We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved our time at The Bush House”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bush House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bush House
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We loved our time at The Bush House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

My wife and I recently returned from our trip to South Africa and our time at The Bush House was one of the real highlights of our time there. Everybody was gracious and helpful and the facility was beautiful. This is a small facility, so you get lots of personal attention. Our room faced the watering hole and was very comfortable. The food was delicious

We especially loved the hide, where you could get "up close and personal" with the animals at the watering hole. Its a very different perspective looking up at an elephant from ground level 6 feet away!

Like most safari camps, you take two game drives a day .. morning and evening. Werner, our field guide, was quite friendly and very knowledgeable, and in our 4 days there, found us SO many animals, we were starting to get jaded by "oh, there are just more elephants over there!" But we DID see all the big 5 including a very elusive leopard (sitting on a rock at the top of a hill) and wild dogs. So now I have probably 700 pictures to wade thru!

And I highly recommend Madikwe Game Reserve. Its reasonably close to Jo'burg and is quiet and uncrowded. There are something like 35 lodges in the 300 square miles of park and no self drives. So when there's a good sighting, there are maybe 2-3 vehicles, with each taking turns at the sighting. A good place to go!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room that faced the watering hole. It was larger than the other rooms in the lodge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sjoe, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.We trust your flight home was not too tedious! Once you have gone through all your photogrpahs please send us some for the Guest and Hide Gallery - would love to share them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
70
75
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here with another family and due to it's smaller scale had it to ourselves.
It is so well designed with sweeping green lawns, shady trees, and the beyond the ditch - wild Africa.
We were travelling with kids and they enjoyed the pool and sports equipment provided on the lawns.
The hide, as others have said is an inspiration and totally addictive. The angles it allows for photography make you look truly professional back home!
The owners were lovely and informative , there were great books and magazines on Africa all around the comfy lounge room.
The staff were all great, Tommy took us on several game drives and we saw some amazing sights. He was fantastic with his knowledge and game spotting.
Very clean comfy room and great food.
The only downside was tearing ourselves away!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sjoe, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we really appreciate your kind comments. It was a pleasure having the two families in camp- there is nothing better than the sound of laughter with kids playing on the lawn. The photgraphs you sent us are stunning .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

What a fabulous place the Bush House is. Besides being in the perfect setting, the Bush House is a warm and friendly environment with great owners and staff. I had heard so many good things about the Bush House from son and wife that I couldn't wait to get there. I promise you won't be disappointed by any of it. The animals come and go all day to the waterhole and the hide gets you up close, so close at times you have to watch you don't get sprayed from an elephant taking a bath! The safaris were exceptional with very knowledgeable guide who showed great respect for the animals. Couldn't have asked for more except maybe a longer stay! I plan to return!

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable and inviting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoManning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sjoe, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us .Many thanks for the stunning pictures you sent through for the hide and guest gallery. We miss your quirky sense of humour so please dont wait too long before you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

The Bush House is our favorite place to stay in South Africa. The facility is beautiful and the service excellent. The underground hide is wonderful, we could spend hours in there. Actually, we would enjoy our stays more if the game drives were shorter so we could spend more time in the hide. Tea time is our favorite meal and dinner in the boma our favorite location to eat. The small staff is welcoming, efficient, knowledgeable and remembers us from visit to visit. Our only complaint is having to pay for bottled water. Anyone looking for a relaxing time to be pampered and taken care of while enjoying the beauty of Africa should spend a few days at the Bush House!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Leigh Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sjoe, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
It is always a pleasure having you in camp with us . Our guides often joke that the hide is a challenge to their drives!
We charge for bottled water as our regularly tested borehole water is safe to drink and we have to transport our bottled water into camp.Thank you very much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

My first game park visit, but I can't imagine a better place--and it costs less than the other lodges! 6 rooms makes it intimate. We saw dozens of elephants, 10 lions (from 6 feet away), giraffes, zebras, kudu, springbuck, warthogs, wildebeest and a rhino on 2 game drives. The "Hide" (a tunnel with viewing right at the edge of a watering hole) gets you within feet of drinking animals, stunning. The staff give attention to every detail: blankets in the vehicles (mornings are chilly), warm welcomes with brandy after drives, fantastic meals, deep bathtubs, coffee and cookies in your room. Annefrie even brought me grilled cheese on arrival to tide me over to tea. A peaceful paradise in charming company. I'm in heaven!

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank PlrBear07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sjoe, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
We are thrilled that you had a chance to unwind and to enjoy the magic of Bush House and Madikwe.Thank you for taking the time to post your comments .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Martins, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Anyone thinking about a safari holiday look no further. I would highly recommend Bush House. The 5 Star treatment combined with the stunning natural world surrounding it have left me with such wonderful memories.

Our hosts were wonderful, food brilliant and the safaris themselves truly memorable. The ranger was extremely knowledgeable and excellent caring driver.

We were made to feel special guests and it was really something special. I would love to go back with my whole family in the future and can't think of a single negative thing to say.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjrs1165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sjoe, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
We truly appreciate your comments and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. At least you had some time to unwind after being in the "bity city" and meetings. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Actually, I know it. What a phenomenal experience! The water hole and hide made it hard to leave the property. We felt so cared for by the staff, we were welcomed like family. The drives were excellent, the food terrific. My husband had raved about the place and I now join him with the accolades. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: We had the room over looking the waterhole...the only disadvantage was it was hard to sleep because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Travelmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sjoe, Owner at The Bush House, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
How good to hear from you and thank you very much for your feedback. We are going to hold you to your promise of coming back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
4.5 mi away
Tau Game Lodge
Tau Game Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.0 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
18.3 mi away
Thakadu River Camp
Thakadu River Camp
#14 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#12 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
13.8 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
6.7 mi away
Motswiri Private Safari Lodge
Motswiri Private Safari Lodge
#16 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bush House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bush House

Property: The Bush House
Address: Wonderboom Gate, Madikwe Game Reserve 2740, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bush House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Safari isn’t just safari anymore…. And game lodges aren’t all alike. Every visit really does need to be special and every moment something to be remembered forever.The Bush House is not your typical Game lodge. The Lodge is set in the malaria free Madikwe Game Reserve. It is an old farmhouse that after years of family laughter and happiness has been transformed into an inviting and relaxing residence that encourages guests to kick off their shoes and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bush House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing