We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience of a lifetime”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Morukuru Family Madikwe
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Experience of a lifetime”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

To visit Morukuru's Farmhouse is to experience quintessential decadence and luxury. The incredibly warm and friendly staff made it very clear from the moment our family arrived that nothing was too much trouble. They were unobtrusively ubiquitous and seemed able to predict our every need, often even before we knew them ourselves! The house itself is beautifully and lavishly decorated, and yet retains a comfortable and easy atmosphere. Anthony and Ferguson's knowledge of the bush is formidable. Thanks to our gracious hosts, Amy, Snthony, Philip, Isaac, Joyce and the rest of the Farmhouse staff for a truly unforgettable experience. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lize v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorukuruEluisa, Public Relations Manager at Morukuru Family Madikwe, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
The Morukuru Family is delighted that you had such a special time with us and we trust you will cherish your magical memories forever.
We hope to welcome you back soon - your "home" in Madikwe will be waiting for you.
Best wishes from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    1
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
229
37
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broederstroom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We were welcomed to Farmhouse in Morukuru with singing, refreshments and big smiles... an emotional start to a truly memorable weekend. Amy and Anthony our hosts were the BEST...seeing to our every need and comfort in a relaxed and friendly manner.
Spectacular views and table settings with excellent food and service made every mealtime an event and nothing like we have ever experienced before. Thanks Joyce,Isaac and Philip....well done.All the staff were friendly,courteous and very professional.
The Game drives were led by an enthusiastic and knowledgable Anthony and left no-one dissappointed.
Under Amy's watchful eye, we were all spoilt with a Romantic Bubble bath,rose petals and candles after one of our gamedrives...one of many surprises.
What a wonderful way to celebrate my Birthday - everyone loved it and we were sad to leave.....
We would love to go back someday!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayonne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We went to Morukuru Farm House Lodge to celebrate my mother's 60th birthday and we had an awesome time! All the staff went out of their way to make our stay as special as possible, we were waited on hand and foot. Amy worked tirelessly to make sure that all our needs and wants were seen to and nothing was ever too much trouble. Anthony was so cool on the game drives, we saw the big 5 (with incrediable sightings of leopard and lion) and we learnt so much from him. And last but not least the FOOD, out of the top draw!! Wow, and that is a big from me cause i love my food! Thank you Amy, Anthony and all the staff, you gave us an unforgettable weekend and really hope to come back soon!
Scott
Bayonne, France

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastern Oregon, USA
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Morukuru is fantastic! Our family of twelve stayed there in the Farmhouse for four nights, with five days of nonstop adventure. The entire staff is wonderful! Markus, our host, was so warm and accommodating. Nothing we asked for was a problem or inconvenience. He is a true delight! Anthony, our ranger, was the best. From the cheerful 5:30AM "knock on the door", coffee and rolls at 6AM (with a great smile) and then to the bush.....it was one adventure after another.... What a Wonderful time we had. Anthony was always thinking a something of special interest for the children, from animal track contests and dung ID to giant Golden Orb silk-weaver spiders. The children loved him. Ferguson is such a great tracker... We'd hate to be a lion with him on our trail..... We saw so many animals and we had so many great experiences, it was just awesome.

And, we are still longing for Joyce and her wonderful gourmet meals.....she is so nice and accommodating. We had few dietary restrictions that Joyce accommodated, seemingly with ease. What a delight to not have to worry about a 'gluten-free diet' for one of the children, knowing that meals were going to be wonderful. Joyce is so thoughtful! She makes an awesome birthday cake too!

Isaac, what a wonderful person! His friendly face and ever present helpfulness are such a good memory. His bass voice is beautiful with song. It seemed like if one "wished it" he could make it happen.

Although we don't get to know the other staff by first name, their attention to detail was outstanding. (Did we mention chocolate truffles on the turned-down bed). Everything about the Morukuru Farmhouse is done to make their guests feel completely at home. The rooms were lovely, everything from the best outdoor shower ever to the fine linens.

We can't say enough about how much we enjoyed it. If you are looking for a trip of a lifetime family safari experience, the Morukuru Farmhouse is the place. Just wish we could be with you.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bctravels_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorukuruEluisa, Public Relations Manager at Morukuru Family Madikwe, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you so much for this truly touching review.....
I will be sure to share this with all the wonderful members of the Morukuru Family.
Nothing makes us happier than knowing we have touched the hearts of those that have stayed with us.
Best wishes from all of us at Morukuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a super luxury holiday at the wonderful resort of the Morukuru Family.
The Lodge at the reserve was fantastic. From there we made wonderful game drives and saw the Big Five within a few days.
We can really recommend a stay at the Morukuru Family. The surroundigs are spectaculair and the staff is really friendly.
Marge and Jan Kamminga

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mijdrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We went to Morukuru Family for the third time since the founding. The first time to the owners house, last 2 returns to the Farmhouse. This time with a large group of friends. Again it was overwhelming. Fantastic to actually complete the big five to see, including the leopard within a very short time. The host, the chef, the butler and all the staff make you feel right at home. The service is fantastic. Do you want a massage, no problem, it will be regulated. Every day a new surprise again! Morukuru Family is simply the best of the best! The food is absolutely fabulous! The hospitality all top! Even a night slept in the hide, which is also a fantastic experience. Everything and everyone makes you feel so comfortable! Definitely we will go back to Morukuru Family, because of the TOP staff!

Room Tip: If you travel with a large group, choose the river lodge or the farmhouse. If you travel with a smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MirjamdV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medemblik, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

It was our first time in South-Africa and the Morukuru Family made it an unforgetable time. The rooms were wonderful, the staff was super helpful and the game drives were amazing. We are still missing the hospitality that we felt there, everybody was so kind and wanted us to have the perfect holiday.

We came in with a smile on our faces.
We left with even bigger smile on our faces.
We will definetly return to this experience of a wonderful life.

Thank you very much Morukuru Family!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorukuruEluisa, Public Relations Manager at Morukuru Family Madikwe, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Thank you for bringing even bigger smiles to our faces with this lovely review.
Your Morukuru Family will be waiting for your return.

Warmest wishes from all of us,
Eluisa

P.S. Look out for our new Morukuru Ocean House opening in December 2013 in the Western Cape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
2.6 mi away
Jamala Madikwe
Jamala Madikwe
#1 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
288 reviews
7.9 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
467 reviews
7.2 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
350 reviews
5.5 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#7 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
579 reviews
15.7 mi away
Tau Game Lodge
Tau Game Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morukuru Family Madikwe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morukuru Family Madikwe

Property: Morukuru Family Madikwe
Address: Madikwe, Madikwe Game Reserve 2838, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Morukuru Family Madikwe 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morukuru Family is a collection of three exclusive-use private safari villas on private property in the Madikwe Game Reserve. Owner's House has 2 bedrooms, River House has 3 bedrooms and Farm House has 5 bedrooms. We welcome children of all ages and are very family friendly. Our 'Morukuru Freedom Concept' means that our guests have total freedom to do whatever they want, whenever they want. During their stay in one of the private houses all activities are included, as well as all meals and drinks. We provide a private gamedrive vehicle for each house, including a private guide and a tracker. The rest of the staff at the house comprises of a private chef, a butler and general housekeeping staff. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Morukuru Family Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing