We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Rhulani Safari Lodge(Madikwe Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$967
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tau Game Lodge(Madikwe Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$537
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Madikwe River Lodge(Madikwe Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$933
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$764
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Impodimo Game Lodge(Madikwe Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$844
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Motswiri Private Safari Lodge(Madikwe Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
US$672
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$642
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mateya Safari Lodge(Madikwe Game Reserve)
US$1,906
SA Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Woodlane Hotel(Gaborone)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Cresta Mahalapye(Mahalapye)
Free cancellation until 01/08
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$259
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveller rating
407
3
0
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
407
3
0
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver houseowner's houserose marypersonal chefgame drivesevery mealhouse managerthe reservewelcome songsouth africaprivate chefbreakfast in the bushbeyond belieffantastic hostsfive dayssafari experiencethe entire staff
Filter
Updating list...
212 - 217 of 412 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We had the honor of staying at the Farm House last year and recently came back to stay in the "Owners House". This property is a 10 star. From the moment you step on property every detail is sorted. They pamper you and before you think of a request it's sitting in front of you. The photos are 100% what you get in real life. You would be hard pressed to find more luxury and better service anywhere in the world. In terms of food....amazing. From the steaks to the homemade ice-cream...you'll be surprised. There are a few other things...but if I tell you it'll ruin the surprise. Look forward coming back again. I even made a one minute video of my trip to honor them.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6Jq76YIxU_0

Room Tip: Ask to spend at least one night in the Bush outside.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianparsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorukuruEluisa, Public Relations Manager at Morukuru Family Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dearest Brian,
We cant thank you enough for all the Morukuru magic you constantly share with others.
Love the video you put together for us too and have been showing it off to all and sundry :-)
We cant wait to welcome you again - this time with the whole family.
Best wishes from Andrew, Carri and the whole Morukuru clan.
Till your return,
Eluisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Sad how quickly “normal life” takes over when back, as it's approximately a month ago now since we have visited Morukuru.
The memories of an amazing holiday remain forever though. Very often our hearts and minds go back to the wonderful time in Morukuru.

After visiting the River House some years ago, we had the pleasure to stay in the Owners House this time. So although we knew what to expect, the Morukuru family always have their ways to beat expectations.
And they do this with a beautiful South African smile.
The service and hospitality… all seems possible and feels deceptively effortless (while it’s clear that Morukuru-perfection requires a lot of hard work and planning).

In the beautiful Madikwe Game Reserve, Andrew and Boiky showed us how special “Mother Nature” is. From Lions to the rare Aardwolf and from Wild Dogs to Monitor Lizards.
Every animal has their own tracks and stories…. Andrew and Boiky seems to know them all.

When you go to South Africa for safari, great food is not the first thing what comes to mind.
At Morukuru though every meal is a true pleasure and work of art.

We would like to thank Andrew, Carri and the full Morukuru family for the unparalleled VIP wilderness experience.
We sincerely hope to see you all back soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcel_boshuizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RinseW, Guest Relations Manager at Morukuru Family Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Marcel, it was a huge pleasure to welcome you and your family back to Morukuru Family in Madikwe after your first visit. We are very happy that you had an amazing stay and saw some of our more special animals like the Aardwolf! We really value your feedback very much as it shows how much you appreciate the efforts from our entire team to try and exceed expectations all the time. Hopefully we will see you back soon, perhaps next time at Ocean House for some more unforgettable Morukuru memories?? :) Warm regards from all of us at Morukuru Family, Rinse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

The four of us really enjoyed the week we spent together at River House in May. Everything was perfect from start to finish. We saw the Magnificent Seven in the comfort of our own private vehicle and Owen, our ranger, and Timber, our tracker, were a great team. A tracker is a must out in the Bush and Timber was truly remarkable. Paula, our hostess, made sure that everything was perfect down to the last detail. She planned very special settings for all our meals and Asion, our chef, was so creative and our meals were absolutely delicious. Everyone at Morukkuru was great and they all contributed to making our holiday memorable. Our waiters were superb and the ladies who took care of our rooms and laundry were outstanding, The weather was perfect during our stay and we really had a fabulous time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank WorldTravelers4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorukuruEluisa, Public Relations Manager at Morukuru Family Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Friends are like Family and we are so happy that you and your closest friends were able to spend this special time at Morukuru. We hope your memories made during your stay will be cherished forever and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for your next 5 year reunion! (Perhaps this time to our Ocean House?)
Best wishes always .....from Your Morukuru Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

It was an absolute pleasure for us to get to know jo and wessel (managers) and their lovely team :-)! the whole team is facinating and wonderful!! the greatest place in the bush is "morukuru family" :-)! when we left madikwe resort with the plane, wessel and gummy (our tracker) where waiting beside the airstrip, saying „good-bye“ to us and waving……we all had tears in our eyes and could not believe whats going on with us – we were so affected about this unique holiday…!!!

many many warm and hearty greetings to jo, wessel, gummy, george, irwen and bronwin, elaine and all the others that made our stay sooo unforgetable!!!
lots of light&love
hope&happiness to all of you

we will always remember you…!
thank you very, very much!!!

yours
niki, peter & the kids kristin & jana :-))))

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nixe1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorukuruEluisa, Public Relations Manager at Morukuru Family Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you so much for your very touching and beautiful message to the Morukuru Family.
We are so happy that you had such a special time with us and you too will not be forgotten.
Your precious family photo will be forever in our guest book and we hope that one day you will return to your "home" in Africa.
With lots of Morukuru magic,
Your Morukuru Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have just returned from a family getaway at Morukuru's fabulous Farmhouse. It is one of the best lodges that I could ever recommend when travelling with children (especially young children as ours are! Two rambunctious boys aged 5yrs and 3yrs!). The accommodation is magnificent, the staff ever-attentive, the green lawns superb for the kids to run around safely upon, the safari experience was fun and interactive and kept the children entertained and enthralled from tracking spoor to spotting game, everything was made fun for them. Every single dining experience was a superb surprise in different settings all around the lodge and Phillip was the most magnficent host anyone could ever ask for. Thank you, thank you to each and everyone at Morukuru for making our very special family time so exceptionally memorable. (PS. If you ever get time, you MUST have a massage with Pedzi who truly has healing hands!)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinaAponte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MorukuruEluisa, Public Relations Manager at Morukuru Family Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you so much for the absolutely glowing review.... we are truly delighted that we have touched your hearts in our "morukuru" way and hope that we will have the opportunity of sharing our new family treasure called Ocean House with you too. Best wishes to your beautiful from your extended Family @Morukuru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews