We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless and fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Morukuru Family Madikwe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We have just spent 4 nights at morukuru lodge as a family party of 11 , ages ranging from 6 to 70. From start to finish it was a truly special stay. The team led by Mark and Lyndee were warm. friendly , professional, knowledgeable and truly flexible.The setting is spectacular and the game fantastic.The rooms are comfortable, beautifully decorated and appointed. With wonderful cook, butler and back of house staff this is true luxury in the bush.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic, no one had a 'dud' room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lara d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EluisaMorukuru, Public Relations Manager at Morukuru Family Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

The Morukuru Family thanks you so much for taking the time to share your Morukuru experience with the Tripadvisor community. Mostly, we are so pleased that you and the entire family had such a wonderful stay with us. I hope that we will have the pleasure of your company at Morukuru again in the near future. Your "home" in Africa awaits you!
Warm wishes from all of us,
Eluisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

I have been in the Lodge/River house twice. Once with family, including grandchildren, and again with girlfriends, this summer. it is tops in every department, beauty! game! service! and the most wonderful staff! food! and accommodations!!! The Morukuru family experience is the BEST!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Nanacat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EluisaMorukuru, Public Relations Manager at Morukuru Family Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Morukuru in Madikwe. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your experience and we definitely hope to see you back again in Africa! With Morukuru magic, Eluisa & the Morukuru Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Morukuru family is located in Madikwe a reserve where the hotel owns a private reserve just near it. One of the big advantages is that it's located in a malaria free zone, in contrary to the Krüger national Park which is a malaria 3 zone.
The Madikwe reserve has 3 runways for planes, it's a 1 hour flight from JoBurg, but you can get there also by car.
We, a family of 7 stayed in the river house, a marvelous place, for four days. There are 3 huge nicely decorated bedrooms and one childs' room, a heated swimmingpool, a Boma, a nice sitting area with a bar and a fireplace. At max you can stay there with 6 adults and+- 3 children. The different houses are privatized and every house goes with a private cook, a butler and a game drive team. The timetable and the food is adapated to your needs. The whole Morukuru Family was so nice. Wessel and Gomey accompanied us for excellent and safe game drives. We got a lot of explanations, and saw elefants, rhinos, lions, buffalos, impalas, wilddogs, waterbucks, ....Asi the cook prepared us excellent dishes, which can compete with very good restaurants in Europe. Georges the butler and all the housemaids did an excellent job. Jo and Wessel let us feel as we were in our second home.
If you want to have an excellent stay in family in South Africa, we only can recommend the Morukuru Family.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank syno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EluisaMorukuru, Public Relations Manager at Morukuru Family Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you from our lovely Morukuru Family to your wonderful Family for spending time with us in our beautiful spaces and our incredible country.
We hope to welcome you back again soon to your "home in Africa".
Best wishes from all of us at Morukuru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Our stay at Morukuru was truly wonderful. Having two young children (3 years old and a 3 month old), the flexibility of Morukuru really allowed my husband and I to have a relaxing break. We took the kids in game drives when it suited and when not, they were in capable hands with Ellen and Carey. Thanks to Andrew and Boytjie for th fantastic sightings. Phillip and Esmerelda were superb. My three year old keeps asking when we are going to go back! Hopefully soon!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EluisaMorukuru, Public Relations Manager at Morukuru Family Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Family time is so precious and even more so when one can enjoy it in the amazing wildlife setting of the Madikwe. We are delighted that you and your family had the possibility of taking some time out whilst our Morukuru Family took care of everything else.
We hope to welcome you back again soon!
From all of us at Morukuru in Madikwe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed 3 nights in the Owners House in May 2014 with our 4 and 5 year old sons. It was part of a special trip to celebrate a milestone birthday and the disappointment of having to leave Morukuru was so great that we were glad it was the start of our trip and not the end. 40 minute small prop plane flight from Jo'berg rather than a 3-4 hour drive was well worth it.

I challenge anyone to go to Murukuru and be disapppointed, regardless of how many top end hotel and luxury safari experiences you may have had. 5 stars would not nearly do justice to the game viewing, accommodation, food and service we experienced during our stay. The effort and focus on providing absolutely top end service and guest experience almost overshadowed the wildlife - saying something given one day we followed a leopard on our own for 30 minutes in broad daylight then went and hung out with 4 cheetah brothers round the corner.

Our boys were given time and patience by all the team and had the time of their lives. The lodge was child friendly and we had absolutely no safety concerns for the kids at any point, not surprising as we now have 2 trainee trackers! Did not see the other lodges. Whilst the reserve may not offer quite the dramatic scenery of some special safari destinations, it is plenty big enough, stocked with game and light on other traffic as there are only a handful of lodges in the reserve. I would rate at least on a par with Sabin Sands/Kruger. If you want a bush safari with a top end overall experience and an incredibly exclusive but personable feel then look no further.

Linde and Mark, look after yourselves and thanks for the laughs. Our thanks and warm wishes to all the morukuru family who looked after us to the highest standards one could ask. Oh, and thanks for the awesome chocolate birthday cake!!

Turner Family

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank M_Turner_Family_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EluisaMorukuru, Public Relations Manager at Morukuru Family Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

To our dearest Turner Family,
We are delighted that your stay is still such a vivid memory. The Morukuru Family not only offers an amazing wildlife experience but we are also in the business of giving back the "gift of time to families". We hope that your Morukuru adventure will remain a cherished African family memory until you come to Morukuru again.
Best wishes from myself, Lindie, Mark and the rest of the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

fantastic place. we stayied in the farmhouse with the extended family. this place is fabulous for all ages. It is pretty unique to be in a game reserve, with no malaria, activities for little ones and big ones, great service and food. all pretty easily accessible. highly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nicg38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EluisaMorukuru, Public Relations Manager at Morukuru Family Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

We really appreciate your feedback and review about our Morukuru Family in Madikwe. The whole team works hard to offer our guests the best possible experience and it is always so uplifting to read heartening comments such as yours. Sending you a whole lot of Morukuru magic, Eluisa and the rest of the “Family”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our family of 10 was here to celebrate our Mothers 70th Birthday. None of us had ever been on a Safari. Morukuru is an amazing, wonderful place to stay and experience the trip of a lifetime. The location and Farm House itself is incredible but what makes this even more special is the wonderful staff who cannot do enough for you to make sure you feel so welcome and at home. Our special thanks to Lindy our host who made sure all things ran smoothly and was always there with a warm towel and lovely smile at the end of each safari trip. Mark was our safari guide along with Ferguson our tracker. They were fantastic in tracking down the wildlife for us. It really is something special to see the animals in the wild. Nature at its best. We had so many wonderful moments on safari. A big thanks to Isaac our barman. The drinks were always coming and always tasted so good. He introduced us to Amarula of which is now a family favourite. He is also a soccer fan and kept my son company on those late night World Cup Games. This was the only time the t.v. was turned on. Compliments to the chef Esmerelda and her team of cooks who provided us with amazing dishes and new tastes such as Ostrich and Kudu. Last but not least all the rest of the staff who clean, maintain and even do some amazing singing. Overall this was an incredible experience my family and I will never forget. You have all excellent reviews because you have the magic recipe for the best holiday in the most amazing place. It is as good as all the reviews say. Our photos are amazing too!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EluisaMorukuru, Public Relations Manager at Morukuru Family Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

The Morukuru Family loves celebrations and we are so enthused that your Mothers 70th Birthday will remain forever in your hearts.
May you always cherish your Morukuru memories.
Thank you for the lovely review!
Sending you a WHOLE LOT of Magic on behalf of everyone at Morukuru,
Eluisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madikwe Game Reserve hotels
7.9 mi away
Etali Safari Lodge
Etali Safari Lodge
#4 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
487 reviews
5.5 mi away
Madikwe Safari Lodge
Madikwe Safari Lodge
#8 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
617 reviews
16.3 mi away
Impodimo Game Lodge
Impodimo Game Lodge
#3 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Jamala Madikwe
Jamala Madikwe
#1 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
309 reviews
7.2 mi away
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
#6 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
436 reviews
16.1 mi away
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodge
Royal Madikwe Luxury Safari Lodg...
#10 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morukuru Family Madikwe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morukuru Family Madikwe

Address: Madikwe, Madikwe Game Reserve 2838, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > North-West Province > Madikwe Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Madikwe Game Reserve
Price Range: £1,296 - £3,567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Morukuru Family Madikwe 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morukuru Family is a collection of three exclusive-use private safari villas on private property in the Madikwe Game Reserve. Owner's House has 2 bedrooms, River House has 3 bedrooms and Farm House has 5 bedrooms. We welcome children of all ages and are very family friendly. Our 'Morukuru Freedom Concept' means that our guests have total freedom to do whatever they want, whenever they want. During their stay in one of the private houses all activities are included, as well as all meals and drinks. We provide a private gamedrive vehicle for each house, including a private guide and a tracker. The rest of the staff at the house comprises of a private chef, a butler and general housekeeping staff. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Morukuru Family Hotel Madikwe Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing