We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good all round lodge in Madikwe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good all round lodge in Madikwe”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed 2 nights in this lodge.
Room -well presented and really enjoyed 180 degree windows with views down on to river.
Food - very good and plentiful.Chef has a good eye for detail- we had Gemsbok and kudu for supper-lovely.
Main lodge - nice with pool
Wi Fi - only in lodge/ upstairs and intermittent /slow
Staff -very friendly and helpful
Game guide - we had Dillian. What a fantastic guide. Has an in depth knowledge of the Reserve and outside the usual ref animals, he goes to great lengths to impart his knowledge on the different grasses ,eco system ect. Top notch guide who has become my 11 year olds sons hero as he showed him various bush type survival methods. Worth visiting this Reserve just to have a guide like Dillian take you around.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 5&6 good views of river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakanyaneSafariLodge, Director of Sales at Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your review!
We do apologise about the Wi-Fi signal at the lodge being weak, we had lightning damage recently and are sorting out some of the issues this caused!
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and Dylan is most appreciative of your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
182
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

How do I fully express the way I feel about Makanyane in a few short sentences?
It's impossible to put into words the way the amazing team at the lodge make you feel, how they attend to your every whim, go out of their way to make sure that everyone is included and are extremely passionate about the work they do. Lynette, Tamzin, Sonnette, Shadrack, David and the rest of the team based at the Lodge are so incredibly attentive, they manage to magically appear whenever, and if, you need them. The rooms are all amazing. Curling up in bed with the light of the full moon shining through the amazing glass "walls" is the perfect way to end every day at Makanyane.
Nico was our game guide, and once again he managed to out-do himself with both passion for and knowledge of the area. He led us to Wild Dog, Lions, Cheetah, A Leopard Kill, Rhino's and many, many more animals.... Even stopping to explain the merits of the Golden Orb Spider and her web.... We can not wait to return

Room Tip: The higher the number (8) the further you are from the main lodge and the more adventurous you'l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grahamc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakanyaneSafariLodge, Director of Sales at Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
It was wonderful to see you both again, thank you for taking the time to post this review!
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had such good game-viewing, especially that leopard sighting!
Please let us know as soon as you are planning your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluffton, SC
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

My wife and I have brought numerous groups of tourists to South Africa and have had the ability to the best the country has to offer. Makanyane Safari Lodge is exactly that - the best! We simply cannot imagine ourselves ever going anywhere else and that is after having spent almost 50 nights here. The staff will amaze you with their customer service, the suites are absolutely world class and the chef is off the charts. I would be shocked if you did not feel the same way about this magnificent property as we do - it truly is heaven on earth!

Room Tip: They will all be the best you've ever stayed in. Room 8 is for the adventurous spirit, but 6 mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakanyaneSafariLodge, Director of Sales at Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
It was wonderful, as always, to see you and the beautiful Mrs Rice, Andrew!
Thank you so much for coming to stay at the lodge once again, and for this kind review!
Keep well until we see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Don't go to South Africa and stay elsewhere. The staff is friendly, accommodating and knowledgeable. The Safari Guides seem to have doctorates in animals, from the smallest beetle to the largest elephant. Every expectation of our stay was exceeded. The food is world-class and the overall experience is beyond anyone's dreams. Why else would two American Presidential families visit there?

Room Tip: All of the individual Chalet's are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakanyaneSafariLodge, Director of Sales at Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review, Bob! As always, it was terrific to see you!
Many thanks also for spoiling the staff as you did, I know it was hugely appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed for three nights at the start of our honeymoon here and from start to finish it was absolutely faultless every little detail had been thought of for you.

We got picked up from the air strip and by the time we had reached the lodge we had seen giraffe and a big herd of elephant by the river.

The room was even better than the photos on the website, we had room six and it was such a luxury to be in your room watching animals coming to drink there every day.

Food was fantastic from breakfast thought to dinner the kitchen made delicious top quality food that included game meats.

Trevor our guide was superb, made such an effort to find what we wanted to see. His knowledge was great and you could see just how much passion and respect he had for all types of animals from the biggest elephant down to the smallest dung beetle!!

All of Lynette's staff are a credit to the lodge, friendly, professional but most of all they do everything they can to make sure you have a fantastic time.

This place surpassed my expectations which were very high to start with.

If you are thinking of going to South Africa on Safari this is the place to go and a place we are already planning to go back to!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bramble443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakanyaneSafariLodge, Director of Sales at Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Many thanks for your review – we were delighted to meet you both, and that you spent some of your honeymoon with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
POrtsmouth UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at makanyane for four nights at the start of our honeymoon and it was our first ever safari. And what a start it was... On the first drive within hours of arriving we saw lions, giraffes, rhinos, elephants... Amazing. The guides are incredible and really knowledgable.

The rooms are beautiful.... Stepping in after a 36 hour flight from the U.K. and both our jaws dropped to the floor. The glassed walled rooms ensure an uninterrupted view of the river where if your lucky you will see hippos go past. The beds are comfy, and the outdoor shower an experience within itself.

The food is in abundance.... I think we both left a few pounds heavier. It's non stop and before you even get a chance to be hungry the next course is there. Simply faultless!!!

What makes this place though is their staff... Each and every person you meet wants to talk to you and takes the time to remember your name and each and every conversation you have had with them previously. Nothing is too much trouble and whereas in some hotels such service would feel too much at makanyane it's genuine. They want to talk to you to find out about you and your day. Again faultless!!

Another plus side to this lodge is the safari experience you get. We had more than one heart in your mouth moments with lairy elephants descending in the camp, and the glare of eyes caught by the torch as we headed back to our room in the pitch black escorted by their knowledgable security guides. We also had elephants by the river as we ate lunch, and buffaloes as we dined for dinner....

A truly magnificent experience.... When can we go back.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank nell19981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakanyaneSafariLodge, Director of Sales at Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Congratulations again to you both on your wedding! Thank you for spending part of your honeymoon with us, it was a huge pleasure to meet such a great couple.
By the way, we have penciled in reservations for you for your 2nd, 5th and 50th anniversaries so far…
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Makanyane Lodge is outstanding. From the moment we arrived on the airstrip we knew we were in for a wonderful two nights of sheer bliss.
The Lodge is expertly run by a team of people who are obviously passionate about not only the bush, but about making sure that you have the best experience. Everything is possible!
From the welcome cocktail on day one to the farewell breakfast two nights later we were pampered and catered for like kings.
Our room was breath-taking, with three walls made of glass, we felt as if we were in the bush. The outdoor shower was an incredible experience that added a tiny risk to the enjoyment.
The two game drives a day with the most informative guide were wonderful. Sharing the experience with 3 other couples made it so much fun.
We spent a night in the "hide"...... Do yourself a favour! If it's available, spend a night under the stars listening to the bush. Outstanding.

Can't wait to go back......

Room Tip: All rooms are exquisite. Only 8 to choose from. Ask to spend a night in the hide
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grahamc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakanyaneSafariLodge, Director of Sales at Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Many thanks for your review, it is greatly appreciated! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us – and look forward to welcoming you both back to Makanyane as soon as you are able to make it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
17.4 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
353 reviews
6.2 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
471 reviews
9.6 mi away
Jamala Madikwe
Jamala Madikwe
#1 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
594 reviews
17.0 mi away
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodg...
#10 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
190 reviews
6.5 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge

Property: Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge
Address: Krokodildrift, Madikwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious accommodation, exceptional food, welcoming service and thrilling game viewing combine to create an unforgettable safari experience at Makanyane Safari Lodge. Situated on private ground within the malaria free, "Big 5" Madikwe Game Reserve in South Africa's North West Province, the lodge caters for just sixteen guests, ensuring personal attention and exclusivity. Hidden in riverside forest, the eight luxurious suites, each with glass-walled bedrooms, overlook the Marico River, offering uninterrupted views of the surrounding bush. The suites have open-fronted lounges, private sundecks and spacious bathrooms that can be opened to the forest. The lodge has an infinity-edge swimming pool, gym, health and beauty treatment centre and lookout point with magnificent views. Fine wines from the award-winning wine list complement exceptional cuisine created by the team of internationally trained chefs. Meals are enjoyed in a variety of locations, from our riverside boma to intimate private meals in the comfort of the guest's suite. Makanyane has a rustic sleep-out hide, providing guests with an opportunity to sleep under the stars surrounded only by the African wilderness. The drama, mystery and beauty of Africa's wildlife and cultural heritage can be experienced on game drives and bush walks conducted by expert, passionate field guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and South African Hotels so you can book your Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makanyane Safari Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing