We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Romantic, Special, Real Safari experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“The best Romantic, Special, Real Safari experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Fantasic place, way better than expected.

Elephant at the pool, in fromt of your bedroom at night, lots of game around.

Go for safari with Dylan, he is the crocodile dundee of the Makanyane. Real fun, good guy.

Also ask to sleep a night in the private hide-out in the middle of the bush, nobody around you in a circle of >10kms, except for all the animals obviously.

We will come back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OlivierBlom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakanyaneSafariLodge, Director of Sales at Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Many thanks for your review, Oliver.
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you both again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
173
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I had an absolutely amazing 6 night safari here in February 2014. The lodge is luxurious yet intimate with only 8 suites and the staff are very warm and welcoming.
The suites are superb, with beautiful bathrooms, outside showers, panoramic views with floor to ceiling glass and outside space too.
The game viewing was also second to none and the rangers there are the best I've ever experienced. We saw the "big 5" within 24 hours of being there - and so much more!
I also had the most unforgettable awesome experience of a bull elephant coming right up close to the river as I was swimming in their infinity pool elevated above him!
Thank you so much Makanyane for your amazing hospitality, beautiful food and brilliant rangers! I have pictures and memories to die for! We will be back soon I hope!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakanyaneSafariLodge, Director of Sales at Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Many thanks for the kind review – it was great to meet you and we are delighted that you both enjoyed staying at the lodge.
You know where we are now, so you have no reasons at all to stay away for too long, hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
251 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We came here in February for three nights with friends and we had the most phenomenal experience and we would definitely come back here in a flash or recommend this lodge to other travelers. So much detail has gone in to making this lodge so beautiful in every way and you cannot fault it. You really feel that you are in Africa with the way the lodge is designed which adds to the experience when you stay here.

When we arrived at the lodge we were welcomed by the staff who gave us nice cold drinks and instantly made us feel so welcome and at home. The lodge is spectacular in terms of how it is decorated and the suite we stayed in looked out over the river and the furnishings were so lovely with a massive bed. We felt so pampered and the lodge felt so luxurious.

The food was exceptional and we had ostrich, impala and water hog and all the meals were nicely varied and nicely presented. On one of the nights we dined outside in the boma next to an open fire which was lovely.

Our game ranger was Niko and he was incredible and made it his mission for us to see as much as possible. We were so lucky and we saw cheetah, wild dog, leopard, lion and lion cubs, hyena, jackal, hippo, elephant, crocodile, rhino and so much more - we even saw a snake devouring a bird in the tree top. Niko really listened to what we wanted to see and was so attentive in every way. We went on a game drive each morning and each evening and every time we saw something different and it was magical in every way, especially as we saw some amazing sun rises and sun sets.

We had such an incredible time here and the lodge exceeded all our expectations. We would absolutely come back here and hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biffro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakanyaneSafariLodge, Director of Sales at Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words, they are greatly appreciated! It is terrific that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the game viewing was so good – Nico is still talking about being able to watch the snake eating the bird, it was a very special sighting, something not seen very often at all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Madikwe reserve is rich in wildlife. But if you want 5 star service included, look no further. The rangers are friendly, very experienced and well respected in the reserve. Lodge staff and extremely friendly and accommodating. Food is delicious. Lodge location is amazing. We had elephant, hippo, giraffe and wildebeest visit the lodge.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakanyaneSafariLodge, Director of Sales at Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Many thanks, David, your feedback is greatly appreciated.
We agree that Madikwe is a very special place and we are very happy that you liked Makanyane! We are hoping to see you both again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

One of the most exceptional experiences I have ever had, bar none. I would go back in a heart beat. So incredibly beautiful and one of the most majestic places I have ever been. Don't even get me started on the meals! WOW is the least I can say and the morning and evening safari's - wonderful, absolutely wonderful. One of the best, the very best, trips I have ever taken. 10 STARS at least. We were there in Jan of 2013 - sorry that date was not an option.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect, just take what is open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakanyaneSafariLodge, Director of Sales at Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Thank you for your kind review, Barbara!
It is great to hear from you and we are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at Makanyane. Don't wait too long before planning your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed 2 nights in this lodge.
Room -well presented and really enjoyed 180 degree windows with views down on to river.
Food - very good and plentiful.Chef has a good eye for detail- we had Gemsbok and kudu for supper-lovely.
Main lodge - nice with pool
Wi Fi - only in lodge/ upstairs and intermittent /slow
Staff -very friendly and helpful
Game guide - we had Dillian. What a fantastic guide. Has an in depth knowledge of the Reserve and outside the usual ref animals, he goes to great lengths to impart his knowledge on the different grasses ,eco system ect. Top notch guide who has become my 11 year olds sons hero as he showed him various bush type survival methods. Worth visiting this Reserve just to have a guide like Dillian take you around.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 5&6 good views of river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakanyaneSafariLodge, Director of Sales at Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your review!
We do apologise about the Wi-Fi signal at the lodge being weak, we had lightning damage recently and are sorting out some of the issues this caused!
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and Dylan is most appreciative of your kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

How do I fully express the way I feel about Makanyane in a few short sentences?
It's impossible to put into words the way the amazing team at the lodge make you feel, how they attend to your every whim, go out of their way to make sure that everyone is included and are extremely passionate about the work they do. Lynette, Tamzin, Sonnette, Shadrack, David and the rest of the team based at the Lodge are so incredibly attentive, they manage to magically appear whenever, and if, you need them. The rooms are all amazing. Curling up in bed with the light of the full moon shining through the amazing glass "walls" is the perfect way to end every day at Makanyane.
Nico was our game guide, and once again he managed to out-do himself with both passion for and knowledge of the area. He led us to Wild Dog, Lions, Cheetah, A Leopard Kill, Rhino's and many, many more animals.... Even stopping to explain the merits of the Golden Orb Spider and her web.... We can not wait to return

Room Tip: The higher the number (8) the further you are from the main lodge and the more adventurous you'l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grahamc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MakanyaneSafariLodge, Director of Sales at Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
It was wonderful to see you both again, thank you for taking the time to post this review!
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had such good game-viewing, especially that leopard sighting!
Please let us know as soon as you are planning your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
4.6 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
6.2 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
17.4 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
17.5 mi away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#12 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
10.2 mi away
Jamala Madikwe
Jamala Madikwe
#1 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge

Property: Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge
Address: Krokodildrift, Madikwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious accommodation, exceptional food, welcoming service and thrilling game viewing combine to create an unforgettable safari experience at Makanyane Safari Lodge. Situated on private ground within the malaria free, "Big 5" Madikwe Game Reserve in South Africa's North West Province, the lodge caters for just sixteen guests, ensuring personal attention and exclusivity. Hidden in riverside forest, the eight luxurious suites, each with glass-walled bedrooms, overlook the Marico River, offering uninterrupted views of the surrounding bush. The suites have open-fronted lounges, private sundecks and spacious bathrooms that can be opened to the forest. The lodge has an infinity-edge swimming pool, gym, health and beauty treatment centre and lookout point with magnificent views. Fine wines from the award-winning wine list complement exceptional cuisine created by the team of internationally trained chefs. Meals are enjoyed in a variety of locations, from our riverside boma to intimate private meals in the comfort of the guest's suite. Makanyane has a rustic sleep-out hide, providing guests with an opportunity to sleep under the stars surrounded only by the African wilderness. The drama, mystery and beauty of Africa's wildlife and cultural heritage can be experienced on game drives and bush walks conducted by expert, passionate field guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Sanctuary Makanyane Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makanyane Safari Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing