We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service, Outstanding food, Amazing Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Morukuru Family Madikwe
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
1 review
“Excellent Service, Outstanding food, Amazing Experience”
Reviewed 29 March 2011

I spent 3 nights in the Farm House with a group of friends, and the experience was fantastic. Everything from morning to night went smoothly with zero stress for schedule, and the entire staff was extremely accommodating to any request. I'm sure I will return another stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocEdge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    1
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
220
36
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andijk, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Thank you everybody at Morukuru- we have had a wonderful time in this beautiful place! Fabulous food, friendly service: all with the African smile. We have enjoyed wonderfull game drives and we will try to remember all that you shared with us in terms of knowledge and experience!
We were absolutely overwhelmed by the exceptional service and the caring that was shown towards us. We have never encountered anthing like this before. We will never forget this amazing experience and Morukuru will be on our lips whenever we recommend a great bush destination! Unfortunately we had to leave ... with tears in our eyes.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank De-Wit-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zaltbommel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 December 2010

Back from Paradise

In a cold and rainy area we dream of our stay in the Morukuru resort. With its mild climate, its sunshine and very friendly people serving you. It is not imaginable that it is just a few weeks ago.
What do you feel if an elephant with its ears spread wide stands within 3 meters of your car. And that car is open, it has only protection against the sun. But the ranger and his tracker sit at ease, the tracker on a seat on the left front mudguard. He can nearly touch the elephant.
After the meeting with that elephant a black rhinoceros, a group of lions, and then a female giraffe with its young. Incredible it is only some weeks ago, the silence, the wild animals, the fine weather, the service.
Returning from the Safari the people of the Morukuru Farm House receive you with excellent drinks and hot towels. As we left at 6 in the morning, breakfast is served after return, the drinks and the hot towels. And we continued the morning at the swimming pole. Or we took a rest in the magnificent rooms at the Farm House. A great opportunity to refill the batteries for the next Safari in the evening.
Traces of lions were detected by the tracker. The tracks were fresh, and therefore the ranger and the tracker concluded the lions must be in the near vicinity. The tracker stepped down from his seat and started following the trail by foot. No personal protection. To our surprise, the ranger drove the car further, leaving the tracker. Just by a soft whistle they kept contact. And the tracker found the group of lions. He approached till a distance of 300 meters, hidden in bushes and waited for the return of the car. Afterwards, we drove to the lions, a group of some eight animals. Their bellies were round, they obviously had eaten the night before and were just lazy.
At the Farm House we experienced the same procedure as in the morning, but now alcoholic drinks were presented too. And then the dinner, prepared by the excellent cook Peter Mamabolo, and served by Flappie, who always spontaneously smiled. We all gained some weight: dinners and drinks were too tasty to leave anything. It was Paradise over there.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zaltbommel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2010

In 2008 we visited Morukuru Lodges in Madikwe Game Reserve with our young son and we had an excellent time. Private and exclusive: 7-star rating. But this time (Oct. 2010) we returned to stay at the new and improved Morukuru Farm House, where we also met with friends travelling through Africa. THIS WAS WONDERFUL! When you're travelling with a group or larger family, this is the place to be! So very hospitable and complete. Luxury with a layed back feeling, privacy or fun in joining the group: everything is possible. Great couple that manages and organizes game drives and a very good tracker. Great food, even greater wines. We saw lots of animals, also when we bush walked. We can absolutely recommend Morukuru Farm House and Morukuru Lodges! Real value for money and a great experience!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhoogvliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2010

One of our most exciting visits was to the Morukuru estate in South Africa.
Once we arrived in Johannesburg , a guide escorted us to the Morukuru private airplane. A first class trip to a dream holiday, as we experienced later.
After landing in the bush the rangers were waiting for us. In a open jeep a nice trip followed to our destination. All stress disappeared at once.
Arriving at the owners house, the staff was awaiting us with a big smile and cocktails. It felt like coming home after a long trip.
Because of my work and relations I’ve seen a lot, but I was flabbergasted after looking at the house. Beautiful ,luxurious ,elegant and with all modern details you can imagine, but still African .
Very well done!
It was a bless to stay here. Every morning a big smile from one of the butlers. Daily with ranger Kevin and Tommy on game drive.
And guess what, this time we’ve seen all the big five ! The two just didn’t give up till we’d seen also the Leopard. And we saw even more. Wild dogs, the brown Hyena…
Luce surprised us with a warm nice smelling bath, surrounded with candles and rose leaves. How romantic.
It’s too much to write all down. You just have to experience yourself. It’s pure overindulgence from beginning to the end, with a staff it’s hard to say goodbye to .
So we just have to return.


Monique Collignon

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abacadabra046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2010

We cannot stop raving about our amazing vacation at Morukuru! We stayed at the Lodge with five young children (ages 5-10) and it was, by far, the best part of our trip to South Africa. Amy, Anthony, Jabu and everyone at the Lodge made us feel like family. They were so wonderful, attentive and never intrusive. The 5 star meals were so incredible - we wanted to bring Asion home with us! I have traveled all over the world and have never had such amazing service!!! We all went in with pretty high expectations and the Morukuru family far exceeded them. Fireplaces in each bedroom, the most comfortable (heated) beds you've ever slept in, gorgeous architecture and furnishings, wireless internet, totally flexible schedules, INCREDIBLE game drives (thanks to Anthony and Tom, our tracker), fantastic people - Morukuru is first-class all the way! Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RunLikeYouMeanIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

The farmhouse was absolutely amazing. The staff was wonderful, making us feel comforatable. We were treated like royalty, even our children. The game drives were customized to meet our needs (see the best game); the guide and ranger/tracker allowed the kids to drive the vehicle and be trackers (in safe areas of course). The butler, cooks, and remainder of the staff also were inclusive of the kids; playing soccer with them in the front yard, allowing them to cook/bake local foods, teach them about nature, etc. As for the adults, we were spoiled - amazing food, wines, liquor, luxurious beds, views, hot drawn baths, etc. They not only addressed our every need, but exceeded our wildest dreams anticipating what we might like next. This is a must visit place for all. My mother-in-law vacationed with us and she had already been on 6 other, high-end safaris; she claimed that Morokuru's Farmhouse was leaps and bounds better than any other place she had been.

The highlight of our safari was the amazing breakfast we enjoyed in the middle of the game reserve overlooking zebras, impalas, nyalas, and kudu. You really should visit this hidden gem.

This resort is all-inclusive - safri drives, game reserve fees, three meals plus mid morning snack and afternoon cocktails; laundry service, entertainment, high speed internet, etc.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emsephs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
7.9 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
2.6 mi away
Jamala Madikwe
Jamala Madikwe
#1 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
5.5 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
16.9 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
15.9 mi away
Rhulani Safari Lodge
Rhulani Safari Lodge
#13 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morukuru Family Madikwe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morukuru Family Madikwe

Property: Morukuru Family Madikwe
Address: Madikwe, Madikwe Game Reserve 2838, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Morukuru Family Madikwe 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morukuru Family is a collection of three exclusive-use private safari villas on private property in the Madikwe Game Reserve. Owner's House has 2 bedrooms, River House has 3 bedrooms and Farm House has 5 bedrooms. We welcome children of all ages and are very family friendly. Our 'Morukuru Freedom Concept' means that our guests have total freedom to do whatever they want, whenever they want. During their stay in one of the private houses all activities are included, as well as all meals and drinks. We provide a private gamedrive vehicle for each house, including a private guide and a tracker. The rest of the staff at the house comprises of a private chef, a butler and general housekeeping staff. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Morukuru Family Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing