We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Woodlane Hotel(Gaborone)
US$81
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Cresta Mahalapye(Mahalapye)
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Room 50 Two(Gaborone)
US$211
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveller rating
298
13
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
298
13
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsour honeymoonguide trevorprivate sectionhis knowledgewild dogsnight watchmangame drivesthe reservefrom start to finishfeel so welcomeoutdoor showeroverlooking the riverfloor to ceiling windowsroaring fireout of this worldeach morningsouth africa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 317 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here for the first 3 nights of our honeymoon before travelling on to Mozambique - it was amazing from start to finish!! Rooms were fantastic - they were huge, with huge glass windows/walls so you constantly felt like you were on safari (there were blinds if you didn't want to be constantly on safari!), we saw giraffe, monkeys and lots of birds from the room, other guests saw elephant and hippo! The open fire in the evenings (it got cold!) and freestanding bath all add to the experience and for honeymooners make it a very romantic stay. The safaris were amazing - our guide Niko was great - we saw the big 5 plus cheetah and the wild dog. The food was also fabulous, from the snacks whilst out in the jeep to the 3 course dinner and wine in the evening. We also used the spa whilst there and again the massages we had were very good. All the staff were great and ensured our stay was memorable. Would definately recommend and want to stay again - soon!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CynonValleyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights at Makanyane on the first leg of our honeymoon in South Africa and Seychelles. Don't think twice about booking if you have a chance - this place is fantastic! The suites are spectacular, beautifully furnished with the best bathroom we've ever seen (you have to try out the bath) and surrounded by glass for views over the Marico River. We were lucky enough to see plenty of wildlife from the comfort of our spacious terrace during our stay: zebra, waterbuck and bushbuck all came for a drink and we were welcomed by a group of hippos on arrival!

The food is excellent, a huge spread for breakfast and very impressive evening meals, the highlight being the local game dishes (the eland in particular was exceptional). The staff go out of their way to make you feel comfortable - they set up dinner in our suite for our first night s a surprise, which was a fantastic start to our honeymoon. The facilities at the lodge are excellent, with an infinity pool placed precariously overlooking the ravine (VERY cold in winter, but exhilarating), a small gym and spa service at reasonable prices. We spent one night in the lodge's hide, a tall platform in the middle of the bush, which was a great experience - the most complete silence you'll ever experience.

Finally (and most importantly for a safari destination) the game viewing was superb. Our guide, Eugene, was incredibly knowledgeable and responded patiently to my frequent questions, and the drives themselves were outstanding - highlights included our first encounter with the Makanyane (wild dog) pack running across the river, stalking a leopard at dusk, spotting a pangolin and completing the "Big 5" on our last drive with a buffalo herd (Eugene was even more excited than we were!).

Overall an incredible start to our honeymoon - well done to the team at Makanyane.

Room Tip: Photos are from Suite 6 - Bushwillow
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wimbledon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I recently stayed here on my honeymoon and am delighted to report the Lodge is absolutely fantastic. In brief:

The lodges - beautifully decked out and very comfortable.

The food - awesome. Snack in the morning pre dawn drive, then brilliant breakfast on return to the lodge, high tea pre the dusk drive and then a superb dinner. Food was consistently excellent.

The guide - Nikko was brilliant. He knew the huge park like the back of his hand. We saw four of the big five in the first 12 hours and had a brilliant time.

The service - delightful. Lots of nice touches likes the packed lunch on exit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Batontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My husband and I have just spent four nights at Makanyane Safari Lodge - and absolutely loved it!! From the minute we landed at Madikwe airstrip we didn't want to leave. We felt so welcome and the lodge itself was amazing.
Our suite was beautiful - with a large double bed, roll top bath, sun deck, open fire, outdoor shower and river view. The main lodge had a pool, lovely seating area and a den (with internet access).
You can go on two game drives a day (one very early morning - but worth it!) and one late afternoon (including a sunset drink of your choice). We saw all of the big 5 - (except the elusive leopard), wild dog, wild cat, cheetas, elephant, girafe etc... Our ranger Dylan was brilliant - he even found a hippo for us!
We were there in winter so the mornings were cold, however you are given so many blankets and a hot water bottle to hold that it was fine. The days were warm, and every night we were welcomed back with a glass of sherry and a fire lit in our room! We couldn't have been happier if we tried.
The food is amazing - You certianly never go hungry! And it's a brilliant opportunity to try some dishes you might not have had before....
I really cant recommend this lodge highly enough - we are already planning when to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chaela104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This lodge is amazing! The rooms are beautiful. The food is spectacular. The guides are wonderful. We stayed in a cottage called something like "Sheppard's lodge". It was the farthest from the main lodge and right next to a river. As a results we had amazing views of wildlife from our room including monkey, elephant (right next to our window!), antelope, and monitors - all of that without leaving our room! We also enjoyed the well informed guides and very close community atmosphere of the lodge. Of note, the lodge does have one computer if you really need the internet for something. Over call come here to unplug, eat well, and see spectacular wildlife.

Room Tip: Pick the farthest out cottage called something like "Sheppard's lodge" to see the most wildlife. We also enjoyed its outdoor shower.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mangosforaweek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews