We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time top and different”
Review of Jamala Madikwe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jamala Madikwe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed two nights in February this year. The nature was green and lush and quite different from November when one of us stayed here last year. The game drives very well performed by a new driver and ranger - Daniel.
However, Jamala lodge was as good as ever and can just be highly recomended.
You pay well and you get a lot in return. We just had to book a third stay.

Room Tip: Number 5 is our experience. Far to walk from the reception but exciting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claude and Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico V, General Manager at Jamala Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Hi Claude and Anna
Thank you for the review, we have had a lot of rain and yes the reserve is green lush and just beautiful this time of the year. I am so pleased you enjoyed your guide Daniel, he is new to the Jamala team but such a great asset.

We really look forward to your return and hope the trip will be as memorable for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Jamala Madikwe is everything you could wish for and more, this lodge compares with the best of the best in Africa. We could not fault this lodge in any way. The hospitality, the staff, the food, the game viewing and the accommodation is world class. Rodney, Nico and all the staff you are all one of a kind and raised the bar and set standards that are hard to follow.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and no preference needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dmclack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico V, General Manager at Jamala Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Hi Dmclack
We are so happy to get this beautiful review, thank you. I am so pleased you feel that we have raised the bar so high. Thank you again for the great comments. The new Cookbook on the way ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Staff and owner make you feel like family (in a good way). The food was excellent. The rooms amazing. The safari excursions are fun and exciting. But what I loved best is the fenced in feel of security. Close neigh to what them play in there watering hole from your room or the porch, but from behind a protective fence so you can walk around safely. The only problem I can think of is it will spoil you for all future vacations. I can not recommend the resort high enough.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico V, General Manager at Jamala Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear MarcusW
Thank you for taking the time to write this fantastic review. I am so pleased you felt like family amongst the Jamala-ian's. The fence is great and does keep everybody safe, a must have for a lodge with such a busy waterhole and so much animal activity.

Thank you for recommending us so highly. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your honeymoon and trip to South Africa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Jamala and Madikwe are magical. This was our first safari and we obviously found the very best place to experience it. From the moment we were met at the airstrip by our Ranger, Daniel, to the moment we left four days later, our every expectation was exceeded.

The Villas are the epitomy of luxury and it is amazing to be able to lie in bed, or on your private deck or in your private pool, and see various animals wandering to and from the waterhole. As for the cuisine - we have eaten in some fabulous restaurants throughout the world and Nico's kitchen beats them all - Prayer and Bongi were the chefs when we were there and they should be very proud of themselves - they are Michelin star quality.

Rodney, Nico, Daniel and all of their wonderful team are truly beautiful, special people, and we felt like royalty. We all fell just a little bit in love with them all, and Madikwe, and could not hold back the tears when our return flight took off. We will be back as soon as we can and we hope Daniel will be on duty! He is a superb Ranger and is very passionate, knowledgable and lots of fun.

Room Tip: All Villas superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico V, General Manager at Jamala Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Hi MarkC
Thank you for the review. I am so pleased you enjoyed the experience. We are also delighted to have won the Safari Awards 2014 Best Cuisine in Africa award ;) yes I am smiling and both Bongi and Prayer are beyond proud.

I can assure you we loved having you stay with us, the entire team look forward to your return.........we will have Daniel standing by at the airstrip ;0

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Our stay was perfiect at Jamala! The people, rooms, food and wild life were all amazing! The watering hole was a highlight, you could sit in the beautiful lodge and the animals came to you! A very unique setting.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kristie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico V, General Manager at Jamala Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Hi KristieP
We are delighted that you loved the experience at Jamala. Thank you for the review. The waterhole has been less active in the rainy season however we see frequent groups of hyena a breeding pair of owls, buffalo and lots of elephant. We look forward to you visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

What luck to have come across Jamala for our first ever safari. It was so delicious we shall certainly return. We liked the fact that Jamala is small (maximum 5 couples) but there were enough guests staying to join up socially if one wanted to. Our tracker, Daniel, was outstanding and we felt safe, very well informed and extremely comfortable in a brand new safari vehicle. This was important for me as I have a bad back. The villas were beautifully decorated and equipped with great views of the water hole. There was never a dull moment there. Rodney, Nico and all the staff were most welcoming and all clearly want to make Jamala is the best. Thank you to them all, we loved our stay.

Room Tip: We were in number two so nearer the main building and waterhole. All rooms were of the same high qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hurst-Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nico V, General Manager at Jamala Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Hurst-Brown
Thank you for the review, Jamala is very small and we love how intimate the experience can be for us and guests. That brand new vehicle has been sloshing around in the mud as we have had some incredible much needed rainfall. I am really pleased that you enjoyed the Villas and the remarkable waterhole. Rodney, Daniel, the entire team and I hope to see you back soon for some more delicious Safari at Jamala Madikwe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Thank you Jamala!! The service and scenery will make my stay there forever etched in my memory. Although our stay was short, I felt like I was very well rested and relaxed when I returned home. The personal touches, delicious food and friendly characters made it all the more special. Spectacular place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AllyKuhlmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney S, Owner at Jamala Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you Ally
Jamala is special and we are so happy to have made your stay magical. The Jamala-ian's thank you for the great comments on personal touches, food and service. Spectacular places draw spectacular guests ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
5.7 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
643 reviews
14.2 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
375 reviews
13.9 mi away
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodg...
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
521 reviews
6.5 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#9 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
442 reviews
14.2 mi away
Tau Game Lodge
Tau Game Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamala Madikwe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamala Madikwe

Address: | Madikwe Game Reserve via Molatedi Gate, Madikwe Game Reserve 2838, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: £1,077 - £1,259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jamala Madikwe 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jamala Madikwe is an intimate and elegant safari lodge located within the 75 000 HA malaria-free Madikwe Game Reserve in South Africa's North West Province. Each of the five sumptuous and elegantly appointed suites offer private decks and rim-flow swimming pools. Madikwe is home to all of the Big 5 and most of Africa's top game species which includes a spectacular array of general game in addition to a very successful breeding program for the endangered wild dog. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Jamala Madikwe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing