We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leader in the field”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madikwe Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Original doubts about a bush camp with no electricity and no running water were soon dispelled on my arrival at this place. The owners and the staff were exceptional and from the time of arrival made the guests, numbers varying day-to-day from 7 to 16, feel so special. Don't be put off by the lack of electricity - there were so many paraffin lamps on at night that it seemed that the sun had not set. As to the water, well it was there in plenty and available hot and cold for showering. There is an explanation on arrival about use of the bush shower. If it's a long time since you used a pottie, you may care to practise before you get there (only joking!). At night, there is the possibility of animals visiting but this was never a problem and plenty of torch-flashing before I left the safety of my open-sided hut ensured that i was able to access the rather grand porcelain loo. Incidentally, the loos and shower cubicles have tiled floors. Food was more than adequate, fresh and fairly healthy, and the drinks were chilled. Safari excursions twice a day, 6am-10am and 4pm-8pm, were led by very knowledgeable drivers and my friends and I could not have been happier with the variety of fauna we saw nor the different conditions under which we saw them. We even managed to spot a leopard and a cheetah, and saw white and black rhinos side by side. Great bird life here too and our driver knew all of them by name. This is the most comfortable form of "roughing it" that I have ever experienced. The huts are up off the ground a metre or so. They are roomy and the beds are comfortable. The common facilities - lounge area and dining area are very welcoming too. This place is a credit to those who conceived the idea and to those who operate it and their staff. Make this safari adventure a must! Finny39

Room Tip: Any of the huts is OK. There are showers and a toilet compound located near every group of three or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finny39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline L, Owner at Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear Finny39
Thank you so much for this long detailed review which so clearly explains the much feared "no electricity or running water"!!
Glad you had a great time and look forward to welcoming you back.
Best eco regards
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2013

We visited Mosetlha in February for the third time. Once again a great experience. Julie at the JHB office worked a bit of magic to get us accommodation at short notice. Justice was great as a guide. We were able to find wild dogs, my favorite. all round a great bush experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryCowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline L, Owner at Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear Gary
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for us - short and sweet, and to the point :) And three times a charm for those wild dogs ... look forward to seeing you back for your fourth visit.
Best eco regards
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

If you want a little piece of Africa then do not miss Mosetlha. We arrived expecting to "rough it" ..just a little bit with no running water and electricity but the experience was one of life's unforgettable times. We booked on the basis of previous reviews and it was even better!! From the moment we were greeted by Caroline to the moment we departed five days later we loved every moment in between. The game drives were exceptional and our guide, Justice could not be faulted for not only his ability to find all types of game, but also the complete respect he showed towards the animals by allowing them room to move and feed. We viewed not only the big five but came to appreciate many of the little wonders as well.
The camp followed a daily routine which was an experience alone. We were woken at 5.30am, hot drink and rusks, then off in the truck for three hours or more. On returning to camp we were served breakfast and some time to relax before lunch at about 2.30 pm and the next game drive which departed around 4 pm. Dinner was when we returned at about 8 pm with the camp all lit up with lanterns, and then to be fair, most of us crashed ready for the next day. The meals were wholesome and delicious, cooked on the fire. Do not worry about your wine or beer "low light" flashing. There is plenty of wine, soft drinks and cold beer at very reasonable prices. My husband and I named the ablution block "The shower of togetherness" as we completed the process as a team. He fetched the hot water, I carried in our toilet bags etc. we filled up the shower and shared the water which actually lasted for many minutes because it is possible to stop the flow with a tap under the bucket.
All amenities were clean and well appointed as were our rooms which were cosy and comfortable.
Caroline and Justice were friendly, helpful and very informative. Caroline made us feel comfortable and welcome. We loved the whole experience, each day when the game run was completed you did not have to leave the bush, we stayed there surrounded by bush and loved it. We are really looking forward to returning. (Photos coming)

Room Tip: All the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwisfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline L, Owner at Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear Kiwisfly
And we are looking forward to your return trip!!
Thank you so much for this great, detailed review - it really gives a wonderful overview of a day and night at Mosetlha.
I have received your pics and most of them are on Facebook.
Take care and see you next time.
Best eco regards
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge in Madikwe Game Reserve. The main reason to go to Madikwe was the chance of seeing the rare African wild dogs and the black rhino (and we succeeded in seeing both). In Madikwe Game Reserve there are over 30 lodges available, but we picked Mosethla as we were intrigued by their eco-approach. And we decided to go different from the 4- or 5-star experiences in other lodges. And I must say, it was a real treat. The reception by June was very warm and we felt welcome from the first minute. Our ranger Justice did a nice job in finding us the Magnificent Seven already in the first 2 drives. The food is simple but excellent. Sanitary facilities are primitive but work in their simplicity excellent. See for instance the movie about the shower on their website.
I can recommend this lodge to everybody, especially those people who like to have some kind of African campsite experience. If your more into luxury, choose another lodge.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline L, Owner at Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear DocJan
Thank you so much for this great promotional review! We're so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, and really appreciate your photographs - especially that one of the leopard which was our Facebook cover page for a month (and is still my screensaver!).
We look forward to seeing you back (with your camera!).
Best eco regards
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This is a real experience in the Bush!!! Everything is simple and "eco" but everything is perfect and great. If you want to live the Bush wildlife even when the "game" is finisched, tris is the right place for you!!! Caroline, Ranger Justice and everybody at Mosethla are great. mosetha is the Best in madikwe if you are looping for a real experience in the wildlife in the bush!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frittzettone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline L, Owner at Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear Frittzettone
Apologies for only writing back to you now, but thank you so much for your very enthusiastic review! We are so delighted that you enjoyed and appreciated the eco aspects of the lodge ... and the fact that a safari is about much more that just the animals.
We look forward to seeing you back.
Best eco regards
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We have just spent 3 nights at Mosethla and despite having read all the Tripadvisor reviews the experience still went way beyond our wildest expectations! From the minute Jonny collected us at the main gate to the final farewell from our hostess Caroline , we felt like we had left the world behind and were immersed in all of natures beauty. The bucket showers were an novelty , the tents comfortable yet rustic and the meals were an absolute treat both taste and company wise. I cannot think of a better environment to experience Africa and its creatures - we saw the big 5 , magnificent 7 AND a multitude of other animals , birds and insects. Jonny , our guide , was like a game seeking missile and neer tired of our endless questios and remarks. The camp staff were friendly and helpful ( thanks Moses for showing us the bush babies ...) and Caroline kept us entertained with her stories and the history of Mosethla. So if you are looking for an authentic and unique experience then look no further! On a final note - as far as value for money goes we have not found better in any other resort!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bushchick, Owner at Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Dear Sean C
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a great review about Mosetlha. We really appreciate it and look forward to seeing you guys again next time you venture up to Jo'burg - and then a little futher to us. Thanks also for the fabulous pics which are now copied and pasted all over Facebook!
Best eco regards
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We started 2013 with 3 nights at the Mosetlha camp. I was not sure what to expect with the bucket shower and sparse accommodation, but I found that I enjoyed this experience much more than some of the other 5 star game lodges. It was a much more intimate experience and I found myself looking forward to heating up some water and taking another bucket shower to cool off in the afternoon. The camp is quite small and after a day everyone seems to know each other. The guides were excellent and we saw more game in three days than we have anywhere else. I also enjoyed the well prepared food that was not a typical overwhelming buffet typical in lodges. The only problem we had was that it was sweltering in the afternoon the first few days and hard to escape the heat, but that was part of the experience. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onamulunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bushchick, Owner at Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2013

Dear Onamulunga
What a wonderful way ... to read about ourselves!!
Thank you so much for such a great review - we really appreciate you taking the time ... and being so kind!
Best eco regards
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
7.4 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
370 reviews
6.2 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
630 reviews
4 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Tau Game Lodge
Tau Game Lodge
#9 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
486 reviews
10.5 mi away
Thakadu River Camp
Thakadu River Camp
#12 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
378 reviews
4.4 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#5 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge

Address: Mosetlha Bush Camp, Madikwe Game Reserve 2146, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: £149 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mosetlha, nestled right at the heart of Madikwe Game Reserve and its only genuine eco lodge and authentic bush camp, is unfenced, rustic and intimate. Comfy beds in raised wooden cabins, oil lamps, traditional bush meals prepared on the open fire, a donkey boiler for hot safari showers and twice daily game drives in open 4x4s with expert guides, promise you a true wilderness experience. Come get the dust of Africa on your feet ... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve
Mosetlha Bush Camp And Eco Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing