We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Madikwe Hills Private Game Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Woodlane Hotel(Gaborone)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Cresta Mahalapye(Mahalapye)
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Room 50 Two(Gaborone)
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gaborone Hotel(Gaborone)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (453)
Filter reviews
453 results
Traveller rating
423
22
7
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
423
22
7
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswild dogsplunge poolwatering holehoneymoon suitewater holethe reserveprivate dinnerattention to detailoutdoor showerrooms are hugefederal airgame lodgesouth africarose petalswe loved our staylounge areahis team
Filter
Updating list...
259 - 264 of 453 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed 5 days here at the Little Madikwe private villa. The very first day we were there we almost accomplished the Big 5. It was amazing to be so close with the wild life. We had Sam and Herman as our guide and tracker, they are the best. Sam really takes his time to explain any question you might have. We hear that this was the place to view wild dogs, Sam tracked these dogs for 2 days we just seemed to miss them every time. But on day two when the other trackers gave up Sam didn't and we were treated to these illusive dogs watching them snack on a dead Rhino who had just passed away from old age...words cant describe this event.

The staff at the Villa are the best, we had Unity making us the best salads and anything else we needed. Over all this was a trip of a life time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had never been to this reserve as it is quite far north, but heard that Madikwe is known for wild dogs so decided to book. We were well rewarded and were fortunate to see a whole family of wild dogs during our stay. Although we only saw 4 of the big 5, we also had a good sighting of a black rhino mother with her calf. It wasn't the best time for birding, as all the spring/summer birds had not arrived yet.
We travelled via Zeerust to get there and it took about 4.5hrs or so. Roadworks are being done on parts of the route between Rustenburg and Zeerust.
In summary:
Rooms- VERY large and spacious,clean, with quality furnishings and amenities
Food- delicious, exceeded expectations, variety. Wine selection quite comprehensive (drinks not included in the rate)
Game drive experiences- we have been quite spoilt with visits to other reserves so although the experience was very good- there were areas we felt were not the best, but everyone has different requirements.
Spa- massage was average
Service- excellent- professional with attention detail

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Incredul0us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We spent 3 nights at Madikwe Hills - this was our first game reserve experience - and boy are we glad we did it here. We received recommendations before coming but every idea we had about the place was surpassed in reality. We booked through Bush Breaks, and Amanda was very helpful and very nice throughout the booking process.

Madikwe Hills truly is a 5 star resort - from the staff's cheery attitude to the service given by everyone to the food, this place is where you should go if you want a great experience. We have dietary restrictions and they were great about it, even showing us the grill to make sure that we were happy with the way our meals were being prepared.

Our guide Nick and tracker Max were a pleasure to be with and took finding us game to see very seriously. 20 minutes into our first drive we saw a large group of lions and by the end of the 3 days we saw 4 of the big 5.

One thing to note - the directions on their website (via Sun City / Molatedi Gate) were absolutely spot on. This was a huge help - everything was marked exactly as it appeared.

If you want an amazing experience with excellent service, go to Madikwe Hills!

Room Tip: Get the honeymoon suite if you can - outside bath makes it worth it!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keem27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We spent 4 nights at Madikwe Hills and each day was exciting and an experience that will remain with us for a very long time. The staff at Madikwe Hills are very accommodating and one felt that it was a pleasure for them to be of service. Our ranger, Jacques and tracker, Samuel, made our game drives exciting and were both extremely knowledgeable of the bush. We experienced a kill by four young male cheetahs that will remain with us forever - we have the close up photos to remind us. The food was amazing - our only complaint.... we ate too much and are dealing with the effects. Hannes was the perfect host and it is thanks to him that our stay was so enjoyable. He is obviously liked and respected by all the staff at Madikwe Hills.

Room Tip: We loved the close up view of the watering hole and on arrival a herd of elephants had a mud bath. Can't beat that!!!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

An excellent experience, ticked all the boxes, saw heaps of game in their natural habitat.
Staff obviously enjoy their work and were very accommodating.Dwayne our guide particularly knowledgeable and accommodates all reasonable requests.
Food was delicious with choices, I was very impressed by their attention to our dietary restrictions.
Rooms were great and clean and special bonus for Australians the showers are FANTASTIC no flow restriction devices!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews