence a truly great compliment. The Jamala-ian's really enjoyed your company and enthusiasm for our magical place in Africa.

We thoroughly enjoyed having you here to experience the food in addition to the Big5 animal attractions of Malaria-Free Jamala Madikwe. We always strive to make each guest experience as special as possible and we are very pleased this has been so for you

Thank you for this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

How can I possibly be brief in my review of this lovely property and experience? Jamala Madikwe is a dream. Rodney and Nico are the best hosts I have ever experienced. The accommodations are breathtaking and supremely comfortable. The staff is kind, gracious and attentive. The food is extraordinary in taste and presentation. The game viewing is remarkable. We watched elephants, zebra, giraffe, impala and rhino while relaxing at breakfast or from the sofa of the main lodge. Our wonderful guides JR and Lucky took us on beautiful safari adventures in which we saw even more. They inspired us with their knowledge of and respect for the breathtaking creatures we saw.



I could go on, but you should go yourself and experience the peace and daily surprises of this wonderful place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TEM17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico V, General Manager at Jamala Madikwe, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear TEM17
Thank you so much for this beautiful review, both Rodney and I loved meeting you and your family. Your enthusiasm and wonder of our beautiful Jamala Madikwe is heartwarming. We would like to thank you for spending time with us and I can tell you now you had ME in tears when you left.

The great thing is you can always return, consider this your home in Africa. I will share your comments with all the staff, Lucky and JR.

We the Jamala-ian's always try and create wonderfull memories but Africa's true spirit will cast her magic and leave you wanting. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

The first time I write a review on the web - on this occasion I feel that I absolutely have to make the effort, to let anyone reading know what a great place this is (I can only confirm the other string of 5* reviews), and to take a small step to repay the sort of attention and care back to Jamala which Rodney and his staff paid to our travel party during our three day stay.


Rodney and his team made this into a magical stay. I don't have any other safari experience to compare this to, however I can't imagine a better way to enjoy a game reserve.

The accommodation lodges and main lodge are all very luxurious and comfortable. For safari the game reserve is great however the accommodation balconies also offer great viewing meters away. We first arrived at dusk and were greeted with the surreal experience of around 40 elephants coming to the watering hole meters away.

The food was always excellent and the staff were attentive, without being intrusive, ensuring we had a comfortable and relaxing stay.

To top it all, there is always incredible attention to detail that others have described here and which continued to amaze and surprise throughout the three day stay. I don't want to mention all the touches as some of them were such great surprises - I can only recommend staying and checking it out for yourself.


This was the perfect way to kick off my first trip to South Africa and I look forward to returning to Jamala. It must have provided the ultimate safari experience and accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney S, Owner at Jamala Madikwe, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you Tom for your review and praise. Our response seems to have disappeared. None the less, we are always very happy to receive great feedback and we are very happy the experience was great. We hope that this as your first taste of visiting a Game Lodge will be the start of many more. The waterhole has remained as active as ever with so many Elephants and multitudes of plains game as well as the usual range of predators. We have had particularly over the last two weeks, many endangered Wild Dog sightings around the lodge and waterhole. Well done on completing the marathon. We look forward to another visit perhaps on your next marathon. Kind regards to the whole family from all of us here at Jamala Madikwe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

We stayed for two nights on 24th and 25th April and it was the most magical experience ever! Rodney runs this lodge superbly with great, friendly, well trained staff who go out of their way to be helpful. The luxurious main lodge and the villas have to be seen to be believed. When we arrived we went straight through to the deck, glass of champagne in hand, to see about 40 elephants at the watering hole and that set the standard for the following two days! This was our first experience of game drives and we were in the expert hands of Lucky, who clearly thoroughly enjoyed his work and had great knowledge of all the animals and delighted in sharing it. This was indeed the highlight of our visit to South Africa. Hopefully, we will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandJHyndland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico V, General Manager at Jamala Madikwe, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear SandJ
Thank you so much for this wonderfull review, we so appreciate every heart-felt comment. We are also pleased the elephants in Madikwe Game Reserve played along, making your welcome extra special. We have recently painted and re-decorated parts of the main lodge and the villas, we would love for you to come see it soon.

Rodney, Lucky and the entire team wish to thank you for visiting us and we look forward to perhaps hosting you again in the near future. We will keep the champagne on ice..........!

Kind Regards, Nico, Rodney, Lucky and the Jamala-ian's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

I must confess, that as family we went with high expectations to Jamala. Each of these expectations was surpassed. Rodney one of the best host, Nico seeing all the small details and the mega details (apart from the best food ever) in our room that made you look forward to the end of day and Lazzy a great tracker with incredible stories and knowledge. Each day we where treated as honored guests. The lounge where you can be sitting in a comfy couch drinking wine and seeing 30 elephants drink water or eat the minerals, the zebras, buffalos and so many other animales is priceless. We also got to see the wild dogs and that was priceless. So many thanks for an incredible vacation. They deserve six stars....

Room Tip: there are no bad rooms, only 5 villas ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney S, Owner at Jamala Madikwe, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Thank you Cecilia, that is really great to hear. We certainly enjoyed our time with you and your family and we are very happy to have surpassed your expectations on all levels. Our "Sofa Safari' is such a great activity and given your Mother and Brothers recent accidents resulting in leg casts on both of them, made for very comfortable game viewing directly from the main deck. As we move into winter, we are starting to get even more species frequenting the waterhole day and night. I will pass on your comments to Nico and the kitchen team as well as Lazarus. Thank you once again and we look forward to perhaps another occasion to host you as our honoured guests. Kind regards, Rodney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
7.2 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
6.0 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
5.7 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Tau Game Lodge
Tau Game Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
12.9 mi away
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodg...
#9 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
13.8 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#5 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamala Madikwe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamala Madikwe

Property: Jamala Madikwe
Address: Molatedi, North West Province, 2838, Madikwe Game Reserve 2838, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Jamala Madikwe 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jamala Madikwe is an intimate and elegant safari lodge located within the 75 000 HA malaria-free Madikwe Game Reserve in South Africa's North West Province. Each of the five sumptuous and elegantly appointed suites offer private decks and rim-flow swimming pools. Madikwe is home to all of the Big 5 and most of Africa's top game species which includes a spectacular array of general game in addition to a very successful breeding program for the endangered wild dog. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Jamala Madikwe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing