We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best way to begin our first trip to Africa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tuningi Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best way to begin our first trip to Africa”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Our travel consultant-Classic Escapes-obtained reservations at 3 different lodges in different parts of South Africa for our first visit to Africa. We picked Tuningi after looking at Trip Advisor reviews. Our stay in late April lasted 4 nights. It was remarkable from our arrival at the small dirt landing strip, with our driver,game tracker, and guide Cornelius waiting to the special staff dinner starring the entire lodge in their usual roles as well native singers and dancers! Food was also top notch with choices. Other guests with children of all ages were well attended to. There is a real team effort at this lodge and we felt very special. We were comforted by the malaria free location and the size of this reserve. Lots of great photos, even on my phone camera. Not just the big 5, spider webs and chameleons are special too! Great Job Tuningi

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    9
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
91
68
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at the lodge last week and have to say the staff were absolutely superb. Food was fantastic and the enthusiasm from the staff was something to be believed. The lodges are definitely five stars and Gavin’s tracking ability is second to none. He doesn’t give up when on the trail and will push until he delivers the animals you want to see.

When you do relax in the lodge you still benefit from animals visiting the water hole which is just outside giving a fantastic all round experience.

Well done Heidi, Gavin and the crew, you gave us a wonderful break, we will definitely be back soon.

Room Tip: Simply tell Heidi what you need and if she can she will accomodate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Tuningi Lodge is everything(and more)that we expected.
Our Lodge was very comfortable and to sit on the balcony and see the elephants and zebras walk by was just unbelievable. The staff could not be friendlier and nothing was to much to ask of them. Our ranger was a very enthousiastic young man, who made our stay an experience never to forget. The Madikwe game reserve is a brilliant place to be if you want to have a more exclusive safari. We can highly recomment Tuningi as a lodge to stay when going on Safari in Madikwe.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I had a heck of a time finding a game reserve and safari lodge that would accept my children. It was even harder because my parents (in their 60s) were joining us too so no sleeping in tents for us. Tuningi was recommended to me by another South African and I couldn't have been more pleased.
The lodge was amazing - beautiful and luxurious, while at the same time, warm and friendly. The six of us had a special set of bungalows called Little Tuningi and we were so pampered and comfortable. The game drives were fantastic, and our guide (Pule!) was professional, kind, and made it fun for the boys.
We stayed three days and it could have been so much longer! Bravo, and well done, Tuningi!

Room Tip: This isnt a tip on the rooms but on safaris with kids. I refused to let my kids bring any sort of v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TakingTheBigBreak428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This was our second stay at Madikwe. The luxury lodges at Madikwe really treat their guest right.
Our drive from the Wonderboom gate was a little tenuous as it had recently rained. This lodge is about a 20 minute drive. I was worried about the drive in our sedan -- we made it but not without slipping around in a few places. Our tires and undercarriage were coated in mud. We saw quite a few animals on our drive in.
We arrived at 1:00 pm - Lunch at 2:00 - Game Drive at 4:00 - Dinner at 7:00 pm.
We were greeted with a welcome drink; paperwork was minimal; they didn't even ask us for a credit card. Meals are gourmet high end quality. Pool water was cold -- we didn't attempt it. We stayed in a two bedroom suite with a friend. Each bedroom had its own bath (large enough to fit two people) with bath salts, and outside private shower overlooking the small valley. The deck on the house was fitted around trees - complete privacy. The living room was spacious; full kitchen; thatch roof; mosquito netting over the king beds; fireplaces; telephone for wakeup calls; no television (thank you); ceiling fans; lots of windows toward the valley; robes; slippers; magazines and books; personalized letters and notes; quiet. At bedtime, chocolate, bed turned down, mosquito netting dropped, drapes pulled, lights on. Lighted walkways to the lodge. Eating on the deck in good weather. Games and activities for children. Books in the lodge.
The only added expenses to your bill are your drinks; everything else is inclusive. They are sensitive to dietary needs.
On our first game drive, we saw 4 of the big 5. Never have see a leopard in our two stays. Our driver was "okay" - we wouldn't say he was terrific. Perhaps he was thwarted by all the closed roads. On our previous stay, our game drives had both a driver and an amazing spotter. Only a driver at Tuningi. Although he was successful in finding the game, he did not seem as "engaged" in trying hard to see as much as possible.
Will we go back? Yes!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SequimWATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Despite the weather we had a wonderful stay at the lodge. The rooms are spacious and private and the staff friendly and helpful.
We had a fantastic time on the game drives ,our guide was very knowledgable. We would definitely go again particularly as the animals are not surrounded by 10 trucks at a time, something we have heard can happen in other reserves . Thanks to all the team for a great stay

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014

My wife (Marianne) and I have been to many places but our experience with Tuningi is one we will never forget and forever treasure.

From the friendly staff that made us feel at home at all times and the experienced rangers that gave us some unexpected adventures during our game drive but still making us feel safe, and to a suprise romantic setting in our lodge for our anniversary was what made the difference.

Every thing about Tuningi is worth it and thank you to all the staff and management for making it so special for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tshepo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
0.0 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
429 reviews
0.0 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
353 reviews
0.0 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
594 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#13 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
295 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jamala Madikwe
Jamala Madikwe
#1 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuningi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuningi Safari Lodge

Property: Tuningi Safari Lodge
Address: Madikwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tuningi Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuningi Safari Lodge, situated in the world renowned Big 5, malaria-free, Madikwe Game Reserve, proudly showcases this protected areas African success story in magnificent style! Tuningi offers guests superior accommodation enhanced by an impressive Big 5 safari experience and personalised service in a friendly and relaxed environment. The Lodge welcomes children and in doing so, avails them of the opportunity to experience the wonders of nature, wildlife and our delicate eco-system first-hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tuningi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuningi Safari Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing