We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Madikwe River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

From the moment we arrived we were taken back by the the set up and the service. We were met with a cold refreshing drink and a cold towel and shortly after afternoon tea was served was served (all meals were fantastic) and then we went out for our first game drive with Takura (charles). What this man did not know was not worth knowing and his sense of humour was great (don't be surprised if he spins a yarn or 2).

We arrived back to dinner and then was shown to our room where there had laid rose petals and had a bottle of champagne chilled and wiring for us along with the bath having been drawn.

The rooms were clean and beds comfortable and you are given a call 30 min before your game drive.

I would go back in a heart beat as the staff, surroundings, accommodation and ford were far above the star rating for this place

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kearns21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick V, Internal Marketing Liaison Officer at Madikwe River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2016

Thank you for the positive feedback, we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I have to say of the 17 safaris we have been on in south africa 4 of which have been in madikwe this was by far our BEST based solely on our sighting ...leopard from our deck...all big 5 in an an afternoon plus cheetas , wild dogs and hyenas.
Our guide Jerry listend to what we wanted to see and made it happen. I got to the point that I asked to see a unicorn....he asked if a 1 horned gems buck would be acceptable.
As for the rest of staff they were extremly nice and very accomidating to the point they fixed a cake and sang happy birthday to my wife after overhearing it was her birthday.
The accomidations were decent how ever they were dated and not well maintained as far as aperinces. The food was average at best until the last night which was great....Eland venison fillets..delicious.

The only reasons it is not 5 stars is the food and the overall condition of the lodging....how ever I would recommend a stay here on Jerry guide abilities alone.
Thanks again Jerry.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank justindzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick V, Internal Marketing Liaison Officer at Madikwe River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2016

Thank you for the positive feedback, we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A group of us spent 3 nights at Madikwe River Lodge.It was wonderful. We had the best Ranger we have ever had, Charles (Takura). What an asset to a super lodge! He was so knowledgeable and so helpful with a great sense of humour!. He did his best to find us everything we wanted to see including cheetah,wild dogs, leopard etc, different birds and all sorts of plants, grasses and other flora.

Our chalets were clean and very comfortable and all round it was a fantastic experience. Would recommend it. The food was good and the staff were always helpful. Not as over the top as some of the other lodges but I preferred this approach. I would definitely want to go back there.

Room Tip: It would be nice to have milk in the fridge for tea and coffee. You have to ask for it. The monkeys...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reidJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick V, Internal Marketing Liaison Officer at Madikwe River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2016

Thanks for the positive feedback, we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a 3 night stay at the River Lodge and were pleasantly surprised by the hospitality shown by the staff, the accommodation and the food.

From our arrival until our departure, all our needs were attended to. Violet celebrated her birthday whilst we were there and the whole staff did a special song and dance for her at the evening dinner held in the Boma (as well as providing her with a specially baked cake). What an awesome surprise.

The game drives were special and our ranger, Takura, found us everything we needed/wanted to see. From the Big 5 to all the little creatures he made sure we saw them all.

All in all a wonderful time had and the Reserve and Lodge come highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick V, Internal Marketing Officer at Madikwe River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2016

Thank you for the positive feedback, we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Great place to stay to see the wildlife of Africa. Stayed 9 nights and loved every day we were there. The staff are brilliant,always smiling and happy to help with anything. Our ranger called Takura was the best I have had on any safari, and we have been on quite a few in our time. He found most of the things we wanted to see, which was good as our list contained many of the smaller animals which seem to get overlooked in favour of the big five.
Saw all the big five at least three times and also African wild dogs.
Great place to stay, and remember it is in the bush so dont expect five star treatment,if you want that go to the city.
I would go again and will reccomend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays
Thank worldtravelerLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick V, Internal Marketing Liaison Officer at Madikwe River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2016

Thank you for the positive feedback, we apologize for the inconvenience we may have cost you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This not only goes with medikwe itself it is also for the river lodge. As such property itself is just fine i can't rate it unless compare with other hotels in the area. But it was very good evaluating other aspects...service and hospitality of the staff was wonderful...chef was really innocent guy...he prepared everything we wanted...our females preferred to make some curries themselves...he let them make and prepared the required ingredients...with smiling face. He made whatever was required for indian, vegetarian group of people. Bensen was the highlight of the tour. he showed us whatever best he could do. I think he made our tour worthful for all the time to come...he understood the jungle very well, wonderful driver...was courageous too. He made all out efforts to show us whatever he could...even in the night he was very active driving and handling big torch and searched owl to lion. Great ranger. Villa no. 17 had a bigger balcony but river at hotel was real disappointment. Pool was disappointment too.

Room Tip: no. 17 is good but still near the reception area were better. like no. 10,11
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanjaykala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick V, Internal Marketing Liaison Officer at Madikwe River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2016

Thank you for the positive feedback, we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

What a wonderful place! We stayed for 3 nights, and did 5 game drives. Our ranger Benson was brilliant, we saw absolutely everything from a close range. The wild dogs are really something different to see. The staff are very friendly especially the chefs, as they kindly make a plan to fix you whatever you need. The rooms are nice,clean but a little small. There is a really nice bathroom and the tea facilities are a bonus. The wifi doesn't reach the rooms but that didn't bother our family.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick V, Internal Marketing Liaison Officer at Madikwe River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2016

Thank you for the positive feedback, we apologize for the inconvenience we may have caused you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
16.2 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#5 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
366 reviews
16.2 mi away
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodg...
#9 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
211 reviews
8.5 mi away
Thakadu River Camp
Thakadu River Camp
#12 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
502 reviews
3.5 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
628 reviews
5.5 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madikwe River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madikwe River Lodge

Address: R24, Madikwe Game Reserve 2876, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge)
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: £385 - £559 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Madikwe River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Madikwe River Lodge is positioned in the heart of Madikwe Game Reserve and offers attractive comfort in sixteen split level suites with an outdoor dining boma located on a central Island,accessed by a wooden bridge,this luxurious Lodge invites guests to enjoy the sights & sounds in mother Africa's land of brilliance. Surrounded by 75 000 hectares of malaria-free African sand veld.Each suites is individually decorated to create a rich African feel,and offers en-suites bathroom with a full range of guests amenities as well as a private wooden viewing deck overlooking the river. Madikwe Game Reserve, is world of breathtaking scenery and endless African bush. At Madikwe River Lodge the guided game drivers and trails are thrilling to be a part of with Africa offering you and incomparable experience in the wild. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Madikwe River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madikwe River Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing