We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will never want to leave”
Review of Jamala Madikwe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jamala Madikwe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Staff and owner make you feel like family (in a good way). The food was excellent. The rooms amazing. The safari excursions are fun and exciting. But what I loved best is the fenced in feel of security. Close neigh to what them play in there watering hole from your room or the porch, but from behind a protective fence so you can walk around safely. The only problem I can think of is it will spoil you for all future vacations. I can not recommend the resort high enough.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico V, General Manager at Jamala Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear MarcusW
Thank you for taking the time to write this fantastic review. I am so pleased you felt like family amongst the Jamala-ian's. The fence is great and does keep everybody safe, a must have for a lodge with such a busy waterhole and so much animal activity.

Thank you for recommending us so highly. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your honeymoon and trip to South Africa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Jamala and Madikwe are magical. This was our first safari and we obviously found the very best place to experience it. From the moment we were met at the airstrip by our Ranger, Daniel, to the moment we left four days later, our every expectation was exceeded.

The Villas are the epitomy of luxury and it is amazing to be able to lie in bed, or on your private deck or in your private pool, and see various animals wandering to and from the waterhole. As for the cuisine - we have eaten in some fabulous restaurants throughout the world and Nico's kitchen beats them all - Prayer and Bongi were the chefs when we were there and they should be very proud of themselves - they are Michelin star quality.

Rodney, Nico, Daniel and all of their wonderful team are truly beautiful, special people, and we felt like royalty. We all fell just a little bit in love with them all, and Madikwe, and could not hold back the tears when our return flight took off. We will be back as soon as we can and we hope Daniel will be on duty! He is a superb Ranger and is very passionate, knowledgable and lots of fun.

Room Tip: All Villas superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico V, General Manager at Jamala Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Hi MarkC
Thank you for the review. I am so pleased you enjoyed the experience. We are also delighted to have won the Safari Awards 2014 Best Cuisine in Africa award ;) yes I am smiling and both Bongi and Prayer are beyond proud.

I can assure you we loved having you stay with us, the entire team look forward to your return.........we will have Daniel standing by at the airstrip ;0

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Our stay was perfiect at Jamala! The people, rooms, food and wild life were all amazing! The watering hole was a highlight, you could sit in the beautiful lodge and the animals came to you! A very unique setting.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kristie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico V, General Manager at Jamala Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Hi KristieP
We are delighted that you loved the experience at Jamala. Thank you for the review. The waterhole has been less active in the rainy season however we see frequent groups of hyena a breeding pair of owls, buffalo and lots of elephant. We look forward to you visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

What luck to have come across Jamala for our first ever safari. It was so delicious we shall certainly return. We liked the fact that Jamala is small (maximum 5 couples) but there were enough guests staying to join up socially if one wanted to. Our tracker, Daniel, was outstanding and we felt safe, very well informed and extremely comfortable in a brand new safari vehicle. This was important for me as I have a bad back. The villas were beautifully decorated and equipped with great views of the water hole. There was never a dull moment there. Rodney, Nico and all the staff were most welcoming and all clearly want to make Jamala is the best. Thank you to them all, we loved our stay.

Room Tip: We were in number two so nearer the main building and waterhole. All rooms were of the same high qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hurst-Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico V, General Manager at Jamala Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Hurst-Brown
Thank you for the review, Jamala is very small and we love how intimate the experience can be for us and guests. That brand new vehicle has been sloshing around in the mud as we have had some incredible much needed rainfall. I am really pleased that you enjoyed the Villas and the remarkable waterhole. Rodney, Daniel, the entire team and I hope to see you back soon for some more delicious Safari at Jamala Madikwe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Thank you Jamala!! The service and scenery will make my stay there forever etched in my memory. Although our stay was short, I felt like I was very well rested and relaxed when I returned home. The personal touches, delicious food and friendly characters made it all the more special. Spectacular place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AllyKuhlmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney S, Owner at Jamala Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you Ally
Jamala is special and we are so happy to have made your stay magical. The Jamala-ian's thank you for the great comments on personal touches, food and service. Spectacular places draw spectacular guests ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We came to Jamala for my birthday back inn July 2012. The resort, the people and the wildlife far exceeded my expectations. The rooms and common areas were beautiful and impeccably clean. The food was absolutely delicious, and having lunch on the deck with game at the water hole was just sublime.

But at the end of the day, we came for the game drives and they did not disappoint.

Lastly, the entire staff was welcoming, knowledgeable and oh so friendly.

We couldn't have asked for a nicer visit - we just need to find the time to get back there!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney S, Owner at Jamala Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank You Andrew
Jamala is so happy to have been able to make your birthday a special one. The waterhole is as busy right now with daily Elephant visits at lunch and the occasional Buffalo sighting in the evenings at dinner.
We hope you make time to return to this beautiful spot in Africa, we would love to have you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Jamala delivered an experience way and beyond my expectations from the day I checked in until the day I checked out. In fact check in was as paperless and non-procedural as if you were walking into your own home. Rodney, Nico and their warm staff provided a personal service sprinkled throughout my stay that was impeccable as was the villa I stayed in. Daniel, the guide was both professional and educational. One of the most unique experience to Jamala apart from the food was the watering hole in front of the lodge providing a window day and night, into the animal kingdom.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelson A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico V, General Manager at Jamala Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Hi Nelson
Thank you for this warm review, Jamala Madikwe and it's entire team is always happy to get this kind of feedback. We are so pleased that we could go beyond your expectations. The incredible elephant sightings at the Jamala waterhole definitely helped.

Africa is so special and I am truly grateful that you could enjoy Jamala as if you were in the your own home. We hope you will return one day, all the best to J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
13.9 mi away
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodg...
#5 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
232 reviews
14.2 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
377 reviews
5.7 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
529 reviews
2.6 mi away
Morukuru Family Madikwe
Morukuru Family Madikwe
#2 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
396 reviews
6.5 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#9 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamala Madikwe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamala Madikwe

Address: | Madikwe Game Reserve via Molatedi Gate, Madikwe Game Reserve 2838, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: £1,103 - £1,284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jamala Madikwe 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jamala Madikwe is an intimate and elegant safari lodge located within the 75 000 HA malaria-free Madikwe Game Reserve in South Africa's North West Province. Each of the five sumptuous and elegantly appointed suites offer private decks and rim-flow swimming pools. Madikwe is home to all of the Big 5 and most of Africa's top game species which includes a spectacular array of general game in addition to a very successful breeding program for the endangered wild dog. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Jamala Madikwe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing