We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's just perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It's just perfect”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

What can be said that hasn't already, all I can say is ......yes the food is fresh, balanced , exciting, filling and oh so yummy,
the game drives full of adventure , fun and information.

The rooms are special, u really feel like you are some place special - I watched elephants drink from the river from my out door shower, hippos hang out while I had the loveliest bath, bush buck wonder past while i relaxed , the bed is perfect and the service perfect .
The lodge is not "stuffy" it's better then that, it's relaxed and personable.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Czisastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakanyaneSafariLodge, Director of Sales at Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Many thanks for your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
182
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Simply outstanding!!! Wonderful rooms, fantastic game drives, great food and friendly staff. Dylan was an awesome tour guide and made the start of our honeymoon that bit extra special. Would I go again...try and stop me!!!

Room Tip: They are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moolins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakanyaneSafariLodge, Director of Sales at Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Congratulations once again on your marriage. We are so privledged to have been a part of your honeymoon experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Their is nothing more exhilarating to watch the wild life and big five in their natural environment. We travel at least once a year as a family to the bush veld . My kids love it.
Everything slows down around you and you become humble as you see nature at its best. Makanyane means wild dog in Tswana. They are an endangered specie and are magnificent to watch in their natural habitat. The food, hospitality having dinner outside in the bush with a big boma fire and having sundowners in the bush is something you cannot explain unless you have experienced it. All I can say it was AWSOME!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silverkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here for the first 3 nights of our honeymoon before travelling on to Mozambique - it was amazing from start to finish!! Rooms were fantastic - they were huge, with huge glass windows/walls so you constantly felt like you were on safari (there were blinds if you didn't want to be constantly on safari!), we saw giraffe, monkeys and lots of birds from the room, other guests saw elephant and hippo! The open fire in the evenings (it got cold!) and freestanding bath all add to the experience and for honeymooners make it a very romantic stay. The safaris were amazing - our guide Niko was great - we saw the big 5 plus cheetah and the wild dog. The food was also fabulous, from the snacks whilst out in the jeep to the 3 course dinner and wine in the evening. We also used the spa whilst there and again the massages we had were very good. All the staff were great and ensured our stay was memorable. Would definately recommend and want to stay again - soon!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CynonValleyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights at Makanyane on the first leg of our honeymoon in South Africa and Seychelles. Don't think twice about booking if you have a chance - this place is fantastic! The suites are spectacular, beautifully furnished with the best bathroom we've ever seen (you have to try out the bath) and surrounded by glass for views over the Marico River. We were lucky enough to see plenty of wildlife from the comfort of our spacious terrace during our stay: zebra, waterbuck and bushbuck all came for a drink and we were welcomed by a group of hippos on arrival!

The food is excellent, a huge spread for breakfast and very impressive evening meals, the highlight being the local game dishes (the eland in particular was exceptional). The staff go out of their way to make you feel comfortable - they set up dinner in our suite for our first night s a surprise, which was a fantastic start to our honeymoon. The facilities at the lodge are excellent, with an infinity pool placed precariously overlooking the ravine (VERY cold in winter, but exhilarating), a small gym and spa service at reasonable prices. We spent one night in the lodge's hide, a tall platform in the middle of the bush, which was a great experience - the most complete silence you'll ever experience.

Finally (and most importantly for a safari destination) the game viewing was superb. Our guide, Eugene, was incredibly knowledgeable and responded patiently to my frequent questions, and the drives themselves were outstanding - highlights included our first encounter with the Makanyane (wild dog) pack running across the river, stalking a leopard at dusk, spotting a pangolin and completing the "Big 5" on our last drive with a buffalo herd (Eugene was even more excited than we were!).

Overall an incredible start to our honeymoon - well done to the team at Makanyane.

Room Tip: Photos are from Suite 6 - Bushwillow
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wimbledon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I recently stayed here on my honeymoon and am delighted to report the Lodge is absolutely fantastic. In brief:

The lodges - beautifully decked out and very comfortable.

The food - awesome. Snack in the morning pre dawn drive, then brilliant breakfast on return to the lodge, high tea pre the dusk drive and then a superb dinner. Food was consistently excellent.

The guide - Nikko was brilliant. He knew the huge park like the back of his hand. We saw four of the big five in the first 12 hours and had a brilliant time.

The service - delightful. Lots of nice touches likes the packed lunch on exit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Batontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My husband and I have just spent four nights at Makanyane Safari Lodge - and absolutely loved it!! From the minute we landed at Madikwe airstrip we didn't want to leave. We felt so welcome and the lodge itself was amazing.
Our suite was beautiful - with a large double bed, roll top bath, sun deck, open fire, outdoor shower and river view. The main lodge had a pool, lovely seating area and a den (with internet access).
You can go on two game drives a day (one very early morning - but worth it!) and one late afternoon (including a sunset drink of your choice). We saw all of the big 5 - (except the elusive leopard), wild dog, wild cat, cheetas, elephant, girafe etc... Our ranger Dylan was brilliant - he even found a hippo for us!
We were there in winter so the mornings were cold, however you are given so many blankets and a hot water bottle to hold that it was fine. The days were warm, and every night we were welcomed back with a glass of sherry and a fire lit in our room! We couldn't have been happier if we tried.
The food is amazing - You certianly never go hungry! And it's a brilliant opportunity to try some dishes you might not have had before....
I really cant recommend this lodge highly enough - we are already planning when to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chaela104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
17.4 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
353 reviews
6.2 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
471 reviews
9.6 mi away
Jamala Madikwe
Jamala Madikwe
#1 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
593 reviews
17.0 mi away
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodg...
#10 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
190 reviews
6.5 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#5 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge

Property: Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge
Address: Krokodildrift, Madikwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious accommodation, exceptional food, welcoming service and thrilling game viewing combine to create an unforgettable safari experience at Makanyane Safari Lodge. Situated on private ground within the malaria free, "Big 5" Madikwe Game Reserve in South Africa's North West Province, the lodge caters for just sixteen guests, ensuring personal attention and exclusivity. Hidden in riverside forest, the eight luxurious suites, each with glass-walled bedrooms, overlook the Marico River, offering uninterrupted views of the surrounding bush. The suites have open-fronted lounges, private sundecks and spacious bathrooms that can be opened to the forest. The lodge has an infinity-edge swimming pool, gym, health and beauty treatment centre and lookout point with magnificent views. Fine wines from the award-winning wine list complement exceptional cuisine created by the team of internationally trained chefs. Meals are enjoyed in a variety of locations, from our riverside boma to intimate private meals in the comfort of the guest's suite. Makanyane has a rustic sleep-out hide, providing guests with an opportunity to sleep under the stars surrounded only by the African wilderness. The drama, mystery and beauty of Africa's wildlife and cultural heritage can be experienced on game drives and bush walks conducted by expert, passionate field guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and South African Hotels so you can book your Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makanyane Safari Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing