We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly amazing time”
Review of Etali Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Etali Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“A truly amazing time”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Why you, your loved ones and your family should go. 1. staff, brilliant; 2. accommodation, brilliant; 3. food, brilliant; 4. sites and game drives, brilliant. 5. overall = brilliant!!!

My now wife and I were treated like kings and queens, every single member of the Etali team put so much effort to make our experience both a memorable and special time, never to forget. We had the most amazing time, saw the big five. The atmosphere and ambiance just pure joy. There are simply no superlatives on how much we enjoyed our time.

Room Tip: Room 1 is the furthest away, which is great if you want to get that total isolated feeling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spcrawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    26
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
188
178
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Duxbury, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

What a fantastic experience! We shared the experience with friends from the U.S., and we will never forget it! Incredible game viewing, outstanding service, and luxurious lodging. Our guides exceeded expectations and not only showed us game, but educated us too. The next time we visit family in Botswana, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liv p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

I was part of a large family group with high expectations and we had an amazing time. We've all been to game parks before and I we are not easy to please but Etali certainly surprised me on all fronts. The game viewing was magnificent. We saw the Big Five within 24 hours.. And it was spectacular. Our guide and tracker was a highly professional team who took pride in their job and also enjoyed themselves.
I stayed in room 5 with my mother who walks with a stick as it is the closed to the main lodge. Other rooms do have steps and some are some distance away.
The rooms are well appointed without going over the top.
The chef Garth was very attentive to special dietary requirements and very happy to change things to suit our group needs.
So spectacular. All of it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank 881swf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Just went to 4 game reserves/national parks. Madikwe is where we saw most game and the big 5.
The Reserve is very well run all the trackers and game rangers are very experieinced so for us this was the place.

Etali Game Lodge is fantastic, terrific, service. Nothing but perfect. We would go back in a heart beat

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, you have complete privacy and you own spa pool on the deck where you can ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The Etali Safari Lodge in Madikwe game reserve is really a special place to visit. This was the second time we stayed at Etali as a couple and we can recommend it to anyone who wants to be spoiled to the extreme. The most difficult part of our stay was deciding whether to enjoy the luxury of the lodge or to go for another game drive to experience the excitement of the bush-veld. When we did decide to skip a game drive, we inevitably ended up hearing from the other guests about wild-dog kills etc. that we missed. Having said that, we saw lions, elephants, buffalos, rhinos, cheetahs, giraffes, hyenas (spotted and brown) and a lot more in one weekend.

It was a special privilege to hear Mr. Masu talk about the history of Madikwe and the lodge itself. His accounts of fighting veld-fires in Madikwe was also very interesting and entertaining.

The Etali staff went out of their way to ensure we do as little as possible, other than relaxing and enjoying ourselves. We want to specially thank the members of staff that served us during our stay: Thanks Kate, for being our hostess and looking after us. Maudly and Chenai treated us to a wonderful spa experience. Lerato, Dolina and Tshepiso, thanks for serving us at the restaurant. Garth and Conrad, the food was excellent (including the specially prepared Kudu steak!). Maria made sure our rooms returned back to order whenever we stepped out. Thanks to Doctor, Thulani and George for the wonderful game drives and sharing your knowledge of the bush.

Thanks Koos and Susan for creating a place like Etali, we were sad to miss you this time!

Room Tip: We have stayed in rooms 1 and 8 and both were superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R_A_Z_A_TV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

From the moment you arrive, Kate and the Etali team make you feel like part of the family in this relaxed, easy-going and stylish lodge. The service from all the staff was top-notch, the food was excellent and the sense people were prepared to go that extra mile to ensure you had a great time there made this chic and comforatable lodge a real home from home in the middle of the bush.

Ann T

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

An amazing place. Excellent location and all of the staff are fantastic and very attentive. The rooms are exactly as described and the food delicious. The game drives were awesome and informed by a great ranger and tracker team

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the water hole - although if unavailable do not worry as we still saw game f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
11.4 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
350 reviews
7.3 mi away
Jamala Madikwe
Jamala Madikwe
#1 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
288 reviews
0.8 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
579 reviews
8.7 mi away
Tau Game Lodge
Tau Game Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
468 reviews
10.9 mi away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#11 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etali Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etali Safari Lodge

Property: Etali Safari Lodge
Address: Madikwe Game Reserve, Madikwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Etali Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, South African Hotels, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Etali Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etali Safari Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing