We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great weekend in the bush”
Review of Thakadu River Camp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thakadu River Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great weekend in the bush”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The venue, the service, the game drives, it was all perfect. A very romantic venue for that special getaway. Only one little disappointment, when in the bush the menu could have included some game items.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne H, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful ratings, receiving positive feedback is most rewarding to the
Thakadu Team. We are glad that your stay with us made for an unforgettable experience and we
appreciate your suggestion for including venison on the menu. We look forward to welcoming you back to Thakadu River Camp.

Regards
Hanlie Lombard
General Manager
Thakadu River Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    59
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
116
134
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
357 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stunning location, great staff and the whole experience just works very well. It's not the easiest to get to but once you have arrived that is soon forgotten we would thoroughly recommend, particularly as the game is plentiful and madikwe sparsely populated.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne H, Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank You for taking the time to review Thakadu River Camp on TripAdvisor. We are glad
to hear that you enjoyed the views of the various wildlife surrounding the Madikwe and we look forward to welcoming you back to Thakadu river Camp in the near future.

Regards
Hanlie Lombard
General Manager Thakadu River Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
70 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Spent 2 nights at Thakadu river camp 1-3 July 14, nice safari tents and very good food and service, had great game viewing, Tents are far apart from the lodge so tents form 8 to 12 are the farthest and quit a walk to main lodge.
saw 4 of the big 5 and it was pretty cold in early morning and later evening.
overall its a value for money safari lodge.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khalil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne H, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank You for taking the time to review Thakadu, we appreciate the positive ratings. We
are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to match your expectations.
We take great pride in making your trip magical and memorable and look forward to your return.

Regards
Hanlie Lombard
General Manager
Thakadu River Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were privileged to marry recently under the Fig Tree in Madikwe Reserve, then celebrate around the boma with our wedding party hosted by the wonderful folks of Thakadu.
Thank you Wayne, My friend Tsholofela,Frans, Joyce, Lucky, Thabang, Atung, Jane, Safira, Moses, Kenny, Boitumelo, Tebogo, Madiegi, Nondumelo,Grace and all the rest.
Thakadu is a hidden gem, we can't recommend it enough, we love the fact that is owned by the local community and so they benefit most. Right on the Marico River - the luxury tents are beautiful,spotless and spaced out perfectly so you never crowded. Mealtimes are a treat - perfect servings offered not excessive like sometimes offered. the game experience is beyond expectation!Wild Dogs-lion-cheetah- black and white rhino, buffalo, elephant! Happiest times of our lives are on the back of a landcruiser under african skies!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil312659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne H, Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for posting your review and ratings on TripAdvisor. We are absolutely thrilled to receive your complimentary and rewarding feedback as indeed, your marriage at Thakadu River Camp was a very special occasion for you and your family and my team of staff.
It was wonderful to host the family and create an experience that will be with you forever.
We wish the two of you a strong and healthy relationship on your passage through the years to come. Please return to celebrate an anniversary with us!

Wayne Herholdt
General Manager
Thakadu River Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great time at Thakadu!
Even if my little boy felt sick (nothing to do with the lodge.), we had so much fun!
People there are so kind and the area is full of animals.
feeling at home with a big family, "pets" included!(spiteful monkeys, they stole sugar from our room !!!!!!) We love u!
Food is tasty, rooms are fantastic and the atmosphere is so lovely....we miss u a lot!
Thank u guys!
You really took care of us !
Elena and little Edoardo from Italy

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne H, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Good evening Elena and little Edoardo,

So very nice to receive your posting on TripAdvisor, it is wonderful to hear from you and to receive your complimentary words of thanks.
Come and visit us again when next you visit South Africa, we are really so close from OR Tambo and the staff would love to host you and Edoardo once again.

Until such time,

Wayne Herholdt
General Manager
Thakadu River Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful place to experience nature. From arrival you are treated as royalty and nothing is too much trouble for the professional staff. The game drives is excellent and we got to see some great wildlife.I will definitely be back as the accommodation and experience is really outstanding. Congratulations and thanks to all at this resort.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne H, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thakadu greetings,
Thank you kindly for your wonderful feedback of your experience with us. We are happy to note that you enjoyed the quality of your game drives in this special Game Reserve and that our staff made your visit special to such a degree.
We look most forward to hosting you as one of our return guests and the opportunity to place a bottle of wine on your table as a gesture to welcome your return.

Gratefully,

Wayne Herholdt
General Manager
Thakadu River Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Reception , food and game drives are very good. Pathways to tents needs a little attention as it is uneven and may be a problem at night. Although there are lighting on the pathways, it is not enough to see clearly. It is easy to trip on the uneven path.
My tent's sliding door to the terrace was difficult to open(does not slide open easily). Once outside on terrace and door is closed, there is no handle to slide it open again. Handle missing.
The woodwork on terrace is dirty and dusty - do not touch it! Woodwork all over needs attention and upgrading.
Food and braai in boma is fantastic and recommended. Service is good.

Room Tip: Beware of monkeys on terrace, keep doors closed at all times. (See that you can open your terrace do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Louis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne H, General Manager at Thakadu River Camp, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your posting on TripAdvisor and for your valuable suggestions.
We have rectified the sliding door on your tent and replaced the missing handle. All tents have gone through a thorough cleaning including the outside decking so the dust from the Easter Season has now been removed.
I am happy to note that you enjoyed our culinary flair and warm service.

Gratefully,

Wayne Herholdt
General Manager
Thakadu River Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
17.3 mi away
Tau Game Lodge
Tau Game Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
467 reviews
18.3 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
348 reviews
17.3 mi away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#12 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
573 reviews
9.5 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
457 reviews
8.5 mi away
Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge
Three Cities Madikwe River Lodge
#20 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thakadu River Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thakadu River Camp

Property: Thakadu River Camp
Address: Madikwe Game Reserve, South Africa
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Thakadu River Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Thakadu River Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thakadu River Camp Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing