We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (426)
Filter reviews
426 results
Traveller rating
421
3
0
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
421
3
0
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews river house owner's house rose mary game drives every meal house manager welcome song south africa the reserve private chef breakfast in the bush five days fantastic hosts beyond belief safari experience once in a lifetime whole team
Filter
Updating list...
215 - 220 of 426 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I have been in the Lodge/River house twice. Once with family, including grandchildren, and again with girlfriends, this summer. it is tops in every department, beauty! game! service! and the most wonderful staff! food! and accommodations!!! The Morukuru family experience is the BEST!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Nanacat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EluisaMorukuru, Public Relations Manager at Morukuru Family Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Morukuru in Madikwe. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your experience and we definitely hope to see you back again in Africa! With Morukuru magic, Eluisa & the Morukuru Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Morukuru family is located in Madikwe a reserve where the hotel owns a private reserve just near it. One of the big advantages is that it's located in a malaria free zone, in contrary to the Krüger national Park which is a malaria 3 zone.
The Madikwe reserve has 3 runways for planes, it's a 1 hour flight from JoBurg, but you can get there also by car.
We, a family of 7 stayed in the river house, a marvelous place, for four days. There are 3 huge nicely decorated bedrooms and one childs' room, a heated swimmingpool, a Boma, a nice sitting area with a bar and a fireplace. At max you can stay there with 6 adults and+- 3 children. The different houses are privatized and every house goes with a private cook, a butler and a game drive team. The timetable and the food is adapated to your needs. The whole Morukuru Family was so nice. Wessel and Gomey accompanied us for excellent and safe game drives. We got a lot of explanations, and saw elefants, rhinos, lions, buffalos, impalas, wilddogs, waterbucks, ....Asi the cook prepared us excellent dishes, which can compete with very good restaurants in Europe. Georges the butler and all the housemaids did an excellent job. Jo and Wessel let us feel as we were in our second home.
If you want to have an excellent stay in family in South Africa, we only can recommend the Morukuru Family.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank syno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EluisaMorukuru, Public Relations Manager at Morukuru Family Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank you from our lovely Morukuru Family to your wonderful Family for spending time with us in our beautiful spaces and our incredible country.
We hope to welcome you back again soon to your "home in Africa".
Best wishes from all of us at Morukuru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Our stay at Morukuru was truly wonderful. Having two young children (3 years old and a 3 month old), the flexibility of Morukuru really allowed my husband and I to have a relaxing break. We took the kids in game drives when it suited and when not, they were in capable hands with Ellen and Carey. Thanks to Andrew and Boytjie for th fantastic sightings. Phillip and Esmerelda were superb. My three year old keeps asking when we are going to go back! Hopefully soon!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EluisaMorukuru, Public Relations Manager at Morukuru Family Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Family time is so precious and even more so when one can enjoy it in the amazing wildlife setting of the Madikwe. We are delighted that you and your family had the possibility of taking some time out whilst our Morukuru Family took care of everything else.
We hope to welcome you back again soon!
From all of us at Morukuru in Madikwe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed 3 nights in the Owners House in May 2014 with our 4 and 5 year old sons. It was part of a special trip to celebrate a milestone birthday and the disappointment of having to leave Morukuru was so great that we were glad it was the start of our trip and not the end. 40 minute small prop plane flight from Jo'berg rather than a 3-4 hour drive was well worth it.

I challenge anyone to go to Murukuru and be disapppointed, regardless of how many top end hotel and luxury safari experiences you may have had. 5 stars would not nearly do justice to the game viewing, accommodation, food and service we experienced during our stay. The effort and focus on providing absolutely top end service and guest experience almost overshadowed the wildlife - saying something given one day we followed a leopard on our own for 30 minutes in broad daylight then went and hung out with 4 cheetah brothers round the corner.

Our boys were given time and patience by all the team and had the time of their lives. The lodge was child friendly and we had absolutely no safety concerns for the kids at any point, not surprising as we now have 2 trainee trackers! Did not see the other lodges. Whilst the reserve may not offer quite the dramatic scenery of some special safari destinations, it is plenty big enough, stocked with game and light on other traffic as there are only a handful of lodges in the reserve. I would rate at least on a par with Sabin Sands/Kruger. If you want a bush safari with a top end overall experience and an incredibly exclusive but personable feel then look no further.

Linde and Mark, look after yourselves and thanks for the laughs. Our thanks and warm wishes to all the morukuru family who looked after us to the highest standards one could ask. Oh, and thanks for the awesome chocolate birthday cake!!

Turner Family

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank M_Turner_Family_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EluisaMorukuru, Public Relations Manager at Morukuru Family Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

To our dearest Turner Family,
We are delighted that your stay is still such a vivid memory. The Morukuru Family not only offers an amazing wildlife experience but we are also in the business of giving back the "gift of time to families". We hope that your Morukuru adventure will remain a cherished African family memory until you come to Morukuru again.
Best wishes from myself, Lindie, Mark and the rest of the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

fantastic place. we stayied in the farmhouse with the extended family. this place is fabulous for all ages. It is pretty unique to be in a game reserve, with no malaria, activities for little ones and big ones, great service and food. all pretty easily accessible. highly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nicg38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EluisaMorukuru, Public Relations Manager at Morukuru Family Madikwe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

We really appreciate your feedback and review about our Morukuru Family in Madikwe. The whole team works hard to offer our guests the best possible experience and it is always so uplifting to read heartening comments such as yours. Sending you a whole lot of Morukuru magic, Eluisa and the rest of the “Family”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews