We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 days in the bush”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“4 days in the bush”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed in this lodge for 3 nights. The lodge is situated in the Madikwe game reserve, right on the Groot Marico river, We had a lovey view from our room onto the river. The room was comfortable and spacious.
The meals and service were excellent.
Jerry, our guide and driver on the game drives, is a tru professional. We had good sightings of lions, white rhino, elephant, buffalo and wild dog. Only leopards eluded us!

Room Tip: Chalet 3 16 gives you a nice view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erwin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick V, Internal Marketing Liaison Officer at Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge, responded to this review, 9 April 2016
Thank you for the positive feedback, we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    44
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
73
60
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed for three nights in July-August 2012 and had a great time. The lodge has a warm atmosphere, excellent staff and very competent guides, special thanks to our guide Earnest. we felt very much at home at Madikwe River Lodge!

We saw wilddogs, lions, elephants, buffaloes, rhinos etc. and the nature is really nice. Not too many vehicles around and Earnest made all his efforts to give us a good safari experience.

The food was excellent and the staff gave us some surprises with singing and dancing! I had a really relaxing massage by a professional therapist. The surroundings with the pool are excellent and one day 15 elephants passed by to drink in the river!

Thanks for an unforgettable stay!
Tommy and Peter with family from Sweden

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick V, Internal Marketing Liaison Officer at Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge, responded to this review, 9 April 2016
Thank you for the positive feedback, we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

If you are a first time visitor to Madikwe & intend driving there, DO NOT use the Deerdepoort entrance! It is possibly the worst road I have ever been on! Rather take the longer route via the Abjaterskop Gate. The Lodge itself was good but needs attention to detail, or rather the staff need a bit of guidance eg. you have 2 waitrons on duty at mealtimes & whilst it is nice having somebody around should you need something, it gets extremely uncomfortable with these 2 people watching every morsel you put in your mouth & listening to every word you say! Having somebody to meet you when you get back from the game drive with a warm towel to wipe your hands on, would also be a plus. Instead, not a soul is around & only appear later. Requests to have breakfast a bit earlier when leaving are not adhered to etc. The food was very good & the Boma dinner with the African entertainment was brilliant! Benson, one of the Game Rangers, makes up for all the little flaws. He has this huge smile & his enthusiasm is enough to make you forget about the cold. He went out of his way to make the drives memorable & found all the game requests! When a special is offered, it is worth a visit but I am not sure I would go when it is full tariff

Room Tip: Request suite 17. Lovely view & bigger than the rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick V, Internal Marketing Liaison Officer at Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge, responded to this review, 9 April 2016
Thanks for the positive feedback, we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012 via mobile

We stayed here with our 10 year old son for three nights in August 2011. Quite simply the place was amazing. I'm quite fussy when it comes to accommodation, the rooms are. Very nice, well appointed with very comfortable beds. The outside shower is great, standing there naked with hippos in the river in front of you, wowowwowowo. The general programme is a morning wake up call at 6, a snack breakfast then out game driving till mid morning when you come back for a full breakfast, no complaints about the food it was lovely. You then explore, sit around the pool or sunbathe before afternoon tea and cake, an evening game drive, dinner and ten bed. Game drives are simply amazing, the vehicles are large open top and safe. Everybody gets a good view and our ranger Charles was very very good, he can mix a good cocktail in the bush. I would define aptly recommend this place. As I said I'm a fussy traveller and I loved the place, really had no complaints at all

Stayed August 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Geoffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick V, Internal Marketing Liaison Officer at Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge, responded to this review, 9 April 2016
Thank you for the positive feedback, we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Dempseys from Australia, England and South Africa decided to make the Madikwe River Lodge the place to stay over five nights for Christmas. What an amazing holiday we had. We choose here as it seems an authentic South African experience, but still receiving the five star treatment.
The lodges were large, clean, comfortable and had everything you needed. You had to latch the door, no locks needed, because the naughty monkeys were able to open the doors and get in to steal the fruit. The bathroom had a large picture window facing the river so as you showered you could watch the scenery, however no-one could see you. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and even sang and danced for us on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. The food was good and we never seemed to stop being fed. The cooked breakfast was served to us but lunch and dinner were help yourself to as much as you wanted. There were also pre-game drive snacks and high tea in the afternoon. The game drives were the best we had ever been on, getting within touching distance to many animals, even the lions, as you can see from my photographs. The drive is about four hours from Jo'burg but it is possible to fly to the small airstrip, which if we went again we would do. I would highly recommend the Madikwe River Lodge for an amazing holiday.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janicedempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick V, Internal Marketing Officer at Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge, responded to this review, 9 April 2016
Thank you for the positive feedback, we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

This was our second safari after being in Entabeni and once again received a warm welcome with a drink and cold towel to clean our face with (much needed after a 5.5 hour drive along bumpy dusty roads). The chalets we stayed in were luxurious and very comfortable, beds were very soft and pillows huge. There was also complimentary water, tea/coffee and reading/sitting area near the bedroom and also a lovely balcony overlooking the river. The safari started at 5.30am so up at 5am with a wake-up call - a light snack of yoghurt/cookies/tea/coffee and then off we go! The safari lasted 3 hours and back before 9am for a huge breakfast. Lunch at 1pm and then snacks again at 4pm before a 4.30pm departure for the afternoon safari. Dinner was at 8pm for dinner. Food was excellent and a wide choice for every meal.
Our guide Takira was excellent, he was very keen to get as close to the animals as possible! We drove over plants and trees trying to get close to lions/wilderbeast/waterbuck/cerval/wild dogs etc. You could ask him any question about any animal and he would know the answer! He was very good at finding animals after dusk. We noticed that in the morning safari we did not see a lot of animals until about 8am after the grass had dried out, the afternoon safari was far more successful. We got within touching distance of elephants, zebras! I would thoroughly recommend Madikwe River Lodge to other travellers.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna121299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick V, Internal Marketing Liaison Officer at Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge, responded to this review, 9 April 2016
Thank you for the positive feedback, we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We stayed at the Madikwe River Lodge in September 2011 and had a very good time.

The food was very good, although the service a little slow.

We had a great guide for the game drives, he explained a lot and drove on each of the 4 drives a different route. The morning drives were a bit cold but the lodge provided us with warm ponchos, so it wasn't that bad.

We loved the cottages, they are very clean and all are located with a view on the river.

Thank you to the Madikwe team.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick V, Internal Marketing Liaison Officer at Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge, responded to this review, 9 April 2016
Thank you for the positive feedback, we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
16.7 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
349 reviews
8.4 mi away
Thakadu River Camp
Thakadu River Camp
#15 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
324 reviews
5.3 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Tau Game Lodge
Tau Game Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
468 reviews
3.4 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
579 reviews
16.3 mi away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#11 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge

Property: Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge
Address: | P.O. Box 17, Madikwe Game Reserve 2876, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madikwe River Lodge is positioned in the heart of Madikwe Game Reserve and offers attractive comfort in sixteen split level suites with an outdoor dining boma located on a central Island,accessed by a wooden bridge,this luxurious Lodge invites guests to enjoy the sights & sounds in mother Africa's land of brilliance. Surrounded by 75 000 hectares of malaria-free African sand veld.Each suites is individually decorated to create a rich African feel,and offers en-suites bathroom with a full range of guests amenities as well as a private wooden viewing deck overlooking the river. Madikwe Game Reserve, is world of breathtaking scenery and endless African bush. At Madikwe River Lodge the guided game drivers and trails are thrilling to be a part of with Africa offering you and incomparable experience in the wild. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madikwe River Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing