We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thakadu River Camp
Nearby Hotels
Woodlane Hotel(Gaborone)
Booking.com
View Deal
Cresta Mahalapye(Mahalapye)
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Room 50 Two(Gaborone)
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gaborone Hotel(Gaborone)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
393 results
Traveller rating
292
69
17
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
292
69
17
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxury tentsgame drivesmarico riverfudgecommunity runwild dogsthe reservelocal communityelectric blanketsbush experiencegame drivermosquito netair conditioninga king size bedthoroughly enjoyed our staythe main lodgewhole experience
Filter
Updating list...
267 - 272 of 393 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2013

My husband and I absolutely adored our stay at Thakadu. Everything was perfect, from the extremely attentive and professional staff to the amazing game drives conducted by Patience (we had two of our best lion sightings ever) to the luxury tents and the quietness of the place. And the elephants that come down the river in front of the lodge on an almost daily basis certainly added to the experience.
We also really enjoyed the fact that the lodge is owned by the local community, meaning that the staff really cared about their lodge and their guests.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwen079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

A great 'run away ' for the weekend place with all the facilities at hand. Comfortable accommodation, friendly staff and very knowledgeable guides to take you on game drives .

You can be assured to be well looked after.

The lodge is community based run you know that your money is well spent. Will definitely return and can recommend it wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: If you have a problem walking ask to be close to reception as some rooms are a distance from the reception area.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annemarie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The personal service at Thakadu River Camp was second to none.
From the first moment when we were greeted with washcloths and cold drinks upon arrival.
(and after every game drive) The staff is fantastic! The Lodge is beautiful the food amazing and the room/tent was very comfortable and well appointed ...a true luxury tent experience .
I was placed in tent #12 which is the last one and a bit of a walk but I would ask to stay there again. The experience of having a Rhino right outside the tent and the feeling of being in the wild, listening to the lions roar at night was awesome! Sitting on the deck I would watch as monkeys playing in the trees fell into the river. We did both a morning and an afternoon game drive everyday and Patience and Fortune (our game drivers) were amazing! I was in Fortune's vehicle every day and we decided he is "TheBomb.com" !
With a group of 18 (Professional photographers) they did a fantastic job of getting us the shots we wanted! The entire staff is very attentive and personable. Joseph at the bar was always attentive and Modi and Tumi greeting me each day by name. The food was delicious ! We went on the game drives in an open air Land Rover ..self drives are not allowed which makes for a more authentic and exclusive experience. Within 2 minutes of the first game drive and saw 20-30 elephants at the river by the lodge! We saw four of the Big Five (missed the Leopard).
The morning coffee breaks and Sundowners were always a treat and I will be back some day!
The most amazing experience...

Room Tip: If you don't want to walk...get a room close to the lodge (1, 2, or 3) but I loved staying in 12 and didn't mind the 5-7 minute walk.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We flew in with FedAir from Joburg and Peter and Kim who manage the Lodge met us at the airstrip. On the drive to the Lodge we saw Zebra and elephants!! The River Camp is a great place for an authentic safari experience. Our room/tent was luxurious, the staff were very helpful and Patience our Safari ranger was fantastic. Her knowledge of Madikwe, the animals, birds and environment was extraordinary, she even gave us an astrology lesson on the evening drive.
The Lodge has a nice swimming pool for daytime relaxation, limited but good food, a bar, good wifi and the rooms have nice decks to relax on. The safari experience was exceptional we saw: lions and their cubs, cheetahs, elephants, zebra, giraffe, black and white rhinos, wild dogs, wilderbeast, a honey badger! Impala, Gudu, many different and fascinating birds. This is a great place for a genuine safari experience and sounds like it is much better than Kruger and malaria free!

Room Tip: There are about 12 lodges the higher the number, the farther you have to walk from the main lodge. If you are with children I would specify lodges 1 - 6. But they all looked good.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisandVeronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Thakadu is a great place for a bushbreak!

Selfdrives are not allowed in the park, so gameviewing feels exclusive. At most sightings it was only our car present (lions, rhinos, wild dogs, elephants etc etc). The morning and afternoon drive was supposed to be 3 hours respectively but both of them were 4 hours, great value for money!

Unfortunately we did not have much time in the very nice tent/room as the morning drive starts already at five am...

What I really appreciate with Thakadu is that it is community owned and that the game rangers are from the community!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tichaona11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews