We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveller rating
420
3
0
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
420
3
0
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews river house owner's house rose mary every meal game drives house manager welcome song the reserve south africa breakfast in the bush fantastic hosts the entire staff beautiful animals safari experience behind the scenes once in a lifetime perfect in every way
Filter
Updating list...
231 - 236 of 425 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

If you're looking for the very best family safari destination in South Africa and budget is not a challenge .... Look no further than the Morukuru Family. Extreme attention to detail, luxurious accommodation, delicious meals, the Big 5 and a beautiful setting are the ingredients for your stay (the staff are absolutely top notch).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank TheSafariGuy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorukuruEluisa, Public Relations Manager at Morukuru Family Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

It was truly a pleasure for us to share the Morukuru magic with The Safari Guys!
Welcome to the "Family".
P.S. Hope you will make the time to come through and visit our ocean treasure in De Hoop Nature Reserve called Morukuru Ocean House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Three nights at River House - fantastic. Just to emphasize the things that make it special and that may not have been covered in other reviews:
1) the people - what a great team, working seamlessly on every detail. Outside - Mark & Gummy - so talented at finding animals and also educating along the way. Inside - Lindy and Asion take care of everything, and at the same time are open to changing anything and cheerfully accommodate even the most unexpected request.
2) its not a 'lodge' like the others - its your own wonderful house with three large bedrooms, baths, outdoor terraces, pool, fireplaces, etc and a team of 10+ people
3) The food and wine are exceptional, and you can work with the team on every meal and customize for each person, or just have them surprise you. Asion's fine dining experiences in the US and Europe were clear at every meal, while he and Lindy also delivered great dishes for our three kids (including one vegan, and one certainly not.) Ask for his breakfast 'special.' You also have access to the owner's private cellar (for a small surcharge) including some rare ZA wines acquired at auction.
4) Animals - a lot of them, and at your own pace. We saw Cheetah, Black Rhino, White Rhino including a baby, lions and more lions, all the other usual suspects, elephants, giraffe, and some obscure and rare, and lingered as we wanted (e.g. an hour following a pride, and watching very cute cubs.) Go out early, late, whenever you'd like. And you'll have a ranger and tracker (we saw other places that only had one person.) Hopefully you'll have Mark and Gummy - the best.
5) Safety - No worries about malaria (we were concerned about the medications with young kids) and the lodge is surrounded with a nice fence, unlike some others, so you can walk about with confidence. And we were glad to support the overall Madikwe effort.
Long review - could simply say 'you'll have a great time.'

Room Tip: FYI - all three bedrooms are basically the same size - very large, especially the bathrooms.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Z1136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorukuruEluisa, Public Relations Manager at Morukuru Family Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

It is truly wonderful to read your review of our River House and her magical team.
Thank you so much for sharing your Morukuru adventure with the Tripadvisor community and we hope that you will be back one day to create new memories with your "family" in Africa.
Our best wishes to you all!
Eluisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Catering for a family of 10 with four grandchildren and keeping everyone engaged and happy can't be easy.....but the Morukuru family exceeded expectations. The Farm House and surroundings make it easy to relax and find your own space. Lindy manages everything in a quiet, unobtrusive way that means everybody's needs are well anticipated. Esmeralda's excellent meals are prepared and cooked to your requirements and to your schedule. Because meals are served in different locations, often with great lighting there's a great element of anticipation and surprise waiting with Philip orchestrating the events to a consistently high standard.
On safari, the highlight has to be seeing the animals in their natural environment and Mark and Ferguson really delivered on this one. The 6am and 4.30pm safari meant we saw mating lions, stampeding elephants, charging rhino, stalking cheetah, buffalo, giraffe, wild dogs, hyena, jackal .....and many impala and zebra. And the sundowner breaks, particularly at sunset were special touches. The three hour walk in the bush was a marvellous way to get a real sense of the bush and the overnights in the Hide were, I'm told, romantic events!
Thank you Morukuru family.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank RoyKeenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorukuruEluisa, Public Relations Manager at Morukuru Family Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Reading your lovely response has moved me and it makes everything we do so much more meaningful when we know we have managed to create such treasured family memories for our guests. Thank YOU all for allowing us the opportunity to host you at our special Morukuru Family Farm House. We hope to welcome you again to our beautiful country.
With love from all of us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I booked this lodge specifically for its malaria free, AND children friendly attitude from their website. I can say my choice was 100% on the mark. We felt very welcomed, despite having three young and demanding children, all our requests were catered for, times of the drives, food, timing of meals, special requests etc etc. We were extremely happy with the sightings, despite the dense bush, Anthony was able to fetch some pretty decent games, lions in action, including litttle critters and birds. Even when things were dull for times, Anthony managed to rekindle their interest with information. Having Fergusson sighting for us was also a huge bonus, the kids liked his front chair on the hood and were fighting to get into it at the end of the drives!! We appreciated the family atmosphere by Amy and little Adam, and the rest of the crew. The lodge was well kept and has a definate 5 star experience, save for the moths..
A word regarding the reserve, I was not desappointed in regards to the variety of the vegitation and animals, I was afraid at first that it was less "foresty" than what I would have liked, but that was not the case. I was never a wildlife type, but this trip defintely made me want to come for more.
Pack a pair of bonuculers, and don't forget a high zooming camera. Mosquetos were not a problem..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorukuruEluisa, Public Relations Manager at Morukuru Family Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for your very helpful review that you have shared with the Tripadvisor Family.
Giving back the gift of time to families is what we do best and we are truly pleased that you have taken away such special memories of your time with us.
We wish you well and hope that you will continue to explore the many wonders of our beautiful country.
Best wishes from all of us at Morukuru!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Morukuru Family is probably unique in that it provides a safari with the luxury of a private house with butler, cook, maid service with your own dedicated ranger and tracker for game rides. The team were cheerful and helpful and despite somewhat indifferent weather for the time we were there we thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience and hope to return.

Room Tip: book the owner's house
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorukuruEluisa, Public Relations Manager at Morukuru Family Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review of our very special Morukuru Family.
We are pleased to know that your time with us was a unique experience and hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again soon!
Your African Family awaits you.

With Morukuru magic,
Eluisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews