We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fabulous experience.”
Review of The Bush House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bush House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Anyone thinking about a safari holiday look no further. I would highly recommend Bush House. The 5 Star treatment combined with the stunning natural world surrounding it have left me with such wonderful memories.

Our hosts were wonderful, food brilliant and the safaris themselves truly memorable. The ranger was extremely knowledgeable and excellent caring driver.

We were made to feel special guests and it was really something special. I would love to go back with my whole family in the future and can't think of a single negative thing to say.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hjrs1165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sjoe, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2013

We truly appreciate your comments and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. At least you had some time to unwind after being in the "bity city" and meetings. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

Actually, I know it. What a phenomenal experience! The water hole and hide made it hard to leave the property. We felt so cared for by the staff, we were welcomed like family. The drives were excellent, the food terrific. My husband had raved about the place and I now join him with the accolades. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: We had the room over looking the waterhole...the only disadvantage was it was hard to sleep because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Travelmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sjoe, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

How good to hear from you and thank you very much for your feedback. We are going to hold you to your promise of coming back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The service here is always fantastic. Sue and Gordon, the owners, are nearly always on hand and very much get involved with their guests to ensure they are being looked after.

The food was excellent, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms are lovely. The Boma is superb with its unobstructed views over the waterhole.

What has made this place even better, in terms of the experience you can have, is the ground level hide. At anytime of day or night you can go down to the hide and observe whatever animals decide to pop by for a drink.

I have never been so close to a Bull Elephant in such safety! At one point, when he had smelt us, he dipped his trunk under the roof of the hide for a good sniff, at which point my face was less than a foot away from the end of his trunk and his feet were less than three feet away!

As we sat there quietly he just had a sniff and then went back to drinking. It was such an exhilarating feeling.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sjoe, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

It was wonderful having you with us again and thanks so much for giving us your very kind feedback. We are thrilled you enjoy the hide as much as we do and next time, as requested, we'll move your bed down there! Looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We have traveled all over Africa and had many game viewing experiences. This is one of the best. The staff is attentive and the water a hole a gem. Experienced four Rhino's drinking together. Small herds or elephant several times a day. The living room fireplace with a roaring fire is a warm touch. We have recommend to friends; one of whom is going this week.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sjoe, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Many thanks for the kind referral - your friends are currently watching the elephants at the waterhole!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here in Nov on our honeymoon to SA and I'm so glad we picked this "economy" lodge vs one of the pricier places out there (which I wanted, lol). Clean, comfortable, relaxing, lots of animals to see and a beautiful property with a pool!

Obviously the watering hole (and the hide!) are awesome, and we got to see lions, about 20 elephants at one time, mother and baby rhino and so much more just on the property! The game drives were great, we saw so much of the Big 5 and others (giraffes, zebras, lions and cubs, rhinos, buffalo, antelope, birds, leopard tortoises, monkeys, cheetahs in their re-introduction quarantine area, and so much more!). The lodge is small and intimate with I think 6 rooms and we lucked out and since we were the only ones there on our stay, we had a private honeymoon safari and stay with top notch service! Our game driver was knowledgeable and Geraldine the manager was so welcoming! The food was great and we were there on TGiving, and they did a special dinner for us which was totally unexpected and appreciated! Ladies, just remember, you're in the wild so there will be bugs (like realllllly huge and gigantic moths that like wine) and mosquitos but we didn't have any in our room so no big deal.

Highly recommended for personal touch, clean facilities, price and great game viewing!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheryElle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sjoe, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

We really appreciate hearing from you and are delighted that we were part of such a special occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I spent my final night in Madikwe in the Bush House after 4 days at the Eco Bush Camp.
My stay was brief but all the staff made me feel very welcome and made my stay a pleasant experience. Everyone was very friendly and the young guide was knowledgeable about the flora and fauna in the reserve.
The hotel was very comfortable, clean and airy with nice gardens and their very own water hole, which attacted many species of game.
All in all an exhilarating experience, would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sjoe, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback and we only wish that you had been able to spend more time with us. Happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Our family of 12 spent three glorious days at The Bush House. Not only was the accommodation and service superb but the game was just amazing. From rare wild dogs - to 10 lion cubs feeding on a zebra carcass - 27 elephants at The Bush House waterhole....and more.

The staff were so wonderful - caring for our youngest member of 4 months - and attending to our every need. The rangers were so informative and owner Sue went to endless trouble to assist me in the leadup to our stay and afterwards when I left something behind!

I could not recommend the The Bush House highly enough! A must for your bucket list!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sjoe, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2013

We are thrilled to have been part of such an amazing family reunion and do so appreciate your very kind feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
4.5 mi away
Tau Game Lodge
Tau Game Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
493 reviews
0.6 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#5 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
377 reviews
13.9 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#13 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
319 reviews
16.7 mi away
Madikwe River Lodge
Madikwe River Lodge
#20 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
213 reviews
18.3 mi away
Thakadu River Camp
Thakadu River Camp
#12 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bush House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bush House

Address: Wonderboom Gate, Madikwe Game Reserve 2740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: £473 - £570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bush House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Safari isn’t just safari anymore…. And game lodges aren’t all alike. Every visit really does need to be special and every moment something to be remembered forever.The Bush House is not your typical Game lodge. The Lodge is set in the malaria free Madikwe Game Reserve. It is an old farmhouse that after years of family laughter and happiness has been transformed into an inviting and relaxing residence that encourages guests to kick off their shoes and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your The Bush House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing