We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolutely amazing experience!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madikwe Game Reserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Six of us traveled to the Bush Camp in early October. We had been in South Africa for 3 weeks, and this was the icing on the cake! We absolutely loved our stay at Mosetlha. Caroline was our hostess and ran the camp with grace and friendliness. This is truly a "travelerly" experience. You will not have running water or electricity, but you do not need it. Try a hot shower warmed in the boiler - fabulous!

The rooms are open sided, however very secure - they are cabins that are fun to stay in. The food was delicious and served at the large dining room table with all the guests at the camp. We had meals with Germans, Australians, South Africans, and had wonderful laughs and conversations.

The game drives were awesome - we went early in the morning and then later in the evening. Jonny was our guide and he was very knowledgable about the animals and passionate about his profession. We saw lions, cheetahs, wild dogs, elephants, many hoofed animals and birds. We were provided nice warm blankets for the drives and we would take a break half way through and halve tea and coffee or sundowners - very civilized!

I cannot say enough good things about our short stay here at the Bush Camp - we will be back! Thank you Caroline, Noel, Jonny and everyone that made our stay so magical!

Room Tip: Anything is good!!!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KamikaziFalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline L, Owner at Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Kamikazi Falcon
Thank you so much for your kind words :)
Talking of words, the new one we created (travelerly .... to be used when describing an authentic place appealing to travelers - as opposed to a Touristy place appealing to, um, tourists) is one I shall start using more often (if "selfie" can become a word, then I think we're on to a good thing!!).
So look forward to having you back with us.
Take care
Best eco regards
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
There are newer reviews for Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

Our first safari, and one to remember! It was close to perfect, and a really magical weekend! The park itself showed us everything from a male lion drinking from water, to baby elepahnts, cheetah enjoying the sun, and a hyena carrying its kill, wild dogs curled up and sleeping, and a buffalo in the camp whilst eating dinner! I couldn't have asked for better wildlife viewings and Justice and Jonny our guides did a fantastic job in showing us these fantastic sightings... and sharing the sightings between them to make sure that everyone could get a look!

The lodge itself.... WOW! The food, incredible, the staff so friendly, the rooms, beautiful and the entire 3 day experience was very special! arriving back from the evening drives to a lantern lit dinner was very stunning. The toilet and shower facilities are very impressive given there is no running water! The food was wonderful and so lovely to see it cooked in front of you!

And Caroline... thank you! You were so welcoming and kind and you can tell this place is very special to you all...

We shall certainly return! Recommend this to everyone!

THANKYOU!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline L, Owner at Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you, LauraH, for such a glowing review :)
Jonny and Justice are great and work so well together to ensure that everyone sees as much as possible .... Kgomotso is back now from maternity leave and has wedged her way securely back into the Mosetlha Guiding Team - and she also plays nicely with the boys!
Look forward to having you back .... and welcoming the friends you recommend us to :)
Best eco regards
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

we spent 4 nights here in late september and it was wonderful! We had been to Madikwe before, and stayed at a luxury lodge (which was also wonderful), but this is a unique experience to be treasured. Johnny was a great guide on our game rides and found us the big 5 plus wild dogs, cheetas, and more. We loved sitting around the fire, meeting interesting people (we were lucky that for 3 out of our 4 nights, we had the same group of travelers - we bonded as a group and had a lot of fun), eating tasty African meals cooked on the fire. The solar lights and kerosene lamps at night are magical.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelbug140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline L, Owner at Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Travelbug140
Thanks so much for your review - I so agree with you that the other guests make your stay with us even more enjoyable. We believe we get the very best guests at Mosetlha - and everyone has something in common: the desire to experience the bush at a bush camp :)
Best eco regards
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

A while back my wife and I decided we'd do one last game reserve holiday before starting a family (obviously it'll be difficult once we have small kids). We chose Mosetlha, and I'm glad we did. My wife was a bit apprehensive at first with the lack of running water and electricity, but in the end we were both pretty happy with the facilities. Using the donkey boilers for warm water added to the adventure and bush experience. The food was good and the camp was well managed, always clean and never lacking in any essentials.

The game sightings were especially good. We were lucky enough to see the big five (including black and white rhino), cheetah, spotted hyena, a civet (in the camp) and many other animals. We also got to see many of the animals much closer up than I've seen in previous game reserve trips. The guide Jonny has a unique ability to track and find animals - if they're there, he'll find them. When he saw some lion tracks on the road and started looking for them in the bush nearby I first thought that he was just trying to sound impressive. Then a short distance down the road he spotted the lions, which were so well camouflaged that I would never have seen them on my own. When another vehicle saw a leopard that day he also went out of his way to find the animal for us, even getting out and tracking it on foot. Although we didn't see the leopard on that drive, we were lucky enough to see one in the evening - a rare close up view of the animal eating a wildebeest that cheetahs had killed the night before.

All in all, an awesome trip. I hope to go back in a few years once our little one (my wife's at 15 weeks now) is old enough.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline L, Owner at Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Roy G
Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review (enjoy having this spare time, in a few months it will be a thing of the past!).
Thank you for talking about your wife initially being concerned about the "no electricity or running water" thing (and thank you for apparently ignoring these concerns!). I think that this can turn people off as it is difficult to understand that gas fridges and freezers and oil lamps at night more than adequately cater to our requirements (although not any hairdrying requirements ....). And that there IS water, just from a bucket rather that a pipe and tap :)
All the best - see you in 6 years.
Best eco regards
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the bush camp with our daughters (ages 11 and 13) and we couldn't have asked for a more perfect way to spend time together as a family. Not a single complaint from anybody in our family for 3 days...enough said!

We all enjoyed the cabins and found them to be very clean, comfortable and restful. Coming from the United States, everybody enjoyed the chance to try some traditional South African cuisine and even our pickiest eater never left a meal hungry! Having meals together with the other guests was a fun way to catch up on the latest game drive adventures and share other stories of our travels. The shower and toilet facilities were just as described and we enjoyed a cool safari shower (by choice!) on our first hot afternoon and a lovely warm shower courtesy of the donkey boiler on the morning before our travels home. Perfect!

The game drives were exceptional and our guide, Justice, was a pleasure. On our first afternoon/evening drive, we spotted 4 of the Big 5 with number 5 coming the next morning. Every drive was different and there is no way to choose a highlight between the pride of lions (with six cubs) having a warthog dinner, the herd of 30+ elephants approaching to drink at the water hole, watching 200+ buffalo cross in front of our vehicle, or the group of cheetahs hunting.

Thank you very much to Caroline and Noelle for being attentive hostesses and to the entire Mosetlha staff for giving our family memories of a lifetime. We're very sad that the camp is 8000 miles away from our home or we would be there again in a heartbeat. Book today...you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline L, Owner at Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Anne C
Thanks so much for a lovely review. Your game viewing was certainly varied and abundant!
I also love the big table in the dining room - I think it's a huge plus to give us all the opportunity to engage with other guests, find out more about them and share travel (and other!) tales.
We hope, when you travel the 8000 miles to SA again, that we're on your revisit list :)
Best eco regards
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We are love safaris and this was our fifth covering both self drive and private reserves. It was our second trip to Madikwe and Mosethla. Madikwe is malaria free which is a great advantage. It also has great game including wild dog of which we had great views on two occasions this trip.

It's a wonderful experience especially for children, living without running water and electricity, the cabins being open to the bush and discussing the game viewing around the communal meal table. On this trip our family group had three cabins one of which had resident bush babies!

My only warning would to be to be careful when you visit, as the cabins do get hot in the day and if you need a nap after the early game drive it can be a bit stifling. We have been in April and October and on both occasions the cabins were very hot in the day but just bearable. Not sure what it would be like in the hottest months.

We did suggest solar powered fans during our last trip but although this fits with their 'eco' credentials I suppose it might be a slippery slope to solar powered lighting and showers! Perhaps better to take those individual battery powered fans.

On each visit to Madikwe we have moved on from Mosethla to another game lodge in the reserve. This is a good way of seeing a different part of the reserve with different game and terrain. It also makes you appreciate the electricty!

Do go to Mosethla. It's unique.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jellyfishslayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline L, Owner at Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Jellyfishslayer
Thanks so much for your review. Good for people to know that we are child friendly - to over 6s :)
As you know, the best thing to do when it's hot is the Mosetlha Aircon Trick - have a cold shower in your shorts and tshirt and sit outside in the shade on one of the camp chairs .... really works!
We look forward to seeing you again .... perhaps in winter next time?!
Best eco regards
Caroline Lucas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Our initial apprehension of 2 nights without mains electricity and running water were soon dispelled. Accommodation space was well thought out and clean. Toilet and shower facilities were kept very clean and the donkey boiler shower was simple but very effective. Food was very good and eating together gave a great atmosphere and opportunity to meet new people. So nice to have an honesty bar system with very good prices for drinks etc . Game drives were excellent, at last we managed to see leopard and wild dogs - thanks Jonny. When we came back to camp in the evening everywhere was lit with lamps. The solar light jars were so good we each bought one! Thanks also to Chris who was an excellent host, passionate about all wildlife as we are. We hope to return some day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HilCyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline L, Owner at Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Dear HilCyn
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review ... and for the compliments about the honesty bar! And well done on the leopard and wild dog sightings - whilst seeing them may not be the sole purpose of your trip to Madikwe, it really does make it all worthwhile.
We hope you are able to return one day, and look forward to welcoming you back :)
Best eco regards
Caroline Lucas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
4.4 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#5 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
482 reviews
7.4 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
361 reviews
6.2 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
431 reviews
10.5 mi away
Thakadu River Camp
Thakadu River Camp
#14 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
347 reviews
3.9 mi away
Motswiri Private Safari Lodge
Motswiri Private Safari Lodge
#16 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge

Address: Mosetlha Bush Camp, Madikwe Game Reserve 2146, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: £148 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mosetlha, nestled right at the heart of Madikwe Game Reserve and its only genuine eco lodge and authentic bush camp, is unfenced, rustic and intimate. Comfy beds in raised wooden cabins, oil lamps, traditional bush meals prepared on the open fire, a donkey boiler for hot safari showers and twice daily game drives in open 4x4s with expert guides, promise you a true wilderness experience. Come get the dust of Africa on your feet ... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve
Mosetlha Bush Camp And Eco Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing