We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveller rating
417
3
0
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
417
3
0
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver houseowner's houserose maryevery mealgame driveshouse managerwelcome songthe reservesouth africabreakfast in the bushfantastic hoststhe entire staffbeautiful animalssafari experiencebehind the scenesonce in a lifetimeperfect in every way
Filter
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 422 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have just returned from a family getaway at Morukuru's fabulous Farmhouse. It is one of the best lodges that I could ever recommend when travelling with children (especially young children as ours are! Two rambunctious boys aged 5yrs and 3yrs!). The accommodation is magnificent, the staff ever-attentive, the green lawns superb for the kids to run around safely upon, the safari experience was fun and interactive and kept the children entertained and enthralled from tracking spoor to spotting game, everything was made fun for them. Every single dining experience was a superb surprise in different settings all around the lodge and Phillip was the most magnficent host anyone could ever ask for. Thank you, thank you to each and everyone at Morukuru for making our very special family time so exceptionally memorable. (PS. If you ever get time, you MUST have a massage with Pedzi who truly has healing hands!)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinaAponte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorukuruEluisa, Public Relations Manager at Morukuru Family Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you so much for the absolutely glowing review.... we are truly delighted that we have touched your hearts in our "morukuru" way and hope that we will have the opportunity of sharing our new family treasure called Ocean House with you too. Best wishes to your beautiful from your extended Family @Morukuru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This was my 3rd visit to Morokuru Family house for my moms 60th. And once again they did not disappoint. We had the most amazing time and my Mom had the best birthday, everything was perfect. I would just like to thank Andrew, Carrie and the rest of the staff for an amazing time. This is the perfect, luxury family lodge and would reccomend it to anyone

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Duncan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorukuruEluisa, Public Relations Manager at Morukuru Family Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

We are honored to have been part of such a special Family celebration and are so pleased that you had such a great holiday with us.
We hope that one day we will have the pleasure of sharing our new property in De Hoop Nature Reserve called Ocean House with you too.....it is a gift we hope to spoil all our special families with.
Sending you a whole lot of Morukuru magic from the entire family at Farm House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

If you're looking for the very best family safari destination in South Africa and budget is not a challenge .... Look no further than the Morukuru Family. Extreme attention to detail, luxurious accommodation, delicious meals, the Big 5 and a beautiful setting are the ingredients for your stay (the staff are absolutely top notch).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank TheSafariGuy1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorukuruEluisa, Public Relations Manager at Morukuru Family Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

It was truly a pleasure for us to share the Morukuru magic with The Safari Guys!
Welcome to the "Family".
P.S. Hope you will make the time to come through and visit our ocean treasure in De Hoop Nature Reserve called Morukuru Ocean House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Three nights at River House - fantastic. Just to emphasize the things that make it special and that may not have been covered in other reviews:
1) the people - what a great team, working seamlessly on every detail. Outside - Mark & Gummy - so talented at finding animals and also educating along the way. Inside - Lindy and Asion take care of everything, and at the same time are open to changing anything and cheerfully accommodate even the most unexpected request.
2) its not a 'lodge' like the others - its your own wonderful house with three large bedrooms, baths, outdoor terraces, pool, fireplaces, etc and a team of 10+ people
3) The food and wine are exceptional, and you can work with the team on every meal and customize for each person, or just have them surprise you. Asion's fine dining experiences in the US and Europe were clear at every meal, while he and Lindy also delivered great dishes for our three kids (including one vegan, and one certainly not.) Ask for his breakfast 'special.' You also have access to the owner's private cellar (for a small surcharge) including some rare ZA wines acquired at auction.
4) Animals - a lot of them, and at your own pace. We saw Cheetah, Black Rhino, White Rhino including a baby, lions and more lions, all the other usual suspects, elephants, giraffe, and some obscure and rare, and lingered as we wanted (e.g. an hour following a pride, and watching very cute cubs.) Go out early, late, whenever you'd like. And you'll have a ranger and tracker (we saw other places that only had one person.) Hopefully you'll have Mark and Gummy - the best.
5) Safety - No worries about malaria (we were concerned about the medications with young kids) and the lodge is surrounded with a nice fence, unlike some others, so you can walk about with confidence. And we were glad to support the overall Madikwe effort.
Long review - could simply say 'you'll have a great time.'

Room Tip: FYI - all three bedrooms are basically the same size - very large, especially the bathrooms.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Z1136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorukuruEluisa, Public Relations Manager at Morukuru Family Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

It is truly wonderful to read your review of our River House and her magical team.
Thank you so much for sharing your Morukuru adventure with the Tripadvisor community and we hope that you will be back one day to create new memories with your "family" in Africa.
Our best wishes to you all!
Eluisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Catering for a family of 10 with four grandchildren and keeping everyone engaged and happy can't be easy.....but the Morukuru family exceeded expectations. The Farm House and surroundings make it easy to relax and find your own space. Lindy manages everything in a quiet, unobtrusive way that means everybody's needs are well anticipated. Esmeralda's excellent meals are prepared and cooked to your requirements and to your schedule. Because meals are served in different locations, often with great lighting there's a great element of anticipation and surprise waiting with Philip orchestrating the events to a consistently high standard.
On safari, the highlight has to be seeing the animals in their natural environment and Mark and Ferguson really delivered on this one. The 6am and 4.30pm safari meant we saw mating lions, stampeding elephants, charging rhino, stalking cheetah, buffalo, giraffe, wild dogs, hyena, jackal .....and many impala and zebra. And the sundowner breaks, particularly at sunset were special touches. The three hour walk in the bush was a marvellous way to get a real sense of the bush and the overnights in the Hide were, I'm told, romantic events!
Thank you Morukuru family.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank RoyKeenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorukuruEluisa, Public Relations Manager at Morukuru Family Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Reading your lovely response has moved me and it makes everything we do so much more meaningful when we know we have managed to create such treasured family memories for our guests. Thank YOU all for allowing us the opportunity to host you at our special Morukuru Family Farm House. We hope to welcome you again to our beautiful country.
With love from all of us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews