We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Woodlane Hotel(Gaborone)
US$81
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Cresta Mahalapye(Mahalapye)
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
US$143
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Room 50 Two(Gaborone)
US$211
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (483)
Filter reviews
483 results
Traveller rating
443
33
3
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
443
33
3
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdonkey boilerno electricityhonesty barbucket showeroil lampshot waterwild dogsbig tablecamera batteriesthe reservetoilet and shower facilitiesgame drivesopen sidessharing storieswonderful experienceother guestsauthentic safari experience
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
282 - 287 of 483 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at Mosetlha Bush Camp. The staff are absolutely wonderful, and the game guides informative and most accommodating. I am a vegan, and Caroline Lucas, one of the owners, has always ensured that I have special food that is cooked and served separately. Caroline is a vegetarian so she fully understands the perils awaiting vegan travellers. If you have any food requirements drop them a line and I am certain they will go out of their way to ensure you have a wonderful stay. The Bush Camp has lots of wonderful birds that come down to bathe and drink at the birdbath, and they have some Cape Buffalo who wander through the camp at night. It is a delightful place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline L, Owner at Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thanks Louise D
So easy to cater for veggies and vegans because our catering is so simple - lots of fresh fruit and salads and then just heaving beans or soya instead of meat into a potjie or bobotie ... and there's pap and all the lovely veggies on braai night.
Looking forward to having you back soon (I saw the teeniest warthogs with their mummy the other day - would make your heart smile).
Best eco regards
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I found Mosetlha enchanting and a really great find. Nestled in the heart of the Madikwe game farm only 3-4 hours from Johannesburg, you find yourself in an authentic bush hideaway with people as warm as the weather. It will never score 5/5 on the star rating but in my opinion should be given all 5 on the basis of its simplistic luxury, great hospitality and Eco friendly charm. Voted one of the best Eco lodges in the world, it does not have any electricity (light is provided though oil and innovative solar lamps) nor running water (water is provider from the local bore hole) but provides you with a natural and honest view of what it is truly Iike to live in the African bushveld.

There are 10 cabins in total and the lodge can host up to 18 people at a push. The cabins are comfortable and well laid out with big canvass canopies providing much needed ventilation during the days and at night. The ablutions are short walk away and all though authentically basic, provide you with some really lovely luxuries such as a regular toilet (on top of an improved hole in the ground) and fully functioning showers (bucket and pulley system). You get fresh linen and towels every couple of days and can purchase cold drinks,beer and wine on the premises.

The place is fenced for elephant but other wildlife is welcome and on two occasions the local buffalo came in to camp for a visit. There is a 10pm curfew because of this (and a night potty for emergencies) but this never felt early as you are up at 5am every morning and spending 7-8 hours on game drives, throw in meal times, showers and couple of hours every day to read and reflect, it makes for very full days.

You get three meals per day and snacks on the game drives (dinner at night includes a pudding). The food is traditional South African fare cooked to a high standard either over an open fire or using the small but functional outdoor kitchen. I enjoyed it all but if I had to choose a favourite, the bobotie, traditional braai with pap and cabbage and the granadilla cheesecake would probably be serious contenders.

For me, what really made this place special is the people who own and run it. They come together as more of a family and work together collectively to make your stay enjoyable - from the guides who take you on the twice daily game drives showing you a plethora of game and providing you with daily insight into their habits, to the cooking and cleaning staff who are always on hand to help you figure out how the hot water works (and happily followed my mom around as she perambulated the camp sight to make sure nothing ate her) to the manager who is a constant breath of fresh air with the enthusiasm of a 3 year old and a clear passion for the job, the bush and great customer service.

We only stayed 4 nights but it is still hard for me to pick my favourite moment so here are just a few to consider: all the guests sitting at the same table for meals and learning new things about new people, the daily outdoor shower, the afternoon naps before lunch, being able to skip in the lapa because that is where it was coolest and I needed to exercise, the owner -June- joining us for dinners and making a point of making us feel welcome, Noelle, the manager, sharing her infectious energy, bush anecdotes and making it her mission to learn something about us and enrich our experience, our guide Jonny, for offering us such great insight and experiences of the bush, taking us on paths that barely look like a road so we can get that unbelievable sighting and for finding the animals when no one else could, and of course lastly the animals that you get to see while in the game drives ranging from the imposing elephants and rhino to the sleek and latent power of the lions, leopards and cheetahs, the high awareness of the antelope, giraffes and zebras to the more rare sightings such as the spotted hyena, bush baby and gemsbok. Throw in all the bird species and you cannot leave without being enthralled and amazed with some great new memories (and photos) to remind you of the great time you have just had. Definitely a place worth adding to the "bucket" list.

Tips I would offer, if you are thinking about it, are:
- don't pack the mosquito spray - they don't have any Mosquitos so you will be safe,
- don't pack the swimming costume - water is a precious commodity here so there is no pool or bath (all though it is a great place for tanning),
- do take enough cash to tip the staff, to pay for your drinks and to purchase and goodies such as the solar lamps or branded merchandise,
- read the materials that they send you beforehand (and that means everyone who is going so there are no surprises when someone sees the shower for the first time),
- pack a fleece and scarf for the cold mornings and evenings (all though they do provide some very fetching blankets which double as rain protectors if you need them),
- walking shoes are not a must as you are in the truck on the drives but a hat, your sunglasses and some sun protection would be wise,
- unless you have any dietary requirements, don't bring any food as you will need to lock it up or leave it in the fridge so the squirrels don't eat it,
- don't plan a list of "must see" animals and just enjoy whatever the bush offers up,
- don't forget to pack the camera for those incredible bush moments,
- don't expect to connect the iPad, laptop or mobile phone while you are here - they do have connectivity but power is a luxury and charging phones and cameras are on request only,
- lastly, come with an open mind to enjoy the experience as it is meant to be - a back to basics, unique, unadulterated and natural experience in a wild and enchanting environment.

Room Tip: Tips can be found in the body of my review but rooms 1-4 are closer to the bird bath and visiting Buffalo, room 7 had the bush baby family and we were in room 8 which was very close to the ablutions.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Heather O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline L, Owner at Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Wow, Heather O, what a great piece of writing :)
I so enjoyed reading your article and felt as though I would really love to visit this incredible place you so beautifully describe!!
Thank you so much.
Best eco regards
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We missed the bush walks (soon to resume, we understand) but loved everything else. From the food and low-impact living, to the staff and guides, to our fellow guests--including the cape buffalo who wandered into camp. Our two teenagers were enchanted with the whole experience, as were we. Affordable, authentic, peaceful, beautiful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline L, Owner at Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you so much Brett
Look forward to having you guys come down south again soon?
Come for a walk!
Best eco regards
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Yippee – Yes it did exactly what it said on the tin. 5 star enjoyment in an environment that totally complements the efforts of the owners and their excellent staff. Many thanks to Chris in his instruction of us ignorami (stand to attention when you are being spoken to by an officer) about the detailed workings of a Rhodesia Boiler and the related plumbing niceties thereafter and June for keeping us all within the evening curfew limits. Getting up at crack of dawn really does have its advantages. Many thanks to Noelle (we never did “spot” her husband) and especial thanks to our driver and guide “KG”. Definitely to be recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PIGASIMU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline L, Owner at Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Pigasimu
Thanks so much - love your reference to 5 star enjoyment.
KG is of course Kgomotso - just one of our three fabulous rangers and the one and only lady ... so glamorous with her hair weaves and sparkling earrings - she's also remarkably smart and eloquent and just LOVES her job :)
Best eco regards
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

You probably won't find many places in South Africa where you get this close to living "wild" in the bushveld with superb camp hosts and expert bush guides. Caroline, Noel, Jonny and the other staff will totally make you feel at home and get you to see all of the wildlife your heart could desire (well, pretty close at least). Fantastic game drives, bird watching, sunset watching, and warm campfires to sit around when you get back from the day and night outings. All of this in the middle of a part of the country where legends were made of some of the early travellers in South African history on the Great Road North.
Totally recommended.

Room Tip: Any room is great - we stayed on the south side.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank injasutidave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline L, Owner at Mosetlha Bush Camp & Eco Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear InjasutiDave
Thanks so much for your review .... and accolade of being the best in Marico country!
Love this: "All of this in the middle of a part of the country where legends were made of some of the early travelers in South African history on the Great Road North." Very poetic.
Thank you
Best eco regards
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews